Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent entry in an engaging series
I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mark Upon Her. I have been eagerly awaiting the next entry in her Duncan Kincaid/ Gemma James series. The Sound of Broken Glass (#15) releases today.

Kincaid and James are husband and wife and both work for Scotland Yard. Duncan is staying at home right now with their three year old daughter and Gemma...
Published 18 months ago by Luanne Ollivier

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unbroken Record.
This is the fifteenth outing for married police detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James and while Duncan has taken leave to look after their foster daughter Charlotte, Gemma and Detective Sergeant Melanie Talbot investigate the rather sordid murder of a barrister. Initially, the killing looks like a blind date or a pickup which went seriously wrong. However, when a...
Published 5 months ago by Pigwin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unbroken Record., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the fifteenth outing for married police detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James and while Duncan has taken leave to look after their foster daughter Charlotte, Gemma and Detective Sergeant Melanie Talbot investigate the rather sordid murder of a barrister. Initially, the killing looks like a blind date or a pickup which went seriously wrong. However, when a second barrister is killed in similar circumstances, the whole affair takes on a more sinister complexion.

Deborah Crombie weaves a murder from the past with the present-day killings in a skillful manner and as always the unfolding domestic lives of Kincaid and James form a perfect backdrop to the tale. The action is set in the Crystal Palace area of London and as is the norm with Ms. Crombie she provides an interesting perspective by furnishing some historical titbits on the area and on the Crystal Palace itself which was built to house the Great Exhibition of 1851.

Deborah Crombie is an american author whose Kincaid and James' novels are set in England and while she has the odd lapse, I feel she manages to be more convincing than many other writers attempting the same feat. I must confess that I have a particular penchant for this series and The Sound of Broken Glass is a well-crafted novel which should hold the reader's interest to the last page; it is peopled with interesting and quite well-drawn characters and, all-in-all the novel has all the elements for an enthralling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent entry in an engaging series, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sound of Broken Glass (Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels) (Hardcover)
I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mark Upon Her. I have been eagerly awaiting the next entry in her Duncan Kincaid/ Gemma James series. The Sound of Broken Glass (#15) releases today.

Kincaid and James are husband and wife and both work for Scotland Yard. Duncan is staying at home right now with their three year old daughter and Gemma is heading up her first big murder case.

Who has been killed? A prominent lawyer - found in a rundown hotel in Crystal Palace, naked and tied up. Is it a sex game gone wrong? Or a sadistic killer? But then a second lawyer is found killed the same way - and there's evidence to link the two cases. As Gemma digs deeps deeper, she finds unexpected connections to her life. In flashback chapters, we also slowly learn of a young man's past and his upbringing in the Crystal Palace neighbourhood. What connection does he have to the present day?

Crombie is a master of plotting. There was no dearth of suspects and I was kept guessing until the end. The investigation is solid police work and I enjoyed solving the crime along with Gemma and her team. But woven through this main storyline is a running secondary storyline - that of Duncan and Gemma's personal life. And it is this 'personal' touch that has cemented Crombie on my must read list. Although others may complain that domestic details of characters may detract from a good mystery, I find quite the opposite. I feel they gave the story much more depth and make the characters 'real' and all the more believable. This same attention to detail is given to the secondary players as well. The result is a well rounded cast, all with their own tale to tell. I've become invested in each of their lives and want to see where Crombie takes everyone from here.

There's a third thread also wound about the story - that of The Crystal Palace itself. Although the name now denotes an area of South London, the history behind this plate-glass building originally erected to house the Great Exhibition of 1851 is truly fascinating. Every chapter starts out with a quote or a paragraph chronicling the history of the building. And again, Crombie is very clever with her choices. Read carefully, they mirror what is happening in the book.

The Sound of Broken Glass was a satisfying read on so many levels - one I would definitely recommend. Crombie ends the book with a cliff hanger - I will be again eagerly awaiting the next in this wonderful series. Fans of Louise Penny and Susan Hill would enjoy these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maturing well, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It just gets better & better as the saga goes on - it must be cos it's later & later in her books before I guess the ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Broken Glass by Deborah Crombie, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Broken Glass (Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels) (Hardcover)
I love Deborah Crombie's books ever since a friend found one in a second hand bookstore and I now have all her books.

I gave the marking as 4 stars as, somewhere along the line the family side seems to have been forgotten. The boys scarcely get a mention and there is no word of how Gemma's mother is. Also, what happened to Otto's café?The continuity has been lost.

Despite this I thoroughly enjoyed the book although the ending was a bit odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Friends of Gemma James and Duncan Kinkaid..., 24 Feb 2013
... it is like coming home into their flat in Notting Hill.
Only this time the roles are reversed - Duncan is on paternity leave to look after three-year-old Charlotte, their problem foster child, and Gemma is out to hunt the bad guys and girls that murder merrily around...

Everything is centered about the Crystal Palace - not its former place where it was created for The Great Exhibition in 1851, but the area of South London between Dulrich, Croydon and Brixton, where it was moved to the Crystal Palace Park in 1854. And where it was destroyed by an enormous fire on 30th November 1936...

Andy is a very gifted guitar player but confined to a drunkard mother. His only friends are his guitar and the neighbour, a young widow named Nadine. It was in the summer 15 years ago, when Nadine hands over a very precious gift to Andy, only to be betrayed by him in the worst way possible. So she left without any good-bye or explanation, never to be seen again.

In the present, after a gig Andy and his band do at a pub in the Crystal Palace Park area, a not very popular lawyer is found murdered in a run-down hotel, where he seemed to be a regular. At the pub he had some bad words with Andy...
Two days later, another but much younger lawyer is found dead in his flat - same method of killing.
Gemma and her colleagues at the CID are on those cases. And they will find out very soon, that Andy is in some way connected with the murdered and also with a lot of the suspects.
And when Gemma - with a little help of Duncan too - connects all the dots, a pattern appears and a manhunt is started. But will she and her helpers be able to prevent other innocent victims or is it maybe too late?

This very well written 15th book about the adventures of the London DI's Gemma James and Duncan Kincaid is a must-read for all those who like their police procedure crime stories adorned with surprising wits and twists the author Deborah Crombie is so well known for.
But also the private life of the protagonists is always well described and makes them humans - just like You and me. And as always, I can't await the next release...
Highly recommendable!

Have a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of broken glass, 11 Jun 2013
By 
The ending is a real cliff hanger !!! I want to know what happens next, cannot wait for the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gone completely off track, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent storyline however unlike the previous books for some reason the author has decided that all and I mean all the main police officer characters have to be female. Not a real representation of the Metropolitan Police. Another niggle is I purchased this book from Amazon UK but it is written in American English not UK English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so good!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She seems obsessed with dogs. The American spelling is very irritating.Also American phrases don't feel right in such a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit light on plot, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had looked forward to the latest installment in Gemma and Duncan's life but I thought this wasn't as good as the previous books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Deborah Crombie has made the two chief characters in this book into something really fascinating. There private lives have been compelling but the quality of the crime writing is excellent, can't wait to read the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of Broken Glass (Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels)
The Sound of Broken Glass (Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels) by Deborah Crombie (Hardcover - 19 Feb 2013)
17.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews