Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very stylish book!
An exceptional book, filled with beautiful colour illustrations. A bit thin on individual designers bio's, but it certainly makes up with an archive of sketches and drawings.
If you interested in film, design, and or fashion this is a must have.
Published 22 months ago by denno

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, lavishly illustrated, but...
An overall interesting book for costume design lovers!

An *strictly personal* "but", though, I love pre-1960s film costume design, which I considert its golden era, and I feel there was too much of the post-1970 sketches, which I personally consider rather uninteresting, all the more compared with the sheer clory of what went before: Still, this is really no...
Published 16 months ago by Gloria Porta


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very stylish book!, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration (Hardcover)
An exceptional book, filled with beautiful colour illustrations. A bit thin on individual designers bio's, but it certainly makes up with an archive of sketches and drawings.
If you interested in film, design, and or fashion this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good buy - insightful and inspiring, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration (Hardcover)
A very insightful and inspiring book into the art of costume illustration. For anyone with an interest costume design or film history, I would highly recommend this book. It is packed full of wonderful illustrations and information on a wide variety of designers, both past and present. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, lavishly illustrated, but..., 1 Sep 2013
By 
Gloria Porta (Esplugues de Llobregat, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration (Hardcover)
An overall interesting book for costume design lovers!

An *strictly personal* "but", though, I love pre-1960s film costume design, which I considert its golden era, and I feel there was too much of the post-1970 sketches, which I personally consider rather uninteresting, all the more compared with the sheer clory of what went before: Still, this is really no real ground to complaint as the very title states that it covers 100 years of it.

In short: Good book, but if you are more fond of classic film costume design, be aware that it's only about 50% of the contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book of Hollywood designs, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration (Hardcover)
Lovely book that lives up to it's cover, lots of brilliant examples of how Hollywood designers created their iconic designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, But lacking a little.., 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration (Hardcover)
I was very excited to receive this book and I was for the most part quite happy with it. The Long introduction is very informative and in depth on the history of costume illustration. I had no idea that sketches had as variable a history as the costumes they inspired. I already know quite a bit about the History of Hollywood Costume design and I like another reviewer felt at times the facts were exaggerated a little. As for the Illustrations, For the most part they are a brilliant selection to showcase in the book. At times I felt more sketches from classic Films could have been Included. For example,One adrian sketch for the 1938 costume drama "Marie Antoinette" was included. Since over 3000 lavish costumes were created for this film and many sketches survive, I was disappointed that more were not included. I also think that there were more than enough sketches from contemporary film. If more golden age costume sketches were included it could have fulfilled all my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chosen as a Christmas gift, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration (Hardcover)
My nephew is an A level student doing theatre and film design. This was on his wish list. Went to Amazon and there it was. I'm sure he'll love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration
Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration by Deborah Nadoolman Landis (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
£50.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews