Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book to have for ideas
this is a great book to have if you need ideas, and if you are an architecture student.

would recommend, but not for £20.
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by tetyana vyshnyakova

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mostly just pictures, very little content
I am hopefully starting to build my house next year. It has always been my dream to build a house as ecofriendly as possible. So i picked up this book hoping to learn more. Unfortunately, all is does is shows photo after photo of houses built. There is very little substance, very little actual information. I did not want to see more pictures of ecohouses, i wanted to...
Published on 18 Dec. 2012 by AMS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mostly just pictures, very little content, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
I am hopefully starting to build my house next year. It has always been my dream to build a house as ecofriendly as possible. So i picked up this book hoping to learn more. Unfortunately, all is does is shows photo after photo of houses built. There is very little substance, very little actual information. I did not want to see more pictures of ecohouses, i wanted to learn something. How do i best save on water, how do i best build a passive cool house in a hot climate etc. This book did not teach me anything new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very informative, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
Hoped for useful precedents for architecure students but this is more or less a pretty collection of crisp and shiny houses. It misses a relation to standard situations. It contains not much background or context information and it is to question whether all the 150 precedents are truly 'eco'. Having just 50 'best' houses but with more detailed and relevant information would be better. Neverthless mostly good picture material and nicely presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of money - check it out first, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
I regret buying this book and would have sent it back, but could not be bothered for the price

It is small format ( 20 x 20 cm externally) and inside actually looks like a full format coffee table book which was shrunk by the publisher when they realised it would not sell. The diagrams are minute (e.g. full plan of large house on p 258 no more than 4 x 5 cm) with text to match

The houses are attractive, so the photos are too. But nothing special and nothing you would not see on free sites on the internet

Above all, the "advice" is almost laughably banal, e.g. "051 Research is being done on photo-chromatic materials that respond to changes in light..." p235. "080 Micro-wind turbines are an effective way of supplying energy for household use in places off grid" p 359. Really ? Who would have guessed ! Those two are not exceptional, rather chosen at random from the middle of the book.

I have had the book for some time and considered writing a review before but thought it the book would just fade away. Seeing the attempt to "bundle" it with the excellent Passiv Haus book made me write this review to stop you wasting your hard earned money.

In conclusion, do try to check it out before you buy. If I had flicked through it in a bookshop I would have left it. It really is "bargain books" material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of photos and great designs, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection of photos and great designs, but lacks a little substance in regard to the nitty-gritty of the various sustainable systems used in each house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book to have for ideas, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
this is a great book to have if you need ideas, and if you are an architecture student.

would recommend, but not for £20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
Only very radical designs, it would be impossible to get planning permission with most of them! Here in west of Ireland anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
Just nice photo's and ideas for Eco building but no technical input, I do not think this book is about that , just an idea what other people with a little vision are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
Bought it as a gift for my mum, She loves the pictures. Makes you feel good looking at what is possible. Maybe in 100 years we will all have homes like these. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eco House, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
This is a really nicelittle book, some lovely images, some really good ideas for one off housing projects, and tries high on the sustainability angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice overview of eco houses, 9 Jan. 2014
This review is from: 150 Best Eco House Ideas (Hardcover)
Plenty of ideas and nice photos. Floor plans could have been bigger.
Recommend to anyone who is looking for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

150 Best Eco House Ideas
150 Best Eco House Ideas by Marta Serrats (Hardcover - 25 Nov. 2010)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews