Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Coming Together of Powerful Themes
I have been a fan of the Amelia Peabody mysteries now for more years than I can remember. As much as I have loved them before, this book brought a new sense of satisfaction to me as a reader because so many story lines finally developed into an incredibly powerful denouement.
I have one bit of caution to share with you. If you have not read any of the books in the...
Published on 20 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, no problem
Good condition, no problem, but they didn't tell me it was a Large Print edition -makes it very big and heavy to read!
Published 6 months ago by Maggie Garratt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Coming Together of Powerful Themes, 20 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I have been a fan of the Amelia Peabody mysteries now for more years than I can remember. As much as I have loved them before, this book brought a new sense of satisfaction to me as a reader because so many story lines finally developed into an incredibly powerful denouement.
I have one bit of caution to share with you. If you have not read any of the books in the series, DO NOT START WITH THIS ONE! The reason I say that is because much of the pleasure of this book comes from the admiration you will have for the skillful development of this plot in building on many prior books. Without reading the earlier books, you will not fully appreciate the plot development in this one. And that would be a shame because this plot is masterful!
The setting for this book is wonderful: Egypt just before the Ottoman empire attacks the Suez Canal with German help near the beginning of World War I. Everyone is on edge. No one is who they seem to be. Ramses is shamed in public for his pacifist feelings by being treated as a shirker. Ladies give him white feathers to protest his lack of military service. David has been sent to India until the war is over to keep him from helping the Egyptian independence movement. Lia is pregnant and awaiting their child in England. Wardeni is hiding from the authorities who wish to arrest him. Letters are censored. Uniformed men are everywhere. Soldiers are dropping like fall leaves on the Western Front.
Because Germans are no longer welcome in Egypt, Emerson has finally gotten a good site to excavate. Soon, that site will yield unexpected returns. But the War intrudes in many ways.
Many important characters from the past return to haunt the Peabodys such as Wardeni and the Master Criminal, Sethos. Lurking in the background is the ambiguous role of Percy.
Emerson, Amelia, Nefret, and Ramses confide in each other even less than usual so there are a lot of mysterious comings and goings to keep you intrigued. Throughout the process, their relationships strengthen in new and important ways. These developments promise important new opportunities for future plots when the series continues in the next book. You will be wondering what will come next quite a bit after reading He Shall Thunder in the Sky.
Some of the important themes that are developed in this book concern loyalty, brotherhood, charity, family, love, duty, honor, and being true to oneself. Rarely will you find a mystery that will extend into such fundamental and important topics as these areas.
But be sure to pay attention to a mysterious little story that begins the book. It connects into a very important mystery that is resolved just at the end of the book. Keep looking for the initial story's importance throughout and you'll enjoy the book even more.
I cannot praise this book highly enough. The dialogue is wonderful, the plot fascinating, the suspense is palpable, the historical backdrop is magnificent, and the exploration of the themes is masterful. Elizabeth Peters is at the top of her form!
I would tell you more about the plot, but you'll enjoy it more by reading this book without advance warning of what comes next.
After you finish reading the book, carefully consider the relationships you have with those you care about, and ask yourself what important things you have not told each of them. Then, please do tell them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sparkling and startling twelfth outing for Amelia Peabody!, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
The twelfth Amelia Peabody mystery is perhaps the most startling yet. The cliffhanger ending of Peters' previous Amelia book 'The Falcon at the Portal' left faithful readers desperate for more. Thankfully 'Thunder' is the long promised gripping finale to the dramatic events so carefully played out not only in 'Falcon' but in the previous four books. Since Amelia's dire vision at the close of 'Seeing A Large Cat' life has run anything but smoothly for her dear son Ramses, adopted daughter Nefret and nephew David. Here in 'Thunder' the children once more take centre stage, as they become embroiled in their most dangerous adventure yet, facing not only fervent Egyptian nationalists, German spies and the wicked cousin Percy but the infamous master Criminal himself - Sethos. Expect to be astonished by the final ten pages and be mindful of the mysterious prologue, for 'Thunder' provides answers to questions you may not even have thought of asking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 8 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
I just wanted to say how absolutely fabulous this book was. It tied up storylines and answered questions the reader didn't even realize they had. After the cliffhanger ending of Falcon at the Portal Thunder was wonderful. For those who are not Amelia Peabody fans you really need to read Falcon(why not the whole series!) before you read Thunder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, fun mystery series about early 20th Century Egyptology, 11 Dec. 2008
By 
gilly8 "gilly8" (Mars, the hotspot of the U.S.) - See all my reviews
Amelia Peabody Series: NOT set in ancient Egypt.

The author holds a PH.D in Egyptology, and her love of the subject shines through her entire huge series. The characters and story line are compelling, and there is much detail about life as it was lived by both the Egyptian people and the non-Egyptian, European or American people, at that time. She gives great respect to the Moslem religion in all of the series, and to the people and culture of Egypt. She is very knowlegable about what digging for buried tombs and treasure was like at that time. Her two main characters are loosely based on actual Egyptologists of that era.

The entire series is good, and DOES need to be read in order so that the plot twists and character changes can be followed and make sense.
If you don't want to start at the beginning of this huge series read: 1. Seeing a Large Cat
2.The Ape Who Guards the Balance
3. The Falcon at the Portal
4.He Shall Thunder in the Sky. These four CAN stand alone.

Ultimately though, most people would want to go back and start at the beginning of the series though in my opinion the first couple of mysteries were weaker, I suppose the author was still developing her ideas.

They are set in the late 1890's-early 1900's and all are exciting reads, about a family of Egyptologists who are searching for lost tombs at the time when many tombs and other artifacts were being discovered. (Or, should I say rediscovered by Europeans and Americans.)

Each story is also a mystery, and a good one.
Elizabeth Peters, under her actual name of Barbara Mertz, also has written several non-fiction books about ancient Egypt that are worth a look. See "Red Land, Black Land", and "Tombs, Temples and Hieroglyphs" both recently updated and re-released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Twelfth Book in the Series, 2 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

This book takes us on to 1914 and Amelia Peabody and her husband Emerson, probably the best archaeologist of his day are back in Egypt once again for the excavation season. However this season for the first time Amelia find it difficult to concentrate on the excavations when she believes that her children are in some kind of trouble. Not only that Cairo is buzzing with enemy agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Peters, Thank You, 9 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was just wonderful. I especially love the books with 'the children' as adults and this one was no disappointment. Elizabeth, you are forgiven - how could I have doubted you? Amelia fans-what are you waiting for? Get ordering this book - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peters at her best, 8 Oct. 2000
By 
Mrs. Hillary D. Totney "hills" (Southampton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having only recently been re-introduced to Peabody and Emerson (I read 'Crocodile on a Sandbank' and 'The Curse of the Pharoahs' some years ago) this book inspired me to read all the other books. They are now like family. This book was wonderful though it feels like an ending. I certainly hope not, but I would like to thank Ms Peters for many hours of entertainment and including me in the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Twelve in the Series, 2 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

This book takes us on to 1914 and Amelia Peabody and her husband Emerson, probably the best archaeologist of his day are back in Egypt once again for the excavation season. However this season for the first time Amelia find it difficult to concentrate on the excavations when she believes that her children are in some kind of trouble. Not only that Cairo is buzzing with enemy agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't start with this mystery. It's in the development of the relationships that have developed over ten books must particularly in Amelia and Ramses' relationship. If you're a fan - this is not one to miss. Since it's not really a whodunit, the plot is stronger as the only problem in the mysteries has been the obvious nature of the villain. This has been a great read - I've been engrossed all day as with The Falcon in the Portal which MUST be read beforehand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super book, 5 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
I have been disappointed by recent Amelia Peabody offerings,but this one, i really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He Shall Thunder in the Sky (Amelia Peabody Mysteries)
He Shall Thunder in the Sky (Amelia Peabody Mysteries) by Elizabeth Peters (Mass Market Paperback - 23 Feb. 2010)
£6.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews