Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But I still want more!
Firstly a warning to anyone who is buying this book. Make sure you have read the predecessor, The Dragon Keeper, before starting this one. It picks up exactly where Dragon Keeper left off with very little in the way of explaination.
Hobb continues to write gripping narative with yet another book by her causing me to stay up to the early hours to finish it...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Lotus-flower

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hobb - Dragon Haven gets a C
Robin Hobb is one of my favorite authors primarily due to the Farseer Trilogy, the Tawny Man Trilogy and Live Ships Trilogy. Although I own a Kindle, I bought Dragon Keeper in the hard back version from the UK because I couldn't wait to have another Robbin Hobb novel. Wow, have I been disappointed in Dragon Keeper and also Dragon Haven. In my opinion, the characters...
Published 5 months ago by Judge Tabor


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon haven, 10 May 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Lincolnshire. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, beautifully written in a way that drives the reader to want to know what is going to happen next. The writer helps the reader to get to know her characters in the novel by telling the story in a traditional way that carries the reader forward. Robin Hobb always leaves me wanting her next book Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars left me wanting more, 6 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever Robin Hobb writes brilliantly well, leaving you with genuine feeling for the characters. REALLY hoping for more stories from the Rain Wilds; would love to learn more about the mysterious city of Kelsingra and the development of the dragon keepers. Thanks Robin for another excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait but is this it or is there going to be more?, 9 Mar 2010
By 
N. Clarke "SpeedDemon" (Sheffield, S. Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've had this on order since November and I must say it was worth the wait. I absolutely loved the book, got it on Monday morning and finished it by Tuesday afternoon (yes, I read that quickly). I like how the relationships have evolved throughout the story and as with the Liveship Trilogy I found my opinions doing a complete U-turn regarding some of the characters, Sedric in particular. Unlike some of the previous reviews I don't think Robin Hobb is trying to pad out the series, I found that there was no excess information in this particular volume, if anything there were bits where I would have loved to have found out more about what was happening to characters from the previous book. I'm hoping there will be another one in this series however the ending that Hobb has chosen for this novel has made it so she could quite easilly just leave it as it is without answering what I feel to be the biggest questions; does Hest Finbok ever get his just desserts? does the city of Kelsingra hold any Elderling treasures and can it be successfully resettled? and finally and most importantly, will all the dragons take to the skies and bring about the return of dragons, sea-serpents and elderlings?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant book by Robin Hobb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book. Couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this really the end?, 6 April 2010
By 
A. R. Mash (Saffron Walden, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent follow up to the first in the series, with continued character and plot development. Pleasingly, Ms Hobb manages to continue the development of the themes she began to tackle in the first book. The development of different characters' moral outlook and their honesty about it is achieved in a satisfactory manner. By this I mean that it seems to come out of events described rather than being forced upon them by the author. Ms Hobbs is to be congratulated for introducing some grown up, thought provoking material and adult dimensions to the fantasy novel. [And I do not mean explicit sex. Rather issues around sexuality, and a young persons growing awareness of their own physicality with all it entails]. All the themes, from trust, honesty, deceit, venial greed, love, lust hate, corruption through to the domestic violence implicit in two of the story lines are properly developed and dealt with. The plot is fully fleshed out and develops along lines that are, if one is to be honest expected, but no less enjoyable for that.

My one moan is that this is a two volume set apparently, when the authoress has clearly left room for further development. Maybe this ought not to be a moan, but rather to be taken as the seeds of a new series.One can only hope so as this is as another reviewrer has said, much better than the Soldier Son Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hobb - Dragon Haven, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent series

L March
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this whole series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy travel memoir, 23 May 2011
By 
John Middleton (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Apparently there is a genre known as "travel memoir" wherein someone, usually a woman, becomes sick of their current life (and perhaps life partner) and heads off on a voyage of self-discovery, travelling and doing things one had never dreamed of, as well as new love (and possibly sex). Only when I thought of Dragon Haven in those terms did the novel make sense. Before that the title of the review was "A lot of walking" - which arguably might work for Lord of the Rings too, I suppose.

This, and to an extent the predecessor Dragon Keeper, are about 3 lost souls who have unhappy lives and set out on voyages to change this, one way or another. It just so happens that there are dragons involved, and as a result the story looks like a standard fantast quest until you stop and think about it. Then you get to the end of the book and realise there is no evil overlord - just a somewhat pitiable teenager trying to impose his will on others and a somewhat ruthless and opportunistic, but largely ineffective, jungle trapper. There is no swordplay, and the closest thing to a battle scene is either a flood, or a brief struggle involving a hatchet, depending on how widely you interpret "battle scene". In short, I guess it must be fantasy because there are dragons, but really it's a story about self-discovery, racism, sex, sexism, sexual identity, homophobia, and probably colonialism and madness as well, if you want to stretch a Heart of Darkness analogy because both stories involve a journey up a river.

All of the above is simply a warning not to expect a standard fantasy novel. This is still an enjoyable read, and despite the references to various "isms" above, its done with a light enough touch - save in one instance where it is clearly not, and obviously deliberately so - that it is never grating. The dragons are definitely alien creatures, frightening and demanding, not just giant talking horses who can fly (most cannot, in fact, but that is niehter here nor there for now).

I am unsure whether this is the second book in a trilogy, or whether there are more books forthcoming at all. I don't think there is much more to the story to be told - although I can see some possiblities - but on the other hand, the story just ends with a lot of loose ends hanging. The book though is driven by the characters and their growing self-awareness: all are flawed to some degree, and all have secrets: in other words, they are realistic people who behave in understandable ways. If you have read Robin Hobb before - especially the Liveship trilogy - then this and Dragon Keeper are worth picking up, but as an introduction to Hobb, maybe start with the Royal Assassin trilogy and go on from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kelsingra or bust, 17 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Originally the Rain Wilds duology was one massive book, so unsurprisingly "Dragon Haven" feels like jumping into the second half of a book. It's also something of a coming-of-age tale for at least half the characters -- Robin Hobb painstakingly chronicles the way that both dragons and humans change as they approach the ancient dragon city of Kelsingra, right down to the last grimy, bloody, unflattering detail.

The liveship Tarman is still heading towards what was once Kelsingra, but it has plenty of problems -- the dragons are being tormented by parasites, the captain is being blackmailed, and the keepers have a little soap opera going on. And then the ship is hit with a flash flood that sweeps dragons and keepers alike down the river -- including Sedric, who has been mind-linked to the sickly copper dragon and finds himself alone with her.

And things don't improve when almost everyone (though not all) get back to the liveship. While the dragons are growing stronger and more powerful, they're beginning to bicker amongst themselves; and with Greft causing trouble among the keepers, Sedric, Thymara, Alise and some other people must figure out what they want for themselves. Oh yes, and they also have to find Kelsingra, if it still exists...

"Dragon Haven" is basically a book about growing up, taking responsibility for your actions, behaving selflessly, and how the rules are there to "make life a bit less unfair to everyone." While technically the book is about the second half of the journey to Kelsingra, the real focus here is on the characters and their relationships -- which sounds boring, but it's actually quite fascinating to see what the journey turns them into.

Only problems are that the book moves VERY slowly, and the ending is satisfying, but abrupt. Fortunately if you can take the slowness, Hobb's writing is sumptuously detailed and full of atmosphere, even in an unglamorous world of acid rivers, rainforests, mud and barge travel. And she weaves together many smaller plot threads -- there's lots of romance, some tragic deaths (and one not-so-tragic death), and some unrest because of Greft constantly undermining the captain.

Hobb also painstakingly develops her large cast of characters -- grizzled sailors, naive teenagers, and the occasional rotten guy who wants to slaughter the dragons for parts. Thymara and Alise have to figure out what they want for their futures -- they have problems with love, rotten men, and the whole question of what the world thinks of them. And Sedric's innocent, sweet dragon forces him to reassess... well, pretty much everything he ever thought or wanted. And, of course, he has to reconsider what he wants in a lover.

The best part is the dragons -- as Hobb makes them more beautiful and powerful, she also rounds out their characters. There's the feisty Spit, the vaguely paternal Mercor, and the adorable little Relpda (who is almost dead at the story's start). The only one who doesn't really grow is Sintara, who's still as snotty and demanding.

The world of the Rain Wilds Chronicles is still gritty and messy, but things begin to turn in a more positive direction in "Dragon Haven." And it leaves you wondering what's going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Haven (Rain Wilds Chronicles)
Dragon Haven (Rain Wilds Chronicles) by Robin Hobb (Hardcover - 11 May 2010)
Used & New from: £1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews