Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savvy guide to developing a moneymaking, personal brand online
Although many people advise against turning your hobby into your day job, Gary Vaynerchuk, an Internet and business phenomenon, vehemently disagrees. He boldly promotes quitting your job to pursue a profession that is your passion. An immigrant from Belarus, Vaynerchuk rose to fame in his mid-30s because of Wine Library TV, the popular, highly publicized video blog he...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Squash it
Despite being a hardcover, it's a pretty lightweight book. Big print, lots of white space - you can read this very quickly, which is good in a couple of ways as it means it is clearly laid out and you can take it all in in one go. It has good advice and is quite inspirational, but at no point did I fill my pants. There were no surprises.

He summarises the book...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by Dean Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crush It! - Gary Vaynerchuk, 15 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Gary Vaynerchuk(@garyvee) is famous for his approach to personal branding on the web. He spent years building his family business from small origins into a multi-million dollar industry leader. Using his video cast to promote himself and his business, he has become an Internet personality.

Gary's book Crush It! is about grabbing the bull by the horns and cashing in on what you love doing. His basic principles are 1. Love your family, 2. Work superhard, 3. Live your passion. And basically this is his mantra. So he recommends that you go and work out what you want to do with your favourite thing or your dream, and just live your passion.

The book covers a bit of personal background starting with his family's move from Belarus to America early in his life. His family had a business selling discount liquor. Gary decided that wine was a good thing to get into because there is a whole world around choosing, tasting and picking wines. This became his passion.

The book covers how Gary used Facebook and Twitter to build up awareness of himself and his business. Another principle in the book is that you should build your personal brand. It does not matter if you work for a large corporate and don't want to set up a business on your own - you should still build your personal brand anyway because it will help you with your career. Gary covers how one can do this easily and for free.

He talks about his web cast Wine Library TV (a.k.a. The Thunder Show). He admits that his approach is "in your face" and suspects he loses 10-12% of his viewers because of it. However his passion is evident and this is what keeps the 90%. This was an interesting point in the book because I nearly stopped watching his web cast the first time I watched after that first few minutes, but I carried on because the wine he was tasting was interesting. It grew on me. Gary clearly knows his own faults.

The book is easy to read and only one nitpick from me - he mentions that Internet hasn't been around long and Gary really means the web here.

For success though, you need to temper the work superhard advice with the methods from The 4-hour Work Week: Escape the 9-5, Live Anywhere and Join the New Rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for your business, 15 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
If you are looking at starting up a business or already have a business and want to Crush It. Read this book now!
Great advice for increasing your brand awareness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring read, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Gary tells it in simple language which inspires and motivates. Helps you to connect to your 'what' and 'why', so you get closer to what you really want to be doing with your life. A definite must read for all those making a living in their own way, following their own calling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, tips and tons of personality, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose 5 stars because this was the first vook I ever read and was intrigued by the merge of e-book and video post in a book about social media.
I liked Gary's honesty and frankness when it comes to making a living online. He points out key steps and resources as well as the necessity of being authentic.
I recommend this book to anyone wishing to learn more about personal branding and how to monetize from your passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Useful, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A valuable book both for good business and living life well. I particularly appreciated the video clips at the relevant points (in the Kindle version) - there's the feeling that Gary is speaking directly to you from his wealth of personal experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big help to anyone needed a leg up in a business of any kind and helps you think about business in a different way. You walk around thinking there could be money in that....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something I'm sure I'll read again in the near future! Pat Flynn SPI bought me here and I'm delighted with the recommendation :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a real call to action, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gary is one of the few people in the world who tells it like it is and yet you don't dislike what he is saying. If I could do even 10% of what he is talking about here I would definitely be a lot happier a man. We'll worth reading if you ever thought of doing your own thing and making money out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crushed it!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the predecessor of Jab Jab Right Hook. This is the first instalment which has the purpose of giving you the belief in your passion and desire to become an entrepreneur. As a budding entrepreneur I sometimes feel that my obsession with turning my passion into my way of living is far fetched, but this book has simply confirmed that you must love and live what you do. This is the first fundamental step in creating the business of your dreams, and if you need some wholesome advice into doing just that this book has done a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crush it - Exactly what it says on the cover., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gary Vaynerchuk's passion and enthusiasm come through with both barrels in this book. It's about four years old now but a lot of what he says still rings true. A must have for the budding entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion
Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk (Hardcover - 15 Oct 2009)
7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews