Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savvy guide to developing a moneymaking, personal brand online
Although many people advise against turning your hobby into your day job, Gary Vaynerchuk, an Internet and business phenomenon, vehemently disagrees. He boldly promotes quitting your job to pursue a profession that is your passion. An immigrant from Belarus, Vaynerchuk rose to fame in his mid-30s because of Wine Library TV, the popular, highly publicized video blog he...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Squash it
Despite being a hardcover, it's a pretty lightweight book. Big print, lots of white space - you can read this very quickly, which is good in a couple of ways as it means it is clearly laid out and you can take it all in in one go. It has good advice and is quite inspirational, but at no point did I fill my pants. There were no surprises.

He summarises the book...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by Dean Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savvy guide to developing a moneymaking, personal brand online, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Although many people advise against turning your hobby into your day job, Gary Vaynerchuk, an Internet and business phenomenon, vehemently disagrees. He boldly promotes quitting your job to pursue a profession that is your passion. An immigrant from Belarus, Vaynerchuk rose to fame in his mid-30s because of Wine Library TV, the popular, highly publicized video blog he started in 2006. Through his imaginative Internet Webcasts, Vaynerchuk has made himself a leading authority on wines and a respected expert on online brand development and marketing. His style is unpretentious, a welcome change from the reserved mien of tuxedoed wine critics. Vaynerchuk provides step-by-step explanations on how to create a personal brand and promote it using social media such as Facebook and Twitter. Although the advice is overly simplistic - Vaynerchuk somewhat naively assumes anyone can emulate his success - and the topic is well-worn, getAbstract appreciates Vaynerchuk's sincere advice and recommends his clear, lively book to new entrepreneurs and others who want an introduction to the world of social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How following your passion is fulcral, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Pedro Mendes (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
I had great expectations for this book, being a fan of Gary's style. I must say that Crush It! doesn't disappoint. Gary's tone gets you energised from the first page. He really believes in his message, and it comes across. He guides us in creating our own personal brand. If you have a passion (as most of us do), you must follow it, work like hell, and the results will come. But you must read the book to know all the details, from the man himself. Ah, and it's small book. I finished it in two evenings. The essentials are all there, with no beating aroud the bush. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! (yet not what it says in the title), 1 Nov 2010
By 
J. Linder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, Gary sure knows how to share his passion for things and what made him successful in a easy, straight forward way.
Unlike other authors of similar books, Gary is quite a humble person, yet quite intense, who insists on us being true to ourselves and not follow step-by-step his approach..
he gives many tips and tricks on how to develop you passion, but most importantly he talks about the human side of it, about discovering your own DNA and building on it towards success.
I say 'its not what the title says' because Gary himself insists that its not about the money, its about building on your passion, and that happiness is the goal.. not 'cash in on your passion'.. although this could be a result and is exactly what happend to Gary himself.. but there are not tips and trick about how to make money here, but only on building your brand and sharing your passion.. which could lead to money if thats what YOU want, you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of passion, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Steven Aitchison "Steven Aitchison" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
I bought the audio version of this book and it has more info than the hard copy, simply because it is more up to date. Gary's enthusiasm, passion, drive and personality totally shine through in this book, and it's easy to see why he has gained such popularity. He is literally giving you a blueprint to brand yourself and your company and become the person and business you are meant to be. the theme that ran all throughout the book is listen to your customers and interact with them and do so with honesty and integrity - isn't that a wonderful thing to be finally doing in business. The small man is now the giant of media and Gary shows you how to Crush it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thought-provoking stuff, 27 May 2010
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
To be honest, when I bought this book it was more out of curiosity, as there appeared to be a great number of positive comments about it so I was intrigued.

Anyway from the time I opened the packaging and opened it to the first page I couldn't put the book down and read it in one sitting, and so enthused by what I read, I immediately sent an e-mail to the author and to his credit, he responded.

This book is the reality of working in a 21st-century, after all, we are all living in an information thirsty age, and our knowledge will be the traded commodity.

Read the book, and more importantly, put it in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Squash it, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Dean Edwards "Serene Menace" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Despite being a hardcover, it's a pretty lightweight book. Big print, lots of white space - you can read this very quickly, which is good in a couple of ways as it means it is clearly laid out and you can take it all in in one go. It has good advice and is quite inspirational, but at no point did I fill my pants. There were no surprises.

He summarises the book in three points early on and, in hindsight, I could have stopped reading at that page.

I think his website was instantly more influential than his book. Nevertheless, he is passionate and has a strong and interesting personality, which comes through in text, but more so on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight., 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Excellent insight into how he did it and inspires to make you think how you can too. A quick read and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharon Charteress, 9 July 2010
By 
Ms. S. Charteress (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
As an introduction to how social media can be used to promote your sevices/company this is brilliant. It is easy to read and realistic about the amount of effort required to achieve the desired outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for bloggers, 21 April 2010
By 
Daniel Pleguezuelos Merino "Dani P" (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Useful book in case you consider your passion is focused in sharing your thoughts,knowledge and expertise through blogging.It is full of good references to tools and URL's that could help you in optimize the digital strategy for your blogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC MARKETING BOOK, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
After seeing a video of Gary, I was interested in understanding better how he achieved his personal brand and ordered this book. Really excellent and inspiring.
But not only blabla, Gary really explains the how to do it . A must if you want to start online (or even offline).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion
Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk (Hardcover - 15 Oct 2009)
7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews