Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
As an ex forces medic i found this an excellent read, and well up to the standard displayed by Ian Douglas in his previous offerings.Douglas is becoming one of the greats of contemporary Sci-fi.
Published 5 months ago by Scrutineer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort
Not the standard I expected from Mr Douglas, I loved his previous series but this is not one I will be following, it is just too simple, the story, the writing and the players all are a bit flat and it just was not worth the time to read.
Published 19 months ago by B. Bello


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort, 2 Dec 2012
By 
B. Bello (Stourton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstar (Star Corpsman) (Mass Market Paperback)
Not the standard I expected from Mr Douglas, I loved his previous series but this is not one I will be following, it is just too simple, the story, the writing and the players all are a bit flat and it just was not worth the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstar (Star Corpsman) (Mass Market Paperback)
As an ex forces medic i found this an excellent read, and well up to the standard displayed by Ian Douglas in his previous offerings.Douglas is becoming one of the greats of contemporary Sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for following the action, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story line with side lines that lead to a good ending, will keep you reading till you finish and looking for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice tale., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstar (Star Corpsman) (Mass Market Paperback)
It is a fair tale, even if plot progression can be a bit predictable. As first in series, it had to set a lot of scenery. The nano-tech is a tad too close to 'magic' for my comfort, but it has logical limits that set it apart from several other authors' clumsy usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good hi-tech foot soldier's view of combat, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
seen through the eyes of a future generation combat medic (corpseman) with the marines, and his use of nano tech to keep them and himself alive during missions encountering aliens on different worlds. Comparing his knowhow and use of tech is like comparing todays doctors and hospitals against those in the 17th century, even to the point where dying is less of a problem than someone catching a cold ( you get better alot sooner if you are dead)
an all round good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doc marine, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fast, paced novel. Techno, though with medicine involved. Ideal as a change to too much tech laced plots.
Budding paramedics will love this storyline.
A very enjoyable read from start to finish.
Well done Ian Douglas for a riveting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A combat medic., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book follows the life of a far future combat medic. Hopefully the author will develop a wider battlefield rather than just small skirmishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but..., 17 Dec 2013
By 
RL Pike (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting reading but too much concentration on the medical details an not enough on the inter-relationships of the characters. Still worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a top read. Fast,action packed...a real page turner..very enjoyable..well worth the purchase and looking forward to more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodstar (Star Corpsman)
Bloodstar (Star Corpsman) by Ian Douglas (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews