Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
This is the best Regency novel I have read so far! The hero and heroine are really meant for each other and you can feel this all the way! She is clever and witty and he is really The Knight in Shining Armor! I enjoyed it immensely and laughed a great deal too!
Published 23 months ago by La Gioconda

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite nice and sweet
possible spoiler!!!!i really did enjoy this read not blown away but a sweet sort of some stomach clenching experience .both characters are real and believable what just lets it down for me is that throughout the story right up to the end you feel as if the hero just wants her for a mistress you also feel many time that he is slightly attracted to the pretty one in the...
Published 21 months ago by allana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the Marquess Was Won: Pennyroyal Green Series (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the best Regency novel I have read so far! The hero and heroine are really meant for each other and you can feel this all the way! She is clever and witty and he is really The Knight in Shining Armor! I enjoyed it immensely and laughed a great deal too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above..., 22 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the Marquess Was Won: Pennyroyal Green Series (Mass Market Paperback)
This really is a cut above your average romantic story,it was a beautifully observed tale of the developing relationship between two very believable characters. The only thing that let it down was the rather rushed and typically happy ending. Overall, it was a very enjoyable book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The saga continues, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not her best in the series, for this you must read What I did for a duke. However it is still highly enjoyable as the writer is really gifted. A rare thing for this genre and I am always left anticipating her next book of the series. The book does stand alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hogwarts, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book. j.a.l. has done it again great descriptive writing and another captivating story.I hope though j.a.l. Will get round to writing Lyon and Olivia's love story as the snippets so far are very promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but......., 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the Marquess Was Won: Pennyroyal Green Series (Mass Market Paperback)
Spoilers alert....

Ok I actually enjoyed this book untill chapter 18.
The whole part to London and being the coop of a joke didn't play out well for me, especially the ending!!!
The whole duel thing that doesn't happen because a apology was made! The way the only love scene between the characters was written!
How she leaves him (which I expected him to go after her) (which he doesn't)
How she returns because he's shot!!!!
It felt rushed & rubbish
The first 18 chapters had me hooked to the point I actually growled when I had to put it down! It had me laughing, worried and intrested the way a book should make you feel!

It just didn't ring true for me after chapter 18.
Shame otherwise it's an ok read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite nice and sweet, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
possible spoiler!!!!i really did enjoy this read not blown away but a sweet sort of some stomach clenching experience .both characters are real and believable what just lets it down for me is that throughout the story right up to the end you feel as if the hero just wants her for a mistress you also feel many time that he is slightly attracted to the pretty one in the story i find this a bit of a mood killer.up to the end he still thinks of just putting her up ?also very little in terms of them together as it all happens at the end of the book a little too late and leaves one wishing for more romance...and some scenes i found immature and annoying ,one being the waltz the hero falling and throwing the girl in a spin ,absolutely juvenile, hated that part, especially when everyone mimicked it and other silly things that just did not fit in a regency ,as if lords would take cats to gaming halls ,it took away from the regency and romance. finally i have read quite a few where the girl is not very attractive yet is chosen over stunningly beautiful ones because of her intelligence kindness etc....what i do not get in all these stories is why is the guy always and without fail stunningly gorgeous??????? does the 'beauty is in the eye of the beholder'not apply to males ever ???and only if they are dead gorgeous do they validate unattractive females????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently high quality, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do love Julie Anne Long books. They're lovely frothy reads with humour and well drawn characters. The developing H/H relationship in this book is a delight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How the Marquess Was Won: Pennyroyal Green Series
How the Marquess Was Won: Pennyroyal Green Series by Julie Anne Long (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Jan 2012)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews