Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine addition to the series... (number 4 Pennyroyal Green)
It probably helps to have read at least the first in this series (The Perils of Pleasure (Avon Romantic Treasure) which I strongly commend, it's a lovely book, as is this.

You really do have to suspend belief however - but isn't that what historical romance is all about - and it's probably stuffed full of historical inaccuracies (dart boards, for example, only...
Published on 10 July 2012 by DebB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Violet's story
Unfortunately I have read "What I did for a duke" from the same author before reading this one. This is not as good, even if it is still enjoyable. Also, I really want to read Olivia and Lyon's story.
Published 8 months ago by Lazy Mum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine addition to the series... (number 4 Pennyroyal Green), 10 July 2012
By 
DebB (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It probably helps to have read at least the first in this series (The Perils of Pleasure (Avon Romantic Treasure) which I strongly commend, it's a lovely book, as is this.

You really do have to suspend belief however - but isn't that what historical romance is all about - and it's probably stuffed full of historical inaccuracies (dart boards, for example, only came along around the turn of the 19th century) but what the heck, this was a fun read and I really don't care!

Violet is bored, bored, bored, and deeply wounded by the sudden disappearance of her beloved brother a year or so ago - a departure inspired by something a woman (the daughter of the family's deadly enemy to be exact) said. No one knows what was said, or where he's gone, and Violet is hurting inside. So when she puts a very vague 2 and 2 together and decides they make 4, every one she puts her theory to laughs at her, pats her on the head and tells her not to worry her pretty self about it. So she takes action. Drastic action, thereby setting the scene for not only the discovery of what was said to her brother and what it inspired him to do, but the sparkling development of a relationship between the intelligent, strong-willed, spoilt, over-indulged but determined Violet and the equally intelligent, equally strong-willed, definitely never indulged or spoilt and grimly determined hero.

The secondary story about her brother pulls the story along and is credible (well, sort of, if you can accept that a man with no experience of the sea can achieve what is achieved), but that element aside, it's a good reason and you really want to know what happened/s.

The main story is excellent - two strong individuals with irreconcilable aims learning that love can fuzz up ones focus, and learning that sometimes one has to compromise.

This is a good series, and while I've not read number 3, I can strongly recommend the second, Like No Other Lover (Avon Romantic Treasure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Pennyroyal Green series have been such a joy to read. This one tells the story of bored but rich Violet Redmond and the dashing if somewhat not rich Earl of Ardnay. Ardnay has been gifted with the title by the King but would only come into the money it could bring if he brought to justice the pirate Le Chat, who Violet is convinced is her long lost brother Lyon. Violet sneaks aboard Ardnay's ship to ensure that he does not kill Le Chat until she can discover the truth. Of course the attraction is there and after a few adventures enroute to finding out the truth they find a love for each other and she finds some truths about her brother. This is a really nice story and one which kept me interested until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Violet's story, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately I have read "What I did for a duke" from the same author before reading this one. This is not as good, even if it is still enjoyable. Also, I really want to read Olivia and Lyon's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure and mistery, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very well written full of suspense and adventure.
feels so romantically intense and with a lovely twist
I certainly enjoyed greatly and recommend ++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pennyroyal series, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
, Colourful, authentic and loved Ms Long's great sense of humour. Some beautiful purple phrases. Characters come vividly to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is not for me., 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Kissed an Earl: Pennyroyal Green Series (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read some of the books of miss long but so far its not my usual book. I don't like to know the other characters before I read the actual story. I like the book to focus more on the main characters. I read a lot of series books. This book, I find it boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow in the beginning, but, 1 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: I Kissed an Earl: Pennyroyal Green Series (Mass Market Paperback)
it picks up i a very nice way- i warmly recommend this book! Now I have to find out if the other caracters have a book written about them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Kissed an Earl: Pennyroyal Green Series
I Kissed an Earl: Pennyroyal Green Series by Julie Anne Long (Mass Market Paperback - 15 July 2010)
£6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews