Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars157
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2011
I think these are quite 'advanced' to be called 'phonics' books. There are some pretty long words in there. But the subject matter and pictures mean by little boy wants to keep reading them, so he's learning as much by repetition as anything else (still a good way to learn to read). You get 12 books - each just 6 pages of short sentences, but with pictures to go along, which is about the right length. Reasonable value I think.
11 comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
These books are very disappointing. The author's idea of phonics is peculiar to say the least. Since when was "friend" an example of a short "e " vowel sound for beginner readers? She suggests sounding out the words - impossible to do for words like friend, knight, guys, laughed, touch, search etc.

Very simple words given as sight words, but many of them are not sight words; for example in, him, and, at, it, can and several others are not sight words and can be sounded out.

Children are enthusiastic over the subject and pictures but soon find reading the stories an uphill task and quickly lose interest as there are far too many difficult words.

Children still learning words like "at" and "it" are not going to make much headway with a sentence like " Sounds like one of Poison Ivy's evil schemes."

With a bit more thought these stories could have been written so that beginner readers could read most of them by themselves. Several of these stories have been condensed from longer versions and at only 6 pages per story there is not much plot left. 4-6 year-olds would probably not notice a lack of plot in an even simpler description of the pictures but they would have had a real sense of achievement had they been able to read more of the books.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
I bought these for my son for Christmas knowing that it would take him a while to be able to read them himself as he's only 5 and in reception still. He can now recite 2 of them off by heart, checking the words as he goes along and can remember some sentances from all of them. He's recognising more and more words himself and absolutely loves them. I think these are great for any child starting to read as they can get more out of them as their skills develop and as they're short they're not daunting. The pictures are great as well and helped with the discussion about the story.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
This is a lovely set of books for batman fans to help them to learn to read. I gave this to my nephew for his 4th birthday and he is very into batman at the moment.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
This set of 12 books is great -they are relatively easy to read (my son started learning to read in school last September (its now June) and is extremely keen to read all of these as its about Batman !
I would use these books as "paired reading" where an adult will read along with the child where necessary.
My son would not be able to read these independently yet -and I join in with longer words which aren't on his school word list. (eg terrible,criminals,together,disappear) but there are not so many of these in each book as to put an early reader off if they like Batman.

It focuses on different short and long vowel sounds in each book which makes life so much easier for home support.
I also use the DK early readers (pre-reader and level 1) -starwars and lego books in conjunction with the Batman phonics
11 comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
These books are excellent for helping youngsters develop their phonics and are centred around a character so many young lads relate to - highly recommend them!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
I bought this for my son to read during the holidays having just finished reception. These books are too advanced for him, I think they might be suitable about midway/end of year 1, so we haven't read them yet as he was getting frustrated.
They are also American english. But he was keen to read them with Batman on the front.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
batman crazy 5 year old loves these books and there is lots of interesting things that he will learn about batman. I've had lots of deep conversations at bedtime I can tell you!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
My son (4-5yrs) loves to read and loves all super hero's especially Batman. This pack is very well package and can be carried any where and there is also space in side for a snack and pack of cards/small toy figure, whoopee every boys dream. A boy in his class has been struggling with his reading (it's boring!). So for his birthday I bought a set for him.Yep you got it he loves batman. Though some of the words are a little difficult and above their level of reading they both persevere with sounding out the words, and yes the little boy is starting to enjoy reading, result. The books have a picture on one page and text of one or two simple sentences on the other. The stories are simple and each books promotes a theme such as, be good, have good friends, friends help each other etc. Also Superman and Wonder Woman make an appearance. I would like more of these sets for the same price but beware some of them are very expensive why I don’t know, check out Spiderman as an expensive example. All I can say is 'DOOM' on those suppliers you should be ashamed of your pricing parents can't afford them remember our children are your future customers.
*******Definitely an item I would recommend, and if the price is right I’ll buy an extra set for the school libuaury*********
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
These books are each about 6 pages long and about 12cm x12cm. The box is a little deceptive as it makes the books look bigger than they are. However the books themselves are brilliant for beginners who know a few key words and their phonic sounds. The illustrations are interesting and comic book quality and the text is a fair mixture between the keywords, phonic words and a few interesting words to keep the text interesting. A very early reader will need some help - They are not as easy as the books sent home from school - but my son loves them. They were so popular that I ordered the Spiderman and Superman versions within a week of giving these to him. Well worth the money.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse