Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earth Strikes Back ...
Ian Douglas likes the theme of humanity against a huge galactic empire where the American military by human ingenuity and flexibility overcomes both the aliens and the stupid civilian administration that tries to lead them astray. The civilians are not so over the top stupid this time but that is not to say they are smart.

Center of Gravity starts in the...
Published on 12 Mar 2011 by cybermage.se

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too much disbelief required
As with the first story the enemy remain largely faceless and unknown though that is changing. It remains focused on the actions of the Carrier America, her Admiral and fighter pilots. As with the first book whilst the combat is engaging and quite well written you still have to suspend a great deal of belief. Fighters seem to spends hours in engagements with greater...
Published 12 months ago by Charles Singleton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars two much repeat detail, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me book two was OK with regards to the development and growth of the story line. However I have given it only two stars, perhaps a bit too tough, because there was a lot of copy detail from book one on the technologies etc. etc. I realise that in a set of books the author has to do some of this in case a person buys a book out of sequence. To me though there was too much of this. I will not be buying the next two books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 17 Feb 2013
By 
I. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quite a realistic portrayal of war in space in some ways, with the portrayal of the difficulties of communicating across the solar system and spotting enemy spacecraft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Story!!!, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a supriser, i just bought the first one to get me through the day at the gym and when im bored, but i ended up reading it pretty quick, and bought the rest of them, and they are great the only thing i can say is a fault is that the author repeats information a couple times through-out the books but other that that its great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Non stop action really good shhot em up sci fi read didnt put it down until I had finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All round good read so nothing much else top say without giving away the plot and spoiling it for others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am definitely an Ian Douglas fan, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking pace, action packed storylines, plausible and likeable characters. I am busy reading everything else he has published. Keep writing Ian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, but ..., 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the first two books and will definitely get the third when it is released.

However, I do cringe at some of the mathematical/physical/practical errors that occur. I would be the first to admit that they are few and far apart but for me at least they do briefly spoil my enjoyment when I encounter them. Mostly he has done very well at keeping his calculation and assumptions correct but the one that gets me every time is the velocity of the KK rounds from the fighters which he mentions several times as being 175m/s. My problem with this is that it is half the muzzle velocity of a 9mm semiautomatic pistol and a simple search of Wikipedia shows a US Naval test of a railgun firing a 3.2kg projectile at 5.4km/s "in the late 2000's". Surely in the intervening four centuries and with the vast amounts of energy they seem to have available they should be able to compensate for a shorter 'barrel' and keep the velocity to a useful level. Similarly the carrier can only launch its projectiles at the same speed as the fighters are launched as it uses the same 'barrel'. Surely they should be able to simply use the same energy and so fire a lighter projectile at a higher velocity?

Despite these niggles the plot and characters continue to develop and we are introduced to several new alien races.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice hard/military sci fi, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Center of Gravity: Star Carrier: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
This second book is more engaging than the first, characters a little more rounded but a sideshow to the tech, which is well done and interesting, little repetitive in parts but a romping story had me waiting eagerly for part three. How come no ebook in the uk. ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trashy but fun, 8 Sep 2011
By 
Dr. James OCallaghan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center of Gravity: Star Carrier: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
I love the hard sci-fi in this and a lot of the issues to close to c combat and fleet action. The characters are a bit flat to be honest and smell of the 1980's; lots of top gun with all its associated clichés. Bar that it has some interesting ideas which are pretty well executed. The action is good and so is the build-up. I know it's trashy but it's a fun fast read. No regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pays to be Patient, 19 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Center of Gravity: Star Carrier: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
I purchased this book working on the principle that it's usually worth giving anything a second chance. (well, within reason). I had previously found the first in the series a bit of a drag. It was ok in everything, plot, writing style, everything. But that was it - ok. This one's a major improvement, pacier, more action-packed and generally a smoother read altogether. I don't want to reveal anything about the story but I enjoyed this one much more and all I can say is 'Roll on the 3rd'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Center of Gravity: Star Carrier: Book Two
Center of Gravity: Star Carrier: Book Two by Ian Douglas (Mass Market Paperback - 22 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews