Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a Great
I will admit from the start that I have not really enjoyed the two previous books by Ian Douglas that I've read but I thought I would give Star Carrier Earth Strike a go. Well this book came close to being a "great"... but alas the weaknesses that were obvious in the previous books really stood out here. It's a shame because the story is good, the character development is...
Published on 29 Sep 2010 by J. N. Bullock

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtle.
This is a book that delivers what it promises, so if the description sounds interesting you'll probably get along with it. It's also incredibly subtle and there is no hint of overcompensation or euphemism in a kilometre-long mushroom-shaped star carrier named America forcing its way into enemy star systems and firing teardrop shaped fighters out of the hole at its...
Published 21 months ago by Fin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtle., 17 Nov 2012
This is a book that delivers what it promises, so if the description sounds interesting you'll probably get along with it. It's also incredibly subtle and there is no hint of overcompensation or euphemism in a kilometre-long mushroom-shaped star carrier named America forcing its way into enemy star systems and firing teardrop shaped fighters out of the hole at its tip.

What I'm saying is it's a penis.

Entertaining despite, or because of, that, but wasn't worth the full paperback retail price I paid for my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a Great, 29 Sep 2010
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earth Strike (Star Carrier) (Mass Market Paperback)
I will admit from the start that I have not really enjoyed the two previous books by Ian Douglas that I've read but I thought I would give Star Carrier Earth Strike a go. Well this book came close to being a "great"... but alas the weaknesses that were obvious in the previous books really stood out here. It's a shame because the story is good, the character development is good and the techno-logic is excellent. There are hints of both Asimov and Heinlien here but it is all spoiled by Douglas's writing totally for the American audience. Everything it seems everything has to be based on the good old USA even hundreds of years in the future. If only he had noted how Robert Heinlein handled his universe in his classic Starship Troopers, Mr Douglas would have created a true "Great" but instead he fell for the easy narcissistic route and let opportunity pass him by...Pity
JNB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish it is was possible to give a zero star rating, 29 April 2012
This review is from: Earth Strike (Star Carrier) (Mass Market Paperback)
Summing this book up in a single word: appalling. Basically taking the worst, sub-par, John Wayne WW2 US-Propaganda movies and painting some sci-fi stuff over the top like a thing veneer. If you wanted to give people a bad impression of John Wayne WW2 movies and of military science fiction, you might consider giving them this book. One to avoid if at all possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A damn good read, hard to put down, was reading far too late into the night!Good concepts,good characters and good story, so much so that I am now pas t the 2. book well into the third!Hope the writer keeps it up like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars American Penis Ship fails to impress, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As others have noted the main warship The America is described as a giant penis and after that in the first paragraph it took me a while to take the book seriously, but maybe you never should take a book seriously.

This book was not very interesting the first half the book is about a battle, in the sort of detail that i can imagine someone who was in the military (or an engineer) might find interesting, descriptions of why a ship was called something and what it would have been called in the "olden days".

There were glimpses of interesting story in between all of the tedious detail, but every time the story started to get interesting it was stopped mid flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last, a writer that gives relativity the respect it deserves!
A really imaginative debut. The author not only has a clear idea of the effects you'd encounter in space, but has a really clever way of getting round most of them!
I was particularly impressed with the problems of light-speed communications together with light-speed travel and the tactical problems this would give.
The story telling is first-rate, the narrative flows without any digressions into irrelevant side issues. Personal relationships are explored as and when they add to the plot.
If you like Interstallar shoot-em ups, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice tech, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Earth Strike (Star Carrier) (Mass Market Paperback)
Good tech and interesting story but found myself flicking through the token character development, enjoyed enough to read the 2nd book which is tauter and better written imho, battle seqeunces are very well done which is the point:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable rubbish, 1 Jun 2011
By 
D. R. Cantrell (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Strike (Star Carrier) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Military science fiction" has a bad reputation, because of books like this. The story is simple, characters are barely developed at all, and their actions are predictable. We know from the first few pages that the admiral will disobey his orders and save the day. We know that the fighter pilot that no-one likes will be a hero. It's all very depressing that so many peoples' opinions of science fiction are formed from reading crap like this.

On the other hand, it is at least exciting. I had to keep turning the page, so polished it off in a coupla days. I doubt very much that I'll read it again, but I might read the sequel if I can find it cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earth Strike (Star Carrier), 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Strike (Star Carrier) (Mass Market Paperback)
Earth Strike (Star Carrier) This is a fast paced book that tells a realy good story. If you enjoy a good plot,good characters,vast settings with a salute to 'the real' effects of near light travel and tatics, then this author should not disappoint you. If you enjoyed these authors, John Ringo, Michael Z Willianson, Taylor Anderson and others who use a military theme, then this book will hold you and leave you wanting the next book now! Kind regards to all. John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for action fans - but nobody else, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely plot-light, the book consists of two extended action sequences linked by a miniscule amount of back-story. If you enjoy full-throttle action and are happy with wafer-thin cut-out characters from central-casting then this will make your day - but if you want anything thoughtful or (even slightly) sophisticated then give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth Strike (Star Carrier)
Earth Strike (Star Carrier) by Ian Douglas (Mass Market Paperback - 23 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews