Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book- Helpful, funny and informative, 24 July 2010
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
This book is an excellent begginers guide to Burlesque, However I've been a burlesque performer for over four years and I still found some helpful hints I hadn't thought about. Not only do you get to learn step by step routines, you also can mix up the individual moves that are demonstrated so well.

This book also gives an overview of the history of burlesque, without going into too much detail. It has a brilliant list of resources including other books and a huge list of Websites.

Overall, I cannot rate this book as anything less than perfect. I can't beleive how cheap it is! A wonderful resource, not just for burlesque dancers, but also for any aspiring performers including cabaret artists.If I could give it TEN stars, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School of Burlesque, 30 Sep 2011
By 
lillylie (scotland and CT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
This book is fantastic! Jo 'Boobs' Weldon is an amazing performer, teacher and a great authority on the subject of Burlesque past and present.
The book is a funny and interesting read start to finish as well as being genuinely informative for anyone interested in giving Burlesque a try.
I loved the Martha Stuart style templates for making your own pasties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a leading authority..., 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
This book is a lovely introduction to Burlesque from a thoughtful lady with much experience in the business. I have only recently taken to burlesque in a BIG WAY and was thrilled to find so many helpful insights into its history, and the shows of today.

The instructions on how to make pasties make for an exciting read if you wish to make costumes - exciting, because it immediately becomes apparent that this loud tiny uniform is so easy to make. Ms Boobs also includes clear instructions on making other props including fans. There is also much guidance on the structure required to make your own act. With this book in your hands and a rampant imagination, you are equipped to put on a Show.

The most important lesson of this book: Burlesque is about your attitude towards yourself - confidence. It is all about glamour, yet, refreshingly, not also all about conforming to a certain look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want to know about Burlesque and more!, 9 May 2011
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
This book is great if you are a fan of burlesque or are looking to become a burlesque act this book is a bible, from pasties to classic moves, its everything you need to know about Burlesque and then some! I would recommend this to fans and aspiring artists alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Fletcher (Darlaston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
Excellent read and you don't have to read cover to cover you can easily jump to relevant chapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Danielle Docherty "CurlyStorm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
Brilliant starter book. Bought for a friends birthday. Had a good look at it before. Loads of helpful tips. Might buy one myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
Very helpful towards my training as a burlesque instructor. Some very useful tips, easy to just thumb through and find what you're looking for too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whast a hoot, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
Tricky book to review as there something for everyone. If you're a burlesque newcomer it'll open your eyes on a fascinating world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Burlesque Bible, the book every budding burlesquer should own., 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone involved in the art of Burlesque. It is full of invaluable advice, great stories, brilliant step by step dances and patterns for you to make your own pasties. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have it, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burlesque Handbook (Perfect Paperback)
Its really great to have this book as i'd always wanna know more about what is burlesque. This book is an entry and an important foundation to me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burlesque Handbook
The Burlesque Handbook by Jo Weldon (Perfect Paperback - 15 Jun 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews