Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing Evidence for Survival
It is difficult to understand how mainstream science can continue to ignore or reject the implications of the near-death experience (NDE) in light of the evidence and arguments made by Dr. Pim van Lommel in this most comprehensive book. Dr. van Lommel seemingly touches all bases in exploring the various phenomena related to the NDE.

Having grown up in an...
Published on 6 July 2010 by Michael E. Tymn

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knowledgable but Dry
Although he certainly knows his stuff Prof Van Lommel writes in a dry academic way that is hard going. Worth aa look because of it's content but be prepared for a slog
Published 15 months ago by al baby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD STUDY OF NEAR-DEATH-EXPERIENCES AND CONSCIOUSNESS, 12 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend this book. It is the carefully thought out result of years of study. At 360 pages, it's well researched, written and organised. Dr. Pim van Lommel, a Dutch cardiologist, analyses NDE's (Near Death Experiences - where people, resuscitated after their hearts stop and brain function ceases, report lucid structured experiences) and consciousness. He concludes that consciousness is everlasting.

I was thrilled by the book until it dawned on me that there's a big difference between analysis of NDE's and speculation about consciousness, quantum theory, and the non-local reality in which Dr. van Lommel thinks we live. I agree with Dr. van Lommel's "everlasting" conclusion, but in speculative areas it's important to check one's thinking/evidence. Dr. van Lommel's conclusion that consciousness is everlasting doesn't follow from his speculations, unless all he is asserting is that since there is non-locality of experience then that is the (permanent) character of consciousness?

My enthusiasm when I finished the book faded when I remembered that Dr. van Lommel's "everlasting" conclusion (not the argument of his book) is as old as the hills, and when I realised he doesn't have much to say about everlasting consciousness. Apart from vast bodies of Eastern thought, many people in the West have done excellent work which touches upon that underexplored realm, of which I recommend:- Frank Myers (Human Personality and Its Survival of Bodily Death -1903) who surveys human personality and arguably went on to produce the "Cross-Correspondences" after his death; Russell Targ, one of many researchers in Remote Viewing (a non-local skill) where I recommend as an hors d'ouevre his Memoirs of a Blind Biker; Dean Radin's The Conscious Universe; and finally, brilliant, speculative, and very much to the point: Jane Roberts Seth books e.g., The Nature of Personal Reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Book, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience (Paperback)
This book is exceptional in many ways in the way it addresses many issues on NDEs and consciousness by taking a clear-cut approach and logical assessment based from two sides of the fence.
It is almost a piece of the whole puzzle in its own right this work, and the way it is written gives the reader the ability to pragmatically to step back and see the bigger picture and make their own minds up, but at the same time giving his own and other specialist views.
It is a shame that it only briefly covers the collective mind in a few areas as I would have liked to have read his views on this. As someone who has experienced an extreme cosmic consciousness experience (NDE) several years ago with retained knowledge, the views and ideas he expresses are fully accurate.

Equally his view that quantum spin information transfer and correlation in the brain (pg 256) is now provable (as in article in New Scientist this month), with spin being separated from the particle.
I wish I had read this book sooner, but then we often don’t get to see things when we would like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book!
I really liked reading about Van Lommels views on NDE and found it interesting learning about him as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will not disappoint you, even if some chapters require an effort ..., 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience (Paperback)
Intriguing book.
van Lommel has a scientific approach to NDE, which is still ridiculed by the majority of the medical world. If you are even slightly interested in understanding life and death, read this book. It will not disappoint you, even if some chapters require an effort to be fully understood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Narrow-minded world, 12 Sep 2013
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's much in the world that we do not see. It requires Science etc to see some of it for us. But Science has its limits - our undestanding and the tools available. Seems no one can prove definitively that there's an afterlife but there's enough evidence to strongly conclude that there is; indeed, an afterlife is the only rational explanation. PVL is not alone in his findings. Many cardiac surgeons find the same and more, eg see Loyd Rudy on YT.

The history of an afterlife goes back to Man's beginnings. People 'knew' there was something more. Today we have the WWW and can all see what's been found by the many scientists interested in this area.

This readable book adds to the persuasive list of books on this subject. Don't confuse this with stage shows etc. This is serious, reputable and repeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knowledgable but Dry, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience (Paperback)
Although he certainly knows his stuff Prof Van Lommel writes in a dry academic way that is hard going. Worth aa look because of it's content but be prepared for a slog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another paradigm-breaking book, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pim Van Lommel`s contribution regarding the Near Death Experience Research is one of the most important so far. His Research is for shure contributing to the ongoing mind-brain "debate". Even more important is the impact Dr. Van Lommels Research will have on the scientific paradigm, which in turn will change Our worldview. I strongly recommend this book, I`ve followed this Field since the legendary Research and writings of Dr Raymond A Moody, Kenneth Ring +++. Pim Van Lommel have taken this Research one important step further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good and interesting book, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience (Paperback)
Good and interesting book. The jury is out for proving or disproving consciousness beyond life and I do not think they will ever reach a verdict.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience (Paperback)
The book of Dr.Moody which was the first I have read on this thema 30 years ago.This now consider the-
in the mean time rapidly growing subject from - different point with a deep analysis.When you began reading,you cant interrupt this thrilling scientific Lecture.A marvellus book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consciousness Beyond Life, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very thought provoking obviously a great deal of research had gone into this book Had to read a few pages over a few times but well worth the persistence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Consciousness Beyond Life: The Science of the Near-Death Experience
£8.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews