Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book
I have read many books over the years which claimed to have the key secret to everything in life, and invariably they come up somewhat lacking. However, this book is perhaps the polar opposite in that it does not claim to be "the answer" and yet in many ways probably is. I bought the book because it came up in my Amazon recommendations, so in that sense I had no real bias...
Published on 6 Dec 2010 by Pete

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As a business owner this book had a ROI of -1.
First review ever on Amazon though I buy and read a book or two a week.

The author brings up psychological studies haphazardly and fails to get any points across in any sort of logical way. She never mentions the number of participants in the studies or any other quantitative detail.

She starts off by saying that she is in marketing. I'll tell you...
Published 20 months ago by themango


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 6 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
I have read many books over the years which claimed to have the key secret to everything in life, and invariably they come up somewhat lacking. However, this book is perhaps the polar opposite in that it does not claim to be "the answer" and yet in many ways probably is. I bought the book because it came up in my Amazon recommendations, so in that sense I had no real bias as to whether it would be good or bad, but I was initially impressed when it arrived by the glowing recommendation from Seth Godin on the back. Whilst Seth might not be everyone's cup of tea, he doesn't dish out his praise for just anyone. Thankfully, the book itself lived up to such lofty expectations, and, although the sceptic in me hates to say so, this is probably one of the most interesting and useful books I have read. It doesn't have the answers to everything in life (not that it claims to), but it does provide a very solid foundation as to why a lot of the answers are what they are.

The book itself is split into 3 parts, the first two of which are generalised theory of Sally's understanding of what fascination is as a concept, and her interpretation of its 7 facets. The final part is effectively an action plan for putting the theory into practice in your own life. I found it rather specific in this regard, and since I am not actively looking to promote a product or service, some of the exercises were a little academic. Others with a need to fascinate their wares might find it more useful. But for me, it was the first two parts which were the real gold dust.

Sally explores her 7 'triggers' for fascination with excellent examples which are meaningful, relevant, and get you thinking. Her writing style is a good demonstration of her own understanding of what she is talking about, as she effortlessly seems to manage a balance between detail and intrigue. Nothing is skimmed over, but nothing is laboured either, and the writing feels fresh and welcoming. "Fascinating", if you will. There is some overlap between some of her triggers, but that she acknowledges is often part of their strength. I also pondered half-way through whereabouts "humour" would fit in, as this seemed to be a subject that didn't easy slot into one of her trigger categories and wasn't covered much, yet can be a real crowd-puller in itself. Maybe it is a mix of all the triggers?

I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in what makes people tick, especially what makes groups of people tick. Even without the application of the third part, just the initial two parts are more than merit enough to buy the book in its own right. It will be invaluable to anyone who has a product, service, idea or philosophy to sell to a target audience, and is struggling to add the "wow factor". But even for those like me who are just reading for pleasure, it's an excellent book.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant explanation of the power of fascination based on sound judgment and impeccable character, 18 July 2014
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
According to Sally Hogshead, "the ability to fascinate isn't witchcraft or hypnotism. And it doesn't come from wearing nightcaps or eating green peas. It is a tool. Rather than something to be feared, it is a discipline to be mastered. Fascination is born of a natural instinct to influence the behavior of others. But the key to mastering fascination is effectively activating the seven triggers." They are best discussed within the narrative, in context. Suffice to say now that, collectively, the seven enable those who master them to elicit just about any reaction in others, ranging from a craving for sensory pleasure to comfort derived from trust. Here's an insight that suggests an important point:

"Whether you realize it or not -- whether you intend to or not -- you're already using the seven triggers. The question is, are you using the [begin italics] right [end italics] triggers, in the [begin italics] right [end italics] way, to get your desired result. By mastering the triggers, your ideas become more memorable, your conversations more persuasive, and your relationships more lasting."

Obviously, sound judgment is needed when deciding which trigger to use when. Impeccable character is also needed to ensure that activation of a trigger serves a worthy purpose. Both judgment and character are essential to the given situation. As I worked my way through Hogshead's book, I began to make correlations with another source of appeal. Some of the most evil people throughout history were both fascinating and charismatic. Even today, books about them continue to be written. Adolph Hitler, for example, did not possess the fascination that Hogshead has in mind. He had mastered several of the triggers, creating alarm because of the threats that Germany then faced and trust in his leadership, one that would eliminate those threats. In stunning contrast, Mohandas Gandhi (not discussed in this book) activated the same triggers to secure freedom and independence for hundreds of millions of people in his native land...and he did so without violence. Hogshead has much of value to say about these issues in the chapters on "Alarm" (Pages 101-116) and "Trust" (169-185).

These are among the questions to Hogshead responds:

o What is fascination? What is it not?
o What are the pluses and minuses of fascination?
o What are the trends that drive the need for a new form of persuasion?
o How best to develop that skill?
o How to decide whether or not someone or something is (key word) authentically fascinating?
o How almost any person can become (again, key word) authentically fascinating?
o Why are people (at least some people) seduced by anticipation of pleasure?
o Why are people (at least some people) intrigued by unanswered questions?
o Why are people (at least some people) proactive when threatened by negative consequences?
o Why do people (at least some people) fixate on symbols of rank, respect, power, etc?
o Why are human beings vulnerable to being controlled by what is fascinating?

Readers will also appreciate Hogshead's provision of "Fascination at a Glance" (Pages 245-250) which reviews, briefly, topics that include "Overall Principles," "Trends Driving the Need for Fascination," and "Steps to Find the Edge of the Bell Curve."

I have always been fascinated by who and what fascinates me but, until reading this book, I had given little thought to whether or others find me fascinating. My guess is that is also true of many others who read this book. While re-reading the book prior to setting to work on this review, I was again struck by this fact: the abundance of information, insights, and counsel provided in the volume will help people to become more authentically fascinating, and, help them also to determine whether or not whoever and/or whatever fascinates them is indeed authentic. Thank you, Sally Hogshead, for increasing substantially my understanding of human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As a business owner this book had a ROI of -1., 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
First review ever on Amazon though I buy and read a book or two a week.

The author brings up psychological studies haphazardly and fails to get any points across in any sort of logical way. She never mentions the number of participants in the studies or any other quantitative detail.

She starts off by saying that she is in marketing. I'll tell you what. As someone reading this book for marketing insight...I want a full refund + money back for my time + I would pay not to read a book as bad as this ever again.

Even if the book isn't for marketers it fails just as badly. If the aim is to help people become aware of things that "fascinate us", it simply makes sense to give people "tools" to counter act the effects of fascination, but once again...none of that.

EG she talks about the state of "flow" or "being in the zone" as the state in which people are so involved in an activity that nothing else really seems to matter. This little talk then goes on to discussing obsession. This then goes onto a fascination "scale of intensity". After reading this discussion the question is...what's your point! Yes we know some people get fascinated with activities. Yes we know some people get obsessed with activities. What is your point? Unless it's that spelling out the obvious is boring and burdensome I think the author wasted a whole lot of pages.

If the author went into WHY people obsess, WHY people go into flow, or WHY people are fascinated that would be great. But she doesn't! If she went into HOW Apple fascinated people, HOW sports put people in the zone, or HOW the brain is put into 'fascination' mode that would be great. But she doesn't!

Also...almost every example seems to rotate around sex. No offence but what the heck? If I wanted so much sexual context I would have read 50 shades of grey.

...sex 873,000 times?
...fascination you can create because of your smell?
...birth control changing who you might be attracted to,
...she talks about flowers in the amazon being the first advertisers in the world and acting as marketing managers (honestly...wtf)then books competing on amazon.com - want to hear her expert advice - ...sorry she gives none, she just draws an analogy and then moves on.

In sum, if you are a business person, marketer, or anyone interested in anything with substance then stay away from reading this. If you are looking for insight to use in your own life or your own business then save your money unless you want a ROI of -1. There are at least a handful of other books that will give you the know how you need while being a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of content but not enough 'How to', 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
A very interesting book with lots of stories to accompany the technical aspects but very little 'How to' for the reader. For me to get value from this it needed to include ideas and suggestions on how I could apply the subject of fascination to develop my business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly Written Ramble, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
The whole book can basically be summed up in the following: be fascinating. The rest is just badly written ramble in big type. There are certainly no "how to's" in the book, but there are plenty of jokes on every page (even in footnotes) that probably sounded funny to the author and her children at the time.

"If you trigger lust you will draw others"
"Esperanto is one such idea. This 'universal second language' ... with all the makings of a huge trend a la Facebook" - she then continues so compare, without success or reason, Esperanto to this social website

If the writing style were more professional there is at least enough content to be interesting, if not useful in any way.

Compared to books like Made To Stick and Resonate this book is a rambling waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
I can't recommend this book enough. The basis of the book is that we all need to stand out from the crowd in todays over-supply market place and distinguish our goods and services from those of our competitors. I have applied these strategies and seen the benefit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ummm???, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
This is more for business people rather than any sort of self-help.
I didn't find it helpful for my field of work.
I found it repetitive and that it had too many historical references which seemed to be there to pad it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cagey advice on captivating consumers, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
Becoming fascinating is the best way for your product to stand out from the crowd. You can create a brand identity so interesting and distinctive that consumers will be irresistibly attracted to it, as they are to Apple, Tiffany, Coca-Cola and Google. Brand consultant Sally Hogshead shines a marketing spotlight on the potential power of fascination, details its seven triggers and explains how to use them to increase your product's attractiveness. A clear, strong writer, Hogshead provides a compelling report on how fascination shoots a desire like an arrow directly to the primitive limbic brain, bypassing rational processing and evaluating. getAbstract believes marketing professionals will learn a lot from Hogshead's insightful report. Their challenge will be applying her branding magic to make their companies and products truly fascinating to consumers. Of course, Apple's Steve Jobs and Amazon's Jeff Bezos do it, but they are authentic marketing geniuses. Indeed, that is what makes them so fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very fascinating, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
There is always a good market for this kind of poorly written pseudo-research because many people want simple solutions to complex problems. With an enthusiastic and attractive presenter it can even come over as quite reasonable but sadly it is pure twaddle. Breathless nonsense dressed up as "psychology" that does little more than tell you you should be "fascinating" over and over.
Please trust me on this, go and have some fun rather than read this book, at least then you might have an experience that you can tell people, they might even find you a little bit more fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinate and captivate, 3 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation (Hardcover)
This book explains why some people are fascinating and others are fascinated by them.

It will help with presentations as it gives examples on how to make them fascinating. It should also improve any communication that you need to make memorable.

It is also a good read in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation
Fascinate: Your 7 Triggers to Persuasion and Captivation by Sally Hogshead (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2010)
15.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews