Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happily ever after - and after that?
I bought this book to try and understand why personal relationships are in such a crisis in our society. Whilst it's clearly - and unashamedly - written with an agenda in mind, it is very well researched and fully embedded in academic anthropology, containing many references to other academic publications.

Don't let that comment make you think it's a dusty...
Published on 24 Mar 2011 by Mr. Andrew Beck

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars readable
again - as in my review for mating in captivity, there are so many avenues not explored and ignored. I sometimes wonder if rather than being totally objective, these books are written by and for people who have many sexual partners, and are looking for an excuse for it. And before you ask - I probably understand both far far better than most having studied this for 11...
Published 11 months ago by popsicle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 26 Nov 2013
A must read. Informative and witty. A study of the origins and nature of our sexuality. This book, taken seriously, could help the world become a better place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex... It's All Dawned Upon Me Now!, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this world in the perpetual contest between questions and answers it is the 'questions' that have clearly taken the lead; but Christopher Ryan, in this highly enlightening (and perhaps worrying too in some ways) book, has stuck in a few goals for the 'underdog' and narrowed down the gap.

Sex at Dawn demolishes chapter by chapter our accepted notions about sex, marriage and fidelity. Female sexuality and common and popular male fantasies are also explained... brilliantly.

At another level this work also questions the wisdom of mankind giving up his hunter-gatherer life for that of farm and factory - more food for thought.

I'm not going to say anymore except: buy this book... you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars open look at human sexuality, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is important to face up to the truth, what we do, what are inclinations are and what doesn't work. Only then will we give ourselves the chance of finding alternatives that work for those involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, possible anwers to a lot of question we have today, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes its written with an agenda, but it is well reserched and lots of references to support the main thesis.
A bit sensational in places, but this is just to counter the enormous drag factor of a few thousand years of the status quo.
Good to read someone who is prepared to consider that we're all sleepwalking in the monogamy convention, when it may not be the best thing for a woman, a man or even children.

Possibly explains why a very large % of people have some fantasies which are completely counterintuitive in the conventional framework.

There's even another book by another author which counters this book! That must mean its worth a read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing!, 18 May 2014
This review is from: Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships (Paperback)
They've really 'done a Dawkins' with this book.

And by that I mean, they've taken a lot of complex theory and presented it in a way that is witty and engaging from start to finish. Not only that but this book will have you questioning everything you think you know about yourself in the same way The Selfish Gene did - and much like that book, it has a controversial title to hook you in in the first place.

This is easily the best non-fiction book I've read since The Selfish Gene and the scope of modern tropes decimated by the theories within is simply mind blowing.

Hey you, yes, you! Read this book then share it with your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 1 May 2014
By 
J Williams (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships (Paperback)
My friend recommended this and the title intrigued me. The contents are well researched and some quite shocking. Very humorous at times and I say it is a must read. Be open when you read because flags will pop up when you read some chapters especially about what service doctors used to offer their female patients!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Sided Headline Grabbing..But very interesting, 4 April 2014
By 
J. N. Dorne (essex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships (Paperback)
Ok, so this book has a couple of obvious holes in its underlying theory. It is totally one sided and very selective in its use of the available evidence, but overall its a well presented and enjoyable read. I wish that the final chapter (basically promoting 'alternative marriages) had either been left out completely or that the author had put a bit more effort into it. It felt tacked on and was a stupid way to end what otherwise was a mostly science based book.

Otherwise it was great, highly recommended for those bored of Dawkins etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships (Paperback)
As a pro-revolutionary I loved this book! Yes of course humanity doesn't fit into any book and so this one leaves out a couple of things. Anyway it is really thought provoking and very amusing! Viva sex!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs to read this. GAME CHANGER!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic book. This books turns the standard narrative on its head and really makes life make sense for the first time. Paradigm changer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our society is clearly in change - which way will we go? Shorter (honest) marriages or longer open marriages?, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is intriguing. it is worth reading even if you disagree or believe that sometimes the author may exaggerate small examples and extrapolates them to more frequent occurances in our society whereby he claims that humans lived longer in open formations with various sexual partners than what is widely believed..

Have you also wondered why it seems right that the divorce rate is 40%, men cheat by 65%/women by 40%, divorces cost a fortune and a few years later the "newly married" will probably run into the same difficulty yet again and yet - WE dont change this pattern??

Will we adopt the American pattern of shorter marriages where we are "honest and monogam" or the "longer lasting open marriage" (maybe a more French approach?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships
6.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews