Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Schama inside history
Having recently read David Reynold's excellent America: Empire of Liberty and Paul Johnson's comprehensive History of the American People - I did not think there was that much anyone could add. But Simon Schama's immense skill as a writer and historian suffuses the subject with freshness and originality. Weaving lived histories with significant events in American history...
Published on 12 Aug 2009 by Jeremy Persaud

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideas slung around a film-shoot
Like the rest of the brilliant academics who have made a name through dazzling scholarship and cashed it in for big money TV series, Schama loses some of his intellectual synoptic brilliance by writing not, as implied by the title, a history of the USA that gives some indication as to how the future of the country might pan out, but a collection of stories that illuminate...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Sirin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overblown over-academic pretentious gobble-de-gook, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is NOT for the general reader. Every 10th word is one I do not know. The book assumes a lot of prior knowledge, and not just basic knowledge, it assumes a serious and detailed knowledge of US history, this could be read as an embellishment/deeper understanding of reasons behind things. However it jumps around the centuries and misses out huge important chunks of important stuff. It goes into massive amounts of detail on certain points and no detail or mention of others.
Reading this book reminds me of some of my Cambridge University lectures - utterly incomprehensible but no one dares to admit it. Undoubtedly Schama is an academic expert but has no ability to write for the general reader, so do not believe those reviews who say it is.
It's impossible to get an idea of what happened when. It's like he's talking to a bunch of other academics and uses lots of clever clever shorthand references to other stuff that leave most folks feeling thick. I hated the few chapters I read and felt a huge relief when I left it in a cafe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American Future, 3 Dec 2012
By 
TomCat (Cardiff, Wales.) - See all my reviews
Nobody writes history quite like Simon Schama:

"But when you stepped through the bails of scratchy tumbleweed that had come to rest against the broken fence you could see the place was held together by nothing more than the debris of its own ruin; the splintered wreck of a life that was hanging on in the middle of nowhere, so its reproach would endure against the Colorado sky like someone who wouldn't or couldn't stop crying."

Like most people, I assume, I first became aware of Simon Schama when I watched his seminal BBC series A History of Britain way back in 2000. But it wasn't until university that I started paying attention to him as a literary stylist, when a lecturer told me (with all the histrionic hand gestures and unintentional spitting of the enthused academic) that the moment Simon Schama decided to write history instead of fiction marked a terrible loss to the modern novel. I took this gauche statement for all the unqualified hyperbole it so obviously is but, apparently, there was indeed such a "moment" as my supervisor described. In Schama's quasi-autobiographical book of essays Scribble, Scribble, Scribble he writes:

"I made my choice albeit with some torment. I was a History Boy. Hector [Schama's English master] took it badly, as if betrayed, and barely spoke to me for months. Many years later I told him that much of the rest of my life had been spent trying to make the choice between history and literature moot."

Of course you could interpret this statement as a bashful attempt to justify the defiant, un-historian-like floweriness of Schama's prose, but - for what it's worth - the more books I read by Simon Schama, the more I'm impressed by not just his fluency and eloquence as a popular historian, but by the beauty, imagination and emotional insight of his writing. His newest book The American Future, which examines the myriad ways in which America has imagined its own future "from the founding fathers to Barack Obama", isn't any kind of departure from his previous output of so-called "narrative history", and as such is unlikely to convert any of his critics, but it definitely feels more socially relevant than many of his recent publications, which have leant more towards art history than politics (The Power of Art, Rembrandt's Eyes, Landscape and Memory (which is excellent btw) etc).

The American Future, then, sweeps through two hundred-plus years of American history in just under 500 pages. This compression of so much history inevitably results in an unrelenting barrage of names, dates and political terms that make great demands on both the reader's concentration and memory. Attempting to remember every place or event or person mentioned in just a single chapter is akin to standing in front of one of those tennis ball machines set to rapid fire and trying to catch (and hold onto) every ball it serves: some - if not most - are going to pass you by. Thankfully this quick-fire and comprehensive approach is tempered by Schama's narrative (I'm wary of saying "novelistic") treatment of history. Schama's concern for his subjects' emotional lives, coupled with frequent deferrals to diary entries, letters and photographs make The American Future a pre-eminently affecting and story-like telling of history. There's little concern for chronology as the book flits, sometimes in the span of a single sentence, between different decades (and even centuries) of history in a bid to make whatever over-arching thematic or structural point a particular chapter is concerned with. Like all narrative history, then, The American Future is open to such accusations that the book is more concerned with imbuing an emotional impression upon its readers than, say, delivering as much objective information as possible - and that's fine; it is, of course, down to the caprice of the individual reader to decide what they read history for. The prose takes undeniable poetic license with history, but always in an attempt to (cliché imminent...) bring its subjects to life:

"As if in supplication, one of the cassocked choir would every so often slowly lift both arms, palms upwards, trembling, like a marionette worked by a celestial puppeteer."

In the opening chapter `America at War', Schama establishes the dichotomy that he will use throughout the book to analyse various aspects of American history: Jeffersonian vs. Hamiltonian approaches to militarism. Thomas Jefferson favoured a limited army of well-educated specialists trained in engineering and capable of re-building a country's infrastructure following a war - an army to defend liberty. Alexander Hamilton, by contrast, argued for a larger, more militaristic force - an army to spread liberty. The parallels with modern American approaches to foreign policy aren't lost on Schama, who at one point describes Mitt Romney as a "neo-liberal Hamiltonian".

The book uses these two radically contrasting approaches to Americana as a spring board to launch investigations into such wide-ranging topics as slavery, irrigation, the compulsory purchase of Cherokee land and national identity - all contained within their own distinct chapters. Naturally some investigations are more successful than others; I found `What is an American' to be a rambling and ungraspable chapter that comes to few conclusions while spreading itself regrettably thin with its examples and sources. `American Fervour', by comparison, is a passionate and moving examination of the role of religion in the lives of slaves, with frequent quotations taken from the `Sorrow Songs' recorded by black army officer Robert Sutton in the 1860s; it stands as a testament to Schama's emotional conviction that it's not enough to simply "know" history,but that "we've got to understand" it too.

Determined to plant its flag firmly in the Jeffersonian camp, The American Future takes a somewhat hagiographic approach to describing the third President of the United States, and is especially praising of Jefferson's little-studied and undoubtedly enlightened (would we say "modern"?) attitudes towards religion:

"Though Jefferson held Jesus in high esteem, as perhaps the greatest of history's moral teachers, he thought is absurd, if not offensive, to compromise that standing by fairy tales declaring him the Son of God, born of a virgin and such foolishness. [...] Jefferson believed that adhesion to unexamined and irrational beliefs had been the greatest cause of contention and slaughter in the world, for there could be no arguing with those who asserted from revelation alone."

But later derisions of Jefferson's personal life and his contradictory attitudes toward slavery build up a complex and multi-dimensional picture of the book's primary subject: part moralistic, part reviled. This is one of Schama's more interesting stylistic ticks, and in this respect The American Future really is novelistic: red herrings abound as figures are introduced, praised and set-up as likeable, only to be deconstructed and exposed as bigoted or selfish in subsequent chapters. I found myself, for example, quite taken by manufacturing giant Henry Ford when Schama describes the free schools he established for his migrant workforce and his unwavering dedication to a liveable wage, only to be crushed with disappointment when it's revealed that Ford also penned the book The International Jew: The World's Foremost Problem. It's this up-and-down, wavering and constant re-assessment of his subjects that fuels a lot of anti-Schama criticism from readers who would prefer a more consistent and "objective" approach to history, but I nonetheless enjoyed the complex positioning of the novel, as Schama attempts to present America as very much a frontier nation: not either/or, but filled with contradictions and difficulties.

As you'd expect from Simon Schama, The American Future leans distinctly to the left, and as such the book is most interesting when constructing history via the personal struggles of down-trodden masses rather than the political lives of the elite. Chapters are separated by short present-day vignettes describing Schama's 2008 road trip across America following the Obama campaign, in which he interviews numerous regular Joes in an attempt to gauge not the media or politicians' reactions to Obama, but the people's.

The American Future is a dense, challenging history book made joyously readable by Schama's narrative approach. It presupposes an understanding of American history that I was unable to bring to the book (I frequently found myself Googling the dates of Presidents' terms or the specifics of various legislation, for example) and in this regard it suffers from a lack of a comprehensive glossary. Sure it's a bit of a crash course (after all, who can cover all of American history in 500 pages?!) but if, like me, your reading background is more fiction than non-fiction oriented, then I highly recommend The American Future as both a helpful way-in to American history and an extraordinarily beautiful piece of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for beginners..., 29 Dec 2010
For anyone seeking an introductory text to the history of the USA, this is a poor option. The book frequently jumps from events in the 18th century to events in the 21st century and appears to skip the bit in between!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hurried scribble, 12 Feb 2009
By 
I like most of his books but this one must have been written in a great hurry OR he no longer cares about his style. It is hard to read as it is just a jumble of appalling sentences and he does tend to ramble so one's mind starts to wander rather than concentrating.
Pretty awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very difficult to read and stay interestered, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Ian Jones (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I get the inpression that the publisher asked for 20.000 words and Mr Schama willingly obliged.
Very difficult for myself to read, boring in places beyond reason.
Sorry Mr Schama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, 28 Dec 2008
By 
Samuel Dachs (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A simplistic review of some facets of American history---no real analysis ---

I've read about half the book and I am very disappointed, I may put it down--

He quotes that the naming of a town "Columbus" was done after someone had finished reading Washington Irvings book "Life and Voyages of Christopher Columbus"

Too cute--I fwink I may vomit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The American Future
The American Future by Simon Schama (Audio CD - Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 34.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews