Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The value of empathy revealed to be far more than a social nicetie
This book was a very entertaining and enlightening surprise. It brought into stark reality the effect of the US 'each for his own' concept, and precisely how it not only undermines empathy, but rather a lot more.

It is articulately written and well organised, with well explained and appropriate case studies. And a good balance between the necessary touchy-feely...
Published on 18 May 2011 by Mr. N. Moffatt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Ideology
An interesting book about empathy but starts with so many false premises, it is difficult to separate the good from the bad. For example there is no therapeutic method detailed within the book, nothing there which points to working with young people who have experienced early trauma. More importantly there is no sense of emotional recovery and this colours the whole of...
Published 1 month ago by Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The value of empathy revealed to be far more than a social nicetie, 18 May 2011
By 
Mr. N. Moffatt (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
This book was a very entertaining and enlightening surprise. It brought into stark reality the effect of the US 'each for his own' concept, and precisely how it not only undermines empathy, but rather a lot more.

It is articulately written and well organised, with well explained and appropriate case studies. And a good balance between the necessary touchy-feely and the mechanics of empathy and related matters. I strongly feel that the potential audience is large - including those who are aware how un-empathic they are, for being so may not be the best for their health. I personally plan to reread it in order to better absorb the many concepts and details offered.

Splendid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
I bought this book for work, but I found it really interesting. It is about more that children and parenting. It helped me clarify my ideas about some of things that are going on now politically, and confirmed my views that our current (conservative) government are on totally the wrong track. Also it is good for understanding children and impacts of trauma and neglect on them, and what parents and others can do to ameliorate that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most fascinating read, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
Usually I find scientific books somewhat hard to read and follow, they don't exactly tend to be pageturners! However this read I would recommend to everyone and anyone. The implications of the studies and their outcomes are amazing and I find myself telling so many people about this book; what you think doesn't matter and can't possibly be connected ...actually really does/is. The scientific background combined with 'real-life' stories (even though they are American and therefore occasionally a bit crass) make this easy to understand, read and pass on. An extraordinary eye-opener when it comes to (child) psychology and how empathy is indeed essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating exploration of an important subject, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As part of my research for the characters of an upcoming novel, I'd been looking for a book on empathy with case studies of people at different points along the empathy continuum. Not only did "Born for Love" meet my expectations in this respect, it taught me a whole lot more. Written in an informed yet accessible style with plenty of well researched case studies, the book clearly explains what empathy is, how it might have evolved, the conditions needed for its development, and the tragic consequences of impeding that development. It then goes on to make some interesting observations of how our present culture may be creating grave problems for society through its failure to nurture and promote this important faculty within our children.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
Great book, really helpful examples of case work and detail of the impact of living with a lack of empathy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for those interested in human relationships, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
A great book that helps understand the importance of empathy in human relationships. Looks at a variety of individuals and how they have benefited from the empathy. Also takes a look at the downside of human relationships where there is no empathy. How social policies that lack empathy can have detrimental effects on people in society. As a lay person with an interest in the subject I found it easy to follow and enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An important book, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
This book should be compulsory reading in all schools,Come to think of it all heads of business and top politicians should read it too. It is a well put together book which clearly shows that compassion and empathy are not just some cosy pleasant righteous way of being. They are essential for the survival of the human race. It's that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommendation, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
This book was recommended by Erin Pizzey who launched the first women's refuge.
It was purchased by me as a Christmas present for my daughter, who is working as a counsellor, and for whom it seemed appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered (Paperback)
This was a very interesting book. It arrived in mint condition and on time. I am very happy with my purchase. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightened, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The way this book connects real experience to theory and research makes it an interesting read, it's equivalent to participating in an experiential learning course rather than just learning the theory. Readers of all levels will take a lot from this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa301763c)

This product

Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered
Born for Love: Why Empathy Is Essential--and Endangered by Maia Szalavitz (Paperback - 20 Jun 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews