Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys, Indians and aliens
Cowboys... and aliens. It sounds like a really, really stupid movie pitch.

But instead Scott Mitchell Rosenberg "Cowboys & Aliens" is a pretty fun graphic novel -- it has a simple but entertaining premise, lots of glowy splotchy action scenes, and some likable characters (on the human side). Its main downside is that it slaps you in the face with a hamhanded...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Art vs trash
Wow, I'm amazed you have to pay for this book, I've read free comics that had better art and writing than this wreck.

The concept is minimal - cowboys from the frontier days, late 19th century, encounter aggressive aliens who decide to bring death and destruction to the world. Cowboys fight back.

Done right, this could've been a fantastic book...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Art vs trash, 12 July 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Paperback)
Wow, I'm amazed you have to pay for this book, I've read free comics that had better art and writing than this wreck.

The concept is minimal - cowboys from the frontier days, late 19th century, encounter aggressive aliens who decide to bring death and destruction to the world. Cowboys fight back.

Done right, this could've been a fantastic book. Unfortunately it's "created" by Scott Rosenberg, the man whose only idea in life is humans vs aliens, like his previous work "Men in Black". The only difference here is that he's gone back in time.

Rosenberg hands over scribe duties to two writers you've never heard of who supply the most basic of dialogue that lends zero personality to the already threadbare characters.

The artwork is appalling. I've seen better work scrawled onto concrete with chalk by pre-schoolers. Seriously, this is the laziest "art" I've seen in a "professional" comic book. There's no sense of depth or consistency and the aliens look utterly ridiculous.

Like most people I only picked up this book because of the upcoming film "Cowboys & Aliens" which, judging from the trailers, already differs greatly from this sad excuse of a comic book and it's better for it. This might be one of the few instances where the film is better than the book.

Don't waste your money on this trash, there are so many better comics out there it's a shame anyone looking to get into comics would pick this up and come away with a poorer impression of the medium as a result. Here's some far, far better comics that you would do well to buy instead of this:

What I Did by Jason
Paying For it by Chester Brown
The Rime of the Modern Mariner by Nick Hayes
Chew, Volume 1: Taster's Choice by John Layman
America: God, Gold and Golems by James Sturm
Frankenstein's Womb by Warren Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys, Indians and aliens, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Paperback)
Cowboys... and aliens. It sounds like a really, really stupid movie pitch.

But instead Scott Mitchell Rosenberg "Cowboys & Aliens" is a pretty fun graphic novel -- it has a simple but entertaining premise, lots of glowy splotchy action scenes, and some likable characters (on the human side). Its main downside is that it slaps you in the face with a hamhanded "evil aliens = European settlers" message that knocks you sideways.

The year is 1873, and there's a battle going on between the Apache warriors and a pair of hired guns protecting a wagon train. Then... suddenly a vast spaceship crashes nearby, and the aliens inside kill the Apaches who try to greet them. The cruel Commander Dar decides to conquer this world for himself, and quickly takes over the nearest Army fort.

So now the settlers, the cowboys and the Indians are being attacked by technologically advanced aliens who already outnumber them. Now these former enemies have to join forces to defeat Dar and his soldiers, or ALL of humanity will be in danger (especially when that space fleet shows up to finish the job!).

Yeah, "Cowboys and Aliens" sounds like a really terrible movie blockbuster. In fact, I think they're making it into a movie, which may or may not be insanely awesome (it's Jon Favreau, so it could be either). But as a graphic novel, it's pretty fun as a story -- lots of splashy action scenes (with glowy green weapons and flying death chariots!), and a wildly complex climax that belies its simple concept. T

Problem? The first five pages beat us over the head with "Evil Invading Aliens = Evil Invading Settlers"... which is kind of sabotaged since we see that most of the settlers (like that poor priest) don't have any "divine providence" delusions.

In fact, the characters are all (except for Dar and his thugs) pretty likable. In between fight scenes, Scott Mitchell Rosenberg reminds us that the HUMAN ex-enemies are not that different, as they pray for Apaches and cowboys alike to succeed, and a cowgirl even has a cute little romance brewing with an Apache warrior. Awwww, true love among the alien invasions.

"Cowboys and Aliens" sounds silly, but handles itself so smoothly that you never really have a chance to go, "Wait, what?" Fun, action-packed and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not like the film, 18 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Paperback)
I recently enjoyed the Cowboys and Aliens film and thought it would be interesting to see the graphic novel that inspired it. Sadly, I was very disappointed with the graphic novel. The film was well written and scripted, with good characterisation and I was surprised that it was as good as it was. The graphic novel, however, started with over-heavy moral points which were made much more subtly - and therefore more effectively, in the film. I had no particular problems with the art side, as other respondents had, but I found the story-telling very disjointed, with new elements appearing from nowhere, and story lines interrupted causing loss of momentum. Some "sound effects" were ludicrous, giving no indication of the sound they were intended to convey - eg "POIT!". The secret weapon used on their horses by the Indians at the end was also ludicrous as there was no way in which any real control could have been achieved over it without technology unavailable in the old West or indeed in the 21st Century. Sorry about the vagueness, which is in the interest of not providing "spoilers" -although I doubt if the story could be spoilt as it is already of such poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very, very poor comic, 13 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Paperback)
I bought this comic because I wanted to read the original story before the movie hits the theatres.
Unfortunately Cowboys and Aliens was a complete disaster.
The artwork looks very amateurish, something a kid learning to draw comics would draw. Sometimes it was even hard to understand what the image was trying to be. Very, very shoddy work.

The story itself was poor and straight-forward with no real surprises or twists and turns. Aliens land, aliens attack, men fight back, the end.

There's definitely something very fishy going on here - a comic this poor in quality in every single way should never have been published at all. Why does it exist then?
My guess is it was rushed out and made as cheaply as possible just so they could sell the movie rights. It's easier to sell something that is actually a physical product, rather than selling just the idea of "aliens fight cowboys". There must be more money involved in it, too.
So what we're buying here is just a trick a producer used to sell his idea for a movie.

Not worth buying. Wait for the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hope the movie is better, 24 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Hardcover)
I learned that the creator of this is the producer of the movie. I am actually surprised there's any writing credits at all as the dialogue is REALLY basic. The whole thing is like a story board for a movie. Frankly the art is also VERY uninspired. I guess a postive is that the adequate drawing and art work doesn't let down the design as the characters and sets etc look like something from a hurried 80's video game.
Really disappointed. If the relationship between the movie version of this and the comic bears a strong parallel to Men in Black (also created by the same guy) then i will DEFINITELY not look to read the MIB comics.

To be fair i like the ideas in the book. But, i suspect the movie will swerve the chance to address the whole "white man raping the land / america was created on the back of land theft and slavery" symmetry with the alien invasion which is a shame as its one of the best points of the book. sadly its not backed up by something more than elementary dialogue and cliches.

go buy the runaways or Appleseed or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quick Fun Read!, 10 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Paperback)
I am a big Western fan as well as Horror and Sci Fi. Plus I'm a comic fan also, so I was obviously intrigued by this book. I was also interested to read it as it is being turned into a big Hollywood film(Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig). This comic book is very fast paced with very basic plotting and art but I never the less found it fun and full of adventure. I assume the film will add more story as I read this book in about 30 minutes. I recomend this book to young readers and those comic collectors that enjoy silly fun stories. Personally I like all sorts of comics so was perfectly satisfied with this book. I give this book 4 for enjoyment while reading it but it certainly is not a classic piece of comic literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Excellent book, just like the film, really enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowboys and Aliens (Paperback)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cowboys and Aliens
Cowboys and Aliens by Scott Mitchell Rosenberg (Hardcover - 5 Jun. 2011)
Used & New from: £1.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews