Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doing the Duke and Duchess Justice
After just three weeks of marriage, Jemma, Duchess of Beaumont fled to France, after finding her husband, Elijah, on his office desk with his mistress. Now, after nine years apart, Elijah has summoned her back. It's time to produce an heir, for the good of the title.

Except that Jemma doesn't know everything. Oh, she's heard about her husband's collapse in the...
Published on 27 May 2009 by Book Gannet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars book
This was cheap and perfectly OK as I had not read this one of hers. This is a good way to collect the missing links in her canon of work
Published 10 months ago by Mrs J Pengelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doing the Duke and Duchess Justice, 27 May 2009
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Duchess of Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
After just three weeks of marriage, Jemma, Duchess of Beaumont fled to France, after finding her husband, Elijah, on his office desk with his mistress. Now, after nine years apart, Elijah has summoned her back. It's time to produce an heir, for the good of the title.

Except that Jemma doesn't know everything. Oh, she's heard about her husband's collapse in the House of Lords, but she puts it down to exhaustion, and vows she'll do what she can to stop him working so hard. But just when things are starting to go right, they're putting the past behind them and finding some hope for the future, Elijah's secret comes out: It isn't exhaustion that plagues him, but his heart. His own father died of heart failure at just 34, and now at 35, Elijah's heart is giving up on him. But before it does, he wants to fall in love with his wife all over again. And this time he plans to do it properly.

At last! After four books, the estranged couple first introduced in Desperate Duchesses are getting a book of their own. Of all the duchesses Jemma has always been the most sophisticated, the most wise, the smartest, the one who plays chess, who dresses best, and whose heart was shattered by her husband. Elijah, by contrast, is the ultimate duke, a man whose integrity and sheer goodness has carved a name for himself in politics and made him near indispensable to the welfare of the country. They are complete opposites. Everyone knows it. Surely they can't find happiness together?

I adored this book. Right from the outset of this series James has intrigued me with the Beaumonts, starting in such strife but gradually drawing closer. Their differences were obvious, but James has slowly been revealing their similarities and reasons for doing as they did, and behaving as they have. Now, at last, all the pretence and the tiptoeing is over. The chess games with Villiers have been cast aside, Elijah no longer moralises and Jemma is ready to forgive him for him past mistakes.

Well, sort of. Though this book never hides the direction in which it's going, that doesn't mean James makes it easy for them to get there. For such intelligent people, both Jemma and Elijah have their weaknesses. And thanks to some advice from Corbin, some conversations with Villiers, a return from the Black-and-White marquise Louise, and a lot of champagne, things veer on and off course with angst, amusement and aplomb.

Yet it's the scenes between the duke and the duchess that are the best. The notorious chess game (blindfolded and in bed) finally happens, and it doesn't disappoint; the trip to the baths; the trip to the glassblowers; the doctors - anything and everything. Elijah's goodness shines through, but so does Jemma's love for him. And the scenes about his failing health are heart-wrenching.

A little more serious than the previous books, that doesn't mean it lacks for fun, and poor Villiers returns once more. This book isn't the easiest for him, but not only do we learn more about him, but so does he. True, the ending of this is a very neat setup for his book (A Duke of Her Own) that is soon to follow, but his story has always been so entwined with Jemma's that it would be a shame to leave him out. (I also have high hopes for that epilogue and what stories James intends to write next, now that she's finished with her Georgian Duchesses.)

For me this is the best in the series, it doesn't disappoint and it does my favourite Duke and Duchess justice. If you're new to this author and this series, go back to the beginning and enjoy yourself. They're completely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love books, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Duchess of Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
Love the Duchess books had discovered them in my local library. Couldn't wait to find out Jemma's story so purchased this copy.
Story wonderful, book cover so disappointing after having seen the hardback covers. Will not purchase the paperbacks again for my bookshelf. So unworthy of the excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this duchess of mine, 4 Aug 2009
This review is from: This Duchess of Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
This Duchess of MineWhat can I say? I agree with the previous reviewers that this is by far the best book in the series.The story grips from the first and the humour does not get in the way of the story as in some of the other books. It is good to have a glimpse of the social conditions of the times and to understand Elijahs importance to social reform.
Above all this is the love story of two complex well drawn characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This series is a wonderful read and sets the scene for the series well, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is a wonderful read and sets the scene for the series well. Introduces you to so many people, with totally different characters.
You need to read them in order, as you should all series, yet this is a standalone book too.
a bit weak on content at times but still worth the time to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read some of this series out of sequence but it did not matter as Eloisa James books are always an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars book, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Duchess of Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
This was cheap and perfectly OK as I had not read this one of hers. This is a good way to collect the missing links in her canon of work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Duchess of Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like a good romantic story with a big dollop of humour...this is the book for you. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An exciting storyline filled throughout with love and heady passion. Beautifully written made me laugh and made me cry. Love Villiers ...so funny and sober '' his reawakening is a treasure of a plot .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keep the saga going, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love English historical romance, and Eloisa James is very good at this genre. The tone and historical facts are true to history and there are no Americanisms or modern idioms, (I really hate that).
I love this saga, Jemma the Duchess of Beaumont has been in each of the books and following the story line from book to book has become addictive. I have to say that if factual historical romance with a more phyisical aspect is what your looking for, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as with all EJ books, just fabulous! well rounded characters, good storyline. I have loved everthing so far EJ has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Duchess of Mine
This Duchess of Mine by Eloisa James (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
£5.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews