Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars45
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
The Nag Hammadi Library in English edited by Robinson seems to be the standard translated edition of the texts, certainly in terms of best selling, but I would recommend this current book (or else Bentley Layton's "The Gnostic Scriptures") over that one.

It contains more than just Nag Hammadi material, including documents from the Berlin Codex (Gospel of Mary) and Codex Tchacos (Gospel of Judas). Furthermore, the material is better arranged, laid out and formatted, divided into sections with helpful headings, making it more readable, comprehensible, digestible and understandable. It also, unlike the Robinson, contains numerous helpful footnotes. The introductions to each text are generally better and more useful, and a bibliography is provided along with each text.

Really it's no contest. This, and the Layton edition, should really supplant the Robinson, which is showing its age somewhat now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 22 June 2014
I found this book excellent in the insight it gives us into all the books that didn't make it into the Bible. There is a lot of good cross-referencing with the appropriate Bible texts and helpful introductions to each of the Nag Hammadi Scriptures. I would suggest that it is required reading for anyone, particularly Theology students of any faith not just Christian, who wishes to know more about the whole story of Christ, and particularly about the significance of Mary of Magdala. The book is quite difficult to tackle but well worth while for those with an open mind and imagination to other points of view rather than simply those we are offered in the New Testament. Actually as a Catholic it has deepened my faith and I hope this will happen for others too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 5 November 2010
It isn't often that I have to have a dictionary beside me when reading a book, and even rarer for there to be words that aren't even in the Concise Oxford English Dictionary (three so far, and I'm only on p.72). You need to be really fascinated by the subject and have great perseverance to find it an easy read, but if you are, then it is a "must have" book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 20 September 2012
All the texts in one book and contains a useful scholar's commentary throughout. The way the texts have been translated is openly shown leaving little room for bias.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 18 July 2014
The contents list in the Kindle version does not seem to be linked to the contents. Although this translation/updating is a great help (I have the original paperback) it is frustrating that I must make a note of locations and cannot go straight to the texts that interest me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2012
Hefty 800+ page work of a whole committee of scholars giving translations of a large part of the 1945 of religious texts from Nag Hammadi. The texts were probablyperceived as heretical and hidden, but not destroyed. Many of the wirks illustrate currents of gnosticism otherwise known only from works condemning them. The translations are very careful, and obviously aim at retaining nuances of the original, but this approach, possibly justified from a scholarly point of view, does not make them easy to read. The work is completed by short studies of certain of the main schools of gnosticism.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 August 2013
This book is a real mind-twister - in the best possible way. The kind of book you might want to go back to a re-read ... and re-read. If you are at all interested in the Christian faith before Nicaea then give this a try.

The thoughts expressed may or may not be correct, but they ARE fascinating!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 28 May 2012
I have taken a great deal of time and pleasure in reading these books that had been found, the descriptions are good and not too complicated to understand. The gospel of Mary Magdalene and Thomas are real eye opener's... Its a pity when the bible was put together that it did not include ALL texts and books, thus giving us a better picture of things in the time of Jesus.

Man always seems to interfere with "his" input.... not usually for the greater good...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
if you believe that every thing happened by chance and that the human race crawled out of a thick soup millions of years ago and this planet just happened , and that we live for 3 scores and 10 , and that when we die There is no after life, and that their is nothing and the human body just turns to dust , then this is not for you , if you understand the human soul leaves heaven to live in the world and that it needs a body to use things on this level , and the soul as to experience love hate etc until the soul as reached perfection and never comes here again and that every human as physic powers that it can pick to use or not use and that their is more to life than we can ever think of and that every human on this planet as total free will to use as you wish for good or bad then this book is for you , ill tell you this god does not care if you believe in him or not its what he cares about is what you do if you see a homeless man or woman buy them a meal its called help each other then we would have a brilliant world remember nothing is with held from you , you need to ask for help also please read Emanuel sawedenborg his books are on these lines
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
These are updated and revised versions of the translations issued as the Nag Hammadi Library in English (1977). Much improved and the commentaries are not obtrusive and frequently interesting. My only query with regard to the text is why the editors chose to include sub-titles of their own devising to break up the text. These sub-titles are frequently accurate and provide good characterisations of the material that follows, but not always so. Admittedly they do serve to break the text up visually. The book is well produced with covers that withstand immersion in my backpack, and the print is quite clear on good paper. To the reader who has not encountered these trails of thought before, my advice is to take them slowly and to try to put oneself into the mindset of these lost authors who were trying to grapple with the expression of concepts that go beyond the power of mere language to express. What we know as the clarity of contemporary Christian teaching was slow to emerge (and is still emerging!) and those of us who believe in "one holy, catholic and apostolic church" will find much to reflect on in these beautiful texts.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Gnostic Gospels
The Gnostic Gospels by Elaine Pagels (Paperback - 6 April 2006)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.