Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior to the Robinson Nag Hammadi
The Nag Hammadi Library in English edited by Robinson seems to be the standard translated edition of the texts, certainly in terms of best selling, but I would recommend this current book (or else Bentley Layton's "The Gnostic Scriptures") over that one.

It contains more than just Nag Hammadi material, including documents from the Berlin Codex (Gospel of Mary)...
Published on 10 Feb 2011 by E. L. Wisty

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far too much political idealogy within the translations to make this a singularly trustworthy work
This is a book of English translations of the Nag Hammadi texts, but there are a number of problems with the overall book.
The first is to do with the objectivity in the translations. Translation is a difficult art and can be very open to subtle biases of the translator. Too often one person gives the translation. There did not seem to be care to have translations...
Published 2 months ago by Openhearts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior to the Robinson Nag Hammadi, 10 Feb 2011
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
The Nag Hammadi Library in English edited by Robinson seems to be the standard translated edition of the texts, certainly in terms of best selling, but I would recommend this current book (or else Bentley Layton's "The Gnostic Scriptures") over that one.

It contains more than just Nag Hammadi material, including documents from the Berlin Codex (Gospel of Mary) and Codex Tchacos (Gospel of Judas). Furthermore, the material is better arranged, laid out and formatted, divided into sections with helpful headings, making it more readable, comprehensible, digestible and understandable. It also, unlike the Robinson, contains numerous helpful footnotes. The introductions to each text are generally better and more useful, and a bibliography is provided along with each text.

Really it's no contest. This, and the Layton edition, should really supplant the Robinson, which is showing its age somewhat now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nag Hammadi Scriptures, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
It isn't often that I have to have a dictionary beside me when reading a book, and even rarer for there to be words that aren't even in the Concise Oxford English Dictionary (three so far, and I'm only on p.72). You need to be really fascinated by the subject and have great perseverance to find it an easy read, but if you are, then it is a "must have" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nag Hammadi, 30 July 2012
By 
David (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
Hefty 800+ page work of a whole committee of scholars giving translations of a large part of the 1945 of religious texts from Nag Hammadi. The texts were probablyperceived as heretical and hidden, but not destroyed. Many of the wirks illustrate currents of gnosticism otherwise known only from works condemning them. The translations are very careful, and obviously aim at retaining nuances of the original, but this approach, possibly justified from a scholarly point of view, does not make them easy to read. The work is completed by short studies of certain of the main schools of gnosticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gnostic texts, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
All the texts in one book and contains a useful scholar's commentary throughout. The way the texts have been translated is openly shown leaving little room for bias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 28 May 2012
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
I have taken a great deal of time and pleasure in reading these books that had been found, the descriptions are good and not too complicated to understand. The gospel of Mary Magdalene and Thomas are real eye opener's... Its a pity when the bible was put together that it did not include ALL texts and books, thus giving us a better picture of things in the time of Jesus.

Man always seems to interfere with "his" input.... not usually for the greater good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nag Hammadi Scriptures, 9 Feb 2010
By 
S. V. Tindale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
This is a well-compiled version of the scriptures concerning Christ that did not make it into the New Testament... for the life, of me having read them, I can't understand why because everything written in for example 'The Gospel of Thomas' directly relates to what we read in the four gospels of the bible. It arrived in perfect condition and I am very pleased with the rapid delivery and supportive service provided by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Scriptures, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
I found this book excellent in the insight it gives us into all the books that didn't make it into the Bible. There is a lot of good cross-referencing with the appropriate Bible texts and helpful introductions to each of the Nag Hammadi Scriptures. I would suggest that it is required reading for anyone, particularly Theology students of any faith not just Christian, who wishes to know more about the whole story of Christ, and particularly about the significance of Mary of Magdala. The book is quite difficult to tackle but well worth while for those with an open mind and imagination to other points of view rather than simply those we are offered in the New Testament. Actually as a Catholic it has deepened my faith and I hope this will happen for others too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christianity Before Nicaea, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
This book is a real mind-twister - in the best possible way. The kind of book you might want to go back to a re-read ... and re-read. If you are at all interested in the Christian faith before Nicaea then give this a try.

The thoughts expressed may or may not be correct, but they ARE fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing book. A lot of work has gone into this. I feel a genuine gratitude for this compilers efforts., 26 Nov 2012
By 
harry harvey (Newcastle upon Tyne U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
I follow the path of Wicca. Bought this book out of curiosity. Now very glad I did. It fills gaps in the forms of possible truths that were not fulfilled from previous study of alternative religions. It certainly widens the mind. Buy it. Read it. You will not regret it.
Harry the Wiccan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New Evidence, 21 May 2014
By 
Leslie John J. Brice (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nag Hammadi Scriptures: The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts Complete in One Volume (Paperback)
This book sheds new light on the life and times of the first few centuries. However, although information and ideas are excellent
it does get quite technical with acedemic language so that some may find it hard going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews