Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great follow-up
Ok - so you've read 'The Breach' - no? then go and do so before bothering with Ghost Country as it makes more sense to do so. Now you've read the first part of Patrick Lee's series sit back and enjoy this second installment of the completely bonkers but action packed adventures of Travis Chase. Once again the hero tackles time travelling artifacts and wild conspiracy...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by A. Martin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid follow up
Middle book of "the Breach" trilogy - important to read them in sequence! This is less bonkers than the first one, a slightly calmer approach but still great fun. An artefact shows a desolated future as a result of something that is going to happen in the next few months. Can the future be changed by action in the present to prevent the incident? Again some innovative...
Published on 24 Feb 2012 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great follow-up, 2 Jan 2011
By 
A. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Country (Mass Market Paperback)
Ok - so you've read 'The Breach' - no? then go and do so before bothering with Ghost Country as it makes more sense to do so. Now you've read the first part of Patrick Lee's series sit back and enjoy this second installment of the completely bonkers but action packed adventures of Travis Chase. Once again the hero tackles time travelling artifacts and wild conspiracy theories that unbelivably all link back to him. So its not going to tax you intellectually but what you get is plenty of action, some puzzles and story twists. This is just asking to be made into a US TV series along the lines of the x-files meets lost meets 24 meets flashforward. Complete nonsense but a great read. Put away all sense of reality and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Second Adventure For Travis Chase, 5 Jan 2011
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Kindle Edition)
Having really enjoyed his debut novel and the first Travis Chase adventure The Breach, I had hoped that Patrick Lee's follow-up novel Ghost Country would offer up a five star experience. Its just a little disappointing therefore, to have to report that whilst this second outing for Travis Chase and the folks from Tangent is highly entertaining and at least on a par with The Breach it fails to truly surpass its predecessor and features some quite glaring weaknesses.

The most significant of these is the conspiracy that brings Travis Chase (still a horrible name) back into Tangent's orbit. For the first half of the book, whilst the precise nature of the conspiracy and its eventual aims remains deliberately obscured from both Travis & Paige and us readers, Ghost Country works fine. When the conspiracy's goal and methodology were revealed however, I just found myself unable to suspend my disbelief enough to go along with it. I could happily accept the principal of time travel, which features heavily in the book, but without giving away any key plot points, the motivation behind the conspiracy, its mechanics and what it would ultimately achieve just didn't work for me. Not when you considered precisely how many people would have to sign up to it and who they were. I could have believed a small cabal could come up with something so twisted and evil but not that hundreds or even thousands of disparate individuals would sign on and keep schtum about it for years.

It didn't help that the conspirators' plans also felt very half-baked and none of the individuals involved ever came alive as characters. In fact readers are only really introduced to one key conspirator, and he's never given enough time or space on the page to develop as a three dimensional character. All the other bad guys, bar a few expendable goons, remain off stage for most of the book's duration.

Despite these formidable problems however, Ghost Country remains easily worthy of a four star review; its strengths outweighing its weaknesses. Despite his ridiculous action hero name, Chase remains a compelling character and grows as an individual during the course of the book. Paige gets less development but remains a competent heroine and Bethany, making her first appearance, is a great addition to the Tangent team.

The time travel maguffin that drives the plot is clever and well thought out. As with The Breach I would warn off any readers who like their thrillers straight up and without any sci-fi trappings. Ghost Country relies heavily on sci-fi plot devices to drive the story along, so a strong ability to suspend disbelief is required.

As with The Breach the action sequences are brilliantly handled. The tone and pace of Ghost Country is very different to the previous book, with violence & action less frequent, but when the guns do start firing its punchy, exciting and dramatic. Personally I'm quite grateful that Lee has toned down the violence this time around. Parts of The Breach, especially the Zurich incident, just felt gratuitous last time out. There is a similarly high death toll in Ghost Country, but its revealed after the fact and handled much more subtly. In fact the scenes where Chase, Paige and Bethany encounter the human cost of the conspiracy are simultaneously unsettling, powerful & moving.

With a race against time, edge of the seat finale that had me rushing through the final fifty-odd pages of the book, Ghost Country doesn't lack for thrills and spills. It also moves along many of the plot threads that were established back during The Breach and left unresolved at the end of that novel. Some are tied off nicely, others left flapping intriguingly. Either way I will look forward to Chase's next adventure. I just hope that Patrick Lee manages to come up with a more successful threat for him and Tangent to go up against.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid follow up, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost Country (Mass Market Paperback)
Middle book of "the Breach" trilogy - important to read them in sequence! This is less bonkers than the first one, a slightly calmer approach but still great fun. An artefact shows a desolated future as a result of something that is going to happen in the next few months. Can the future be changed by action in the present to prevent the incident? Again some innovative concepts, all out pace and a very enjoyable sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Kindle Edition)
Love this serious by Patrick Lee. Came across it by accident but so glad I did!!!! Can't wait to read the final part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars read them, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Mass Market Paperback)
a good series of three book. its one of the types of books I could see it as a TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Kindle Edition)
If you love sci-fi you will love these. Great books And all believable. This is the 2nd in a series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you feeling lonely?, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Kindle Edition)
You will after reading this book. Great book, brilliant concepts, and a thrill a minute. Even better than the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strong sequel, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Mass Market Paperback)
Read this back to back with the Breach. As with the Breach the plot line is very well structured and contains some good set pieces, especially the time travel ones involving the new entity delivered by the breach. As with The Breach, Lee addresses the paradoxical what if questions head on in clever, logical way that makes complete sense in the context of the story.

I agree with other reviewers that the stimulus for the conspiracy and what it was going to achieve doesn't quite stack up and the protagonists of the conspiracy were quite poorly fleshed out. It was always going to be tough to match the uniqueness of The Breach, but Ghost Country comes pretty darn close despite the flimsiness of the conspiracy.

The cliffhanger form The Breach is touched on during Ghost Country and looks like playing a part in the final book of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, breathtaking, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading 'the Breach' a year or so ago I went and bought his other two novels. I have been on holiday this last week and the past 2 days spent reading 'Ghost Country' and 'Deep Sky' back-to-back, done little else in fact.
I have to say all 3 novels are stunningly good. Great plots and real edge of seat drama. The twists and reveals are worth the price alone.
I just wish he'd write more of the same. Have just visited his website and see a new novel is due in 2014. Not the same threads or characters but still sounds good, apparently the film rights are sold as well.
I add that last point because I think the Breach trilogy would make one or more great movies....
If you buy these books don't start reading unless you have plenty of time to spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great next chapter, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Country (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly entertaining. I loved it but you must read the first breach to gain a knowledge of characters. Well done Mr Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Country
Ghost Country by Patrick Lee (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jan 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews