Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that a good story doesn't date!
I have just read this book back-to-back with another Dick Francis written more than 30 years later, and I can honestly say that with one minor exception, this one seemed as fresh as the more recent book. (The one exception being the hero's courtship of his girlfriend, which seems strangely formal by modern standards.)
The central story, the mystery of who killed a...
Published on 6 May 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead cert is winner
There will never be anyone who can tell a story like Francis. Although Felix, his son, is writing some excellent books now.
Published 7 months ago by Mr A E Book


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that a good story doesn't date!, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Cert (Paperback)
I have just read this book back-to-back with another Dick Francis written more than 30 years later, and I can honestly say that with one minor exception, this one seemed as fresh as the more recent book. (The one exception being the hero's courtship of his girlfriend, which seems strangely formal by modern standards.)
The central story, the mystery of who killed a leading jockey and why, is compelling and I didn't guess the villain until he was confronted. Along the way, the hero tangles with a protection racket and escapes a gang of murderous pursuers in a dramatic way, taking advantage of the fact that he's riding a top steeplechaser - but perhaps his greatest challenge is a weekend in an upper-class household...
Try reading this alongside one of his more recent works and see what YOU think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first novel, 12 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Dead Cert (Paperback)
This was the first novel which Dick Francis wrote - and it shows, especially in some of the dialogue. Nevertheless the plot is good and characters well drawn.
The love interest is rather dated and a bit stilted especially compared to some of his later books.
I guess it was of its time - 1962, when society were somewhat different from today. Still an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead good!, 14 Jun. 2013
By 
col2910 (Bedfordshire,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Cert (Paperback)
Synopsis/blurb...........
Three jockeys were warned not to win their races, someone wanted good riders turned into also-rans. Bill died when the sure-footed Admiral fell, Joe was scared rotten, and Alan York became the prime target of a vicious gang. But Alan wanted revenge, and to hell with the danger.

I have seen and heard of this author for many years before finally deciding to give him a try. I read and enjoyed Forfeit last month and having picked up a few of his books recently decided to try his first published novel from 1962 next.
At 180-odd pages long it was a fairly quick read. Sufficient length for the author to develop his characters into more than stick people, but not over-long like so many of the books published today.
Alan York is our main man here. Rhodesian by birth, Alan's a part-time amateur jockey in addition to looking after his father's business from London a couple of days a week. Alan is trailing his best friend Bill Davidson during a steeplechase race, when disaster strikes the leading horse and jockey. Davidson suffers a bad fall, incurring fatal injuries after his horse landed on him. York having witnessed the accident is sufficiently disturbed to re-visit the fence where the incident took place. Hidden in the fence is a coil of wire which has been used to bring Davidson and Admiral, his odds-on favourite mount down. Unable to attract assistance that evening, York returns to the course the next day with a policeman in tow, but the evidence has disappeared.
After the inquest where York's insistence of foul-play is dismissed and an accidental verdict returned, Alan decides to investigate who is responsible for his friend's death. Whilst talking in the weighing room to other jockeys, it's apparent that someone is trying to stop several nailed-on horses from winning their races in order to profit. As the plot quickly unfolds, Alan is threatened and warned off by the gang responsible for the race-fixing, which is in addition to a protection racket they have been operating in Brighton. There's a bit of a love interest introduced, which also links in to the eventual unmasking of the head honcho controlling the criminal gang.
Short, sharp, concise, with a few twists and turns before the identity of the culprit was revealed.It's unlikely that I will find myself thinking about this book much in the weeks ahead, but for all that I really enjoyed it. A fairly straight-forward thriller-cum-crime-novel (can someone explain to me the difference?), interesting and likeable main character, believable plot and all ends properly tied-up at the conclusion. Verdict - nothing to complain about.
4 from 5
I acquired my omnibus edition of 3 early Dick Francis books a month or two ago from a seller on e-bay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Introduction to the great Dick Francis, 22 Dec. 2012
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Cert (Kindle Edition)
I have been a fan of Dick Francis for over 20 years and picked this as I had never read it and didn't realise it was his first book.

It has all that is great about Dick's books, intrigue from both within and outside of the Racing Community, beautiful women and a twist in the tail.

Alan York, an amatur jockey sees his closest friend fall moments from winning a race and is the only who suspects foul play after seeing a coil of wire where it shouldn't be. Alan starts to investigate the supposed accident and finds himself in the middle of the Brighton underworld and racing for his life...

As fast paced as any horse race, this will keep you gripped to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dick Francis' first published thriller!, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Cert (Paperback)
The book: Alan York, jockey, sees his friend take a bad fall during a steeplechase race - and discovers it was no accident. When he starts looking into the *why*, he gets warned off; which, in true Francis style, only makes him look harder. A delectable love interest, a range of co-jockeys, taxi rides and horse-riding across the South Downs all come into their own in a tense thriller...

The author: Dick Francis flew airplanes in the 2nd World War (because the cavalry didn't want him!) and then turned jockey; he was champion jockey, and rode for the Queen Mother. After giving up professional riding he turned to writing thrillers, and this was his first published one, from 1962. Another 40-odd would follow.

My opinion: early writing, not as polished as some of his later ones, but a right cracker all the same. Good on racing, of course, but also on the small details of the changing room, the trainer, the other jockeys; and very good on tension, reaction to violence, feelings of love (yay, romance!) and children playing poker. A promise of many good books to come; and a good book in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments as above, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Cert (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant book by Dick Francis he is the master of mystery books. All his themes are to do with horse racing or the sport - but once you start reading you can't put them down until you have finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dick Francis 'must read'!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Cert (Paperback)
A thrilling book from start to finish.
Anyone who loves the world of horse racing will enjoy Dick Francis' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great crime writer, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Cert (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of Dick Francis' books I am going to start again with my new Kindle. Great auther, great stories. What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Cert - dead good, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Cert (Kindle Edition)
This is the first in a series of books written by the late Dick Francis - will be building up the whole collection on my kindle - they are a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Karen Harman "new reviewer" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Cert (Kindle Edition)
I had read it before but revisited it in the spring. A well paced thriller, Francis at his best. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Cert
Dead Cert by Dick Francis (Audio CD - 1 Aug. 2008)
Used & New from: £12.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews