Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun book
Really enjoyed this bit of light reading in a busy work week. Have now gifted it to a fashion conscious friend with full recommendation.
Published 21 months ago by Zap

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgence
I thought this would be a great read for a recent holiday, as the subject matter certainly appealed. It started off quite sweetly and I enjoyed the entrepreneurial spirit the writer promoted. It started to fall apart when the guy has been buying Hermes products for a while for both himself and his new clients and is therefore obviously a guy who knows an Ulysse notebook...
Published on 3 Mar. 2010 by Mark Burch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgence, 3 Mar. 2010
By 
Mark Burch (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag (Paperback)
I thought this would be a great read for a recent holiday, as the subject matter certainly appealed. It started off quite sweetly and I enjoyed the entrepreneurial spirit the writer promoted. It started to fall apart when the guy has been buying Hermes products for a while for both himself and his new clients and is therefore obviously a guy who knows an Ulysse notebook from his chaine d'ancre bracelets, is surprised to hear about something called a 'Birkin' handbag. Probably their most famous product (along with the Kelly of course). It made the whole book then appear a work of fiction with staged items and anecdotes and I became incesantly annoyed by small descriptions of things aimed at a reader in the mid-West rather than readers who, if they've bought a book with this subject matter, will know how to pronounce Capri. I gave up around halfway through, despite looking through the rest of the book for some interesting parts. It stayed in my hotel room when I checked out as it wasn't worth the extra weight in my bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun book, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this bit of light reading in a busy work week. Have now gifted it to a fashion conscious friend with full recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read but funny and entertaining, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy read but funny and entertaining. Perfect for any fashion and specially Hermes lovers. Quite informative too. Great poolside book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In pursuit of Birkin bag, 14 April 2015
By 
ewa (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag (Paperback)
Loved it. Great story based on author's experience. Well written and very funny. The books reveals that Birkin bag can be bought without any lists. Enterpreneneural spirit of the author is highly enviable. The book is a must read for any fashion aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and entertaining. The guy is clearly a smart cookie with a sense of humour. I really liked his honest writing style too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WITTY AND WINNING, 5 Nov. 2008
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Many of us probably have an idea of what a dream job would be. How about one that takes you to some of the most beautiful cities in the world where you stay in the finest hotels and dine only at 5-star restaurants? Plus, when you're not in Paris or on Capri you don't even have to go to the office, you simply work at home in your pajamas.

Sound too wonderful to be true? Well, it surely is for most of us but not for Michael Tonello who tells us all about it in the highly amusing, can't-believe-he-really-did-this memoir Bringing Home The Birkin. As the affluent know a Birkin is a handbag made by Hermes with retail prices in five figures and more than difficult to obtain. Evidently the two-year waiting list makes a Birkin even more desirable.

Tonello had already seen a good bit of the world as a beautician
who traveled about prettying up the already pretty for commercial photo shoots. He was happy with his current home but had grown weary of the unfriendly Cape Cod winters. A recent assignment has taken him to Barcelona where he found he loved the people, the food, the sunny clime. When an opportunity to take a job there surprisingly appeared, he packed his designer duds and moved to Spain.

His euphoria was short lived because almost as soon as he had unpacked his job vanished just as quickly as it had appeared. What to do, how to make ends meet and keep wine at table? On an impulse he listed one of his Hermes scarves on eBay and it sold - at a nice price. Further, he was the recipient of emails from those who had lost out on his auction and wanted to know if he had more. Tonello soon realized that these were "serious collectors," and that there might be a great deal of money involved.

As he writes, "I didn't let my ignorance get in the way of my avarice. I intimated that this was only the tip of the iceberg. Well, I've always been a strong believer in the power of positive thinking - I really wanted it to be the tip of the iceberg."

For Tonello wanting made it so. It wasn't a great leap from scurrying around, finding and buying older patterns of Hermes scarves for his burgeoning list of clients to buying and reselling (at a healthy profit) the extravagantly priced, impossible to get Birkins. How could he possibly climb to the top of the daunting two-year waiting list? Where would he find the funds to purchase these more than pricey handbags?

He is one dauntless, determined fellow and his story is a carousel of chuckles, costly cuisine, and luxurious lodgings. Michael Tonello really brought home the Birkins and lives to tell his fascinating story while still enjoying Spain where, as he puts it "excuses to celebrate include getting out of bed in the morning and the ability to breathe for long periods of time."

This reader doesn't need an excuse to celebrate the refreshing honesty, wiles, and wit found in this memoir .

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you can get over the idea that $6000.00 and up..., 15 Mar. 2010
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
...purses do exist and lots of people seem to own lots of them, you'll enjoy this book. Michael writes a fun story of a time in his life when he "played" Hermes in order to make a living. That the women in the book - I assumed he changed names - spent so much money on purses, scarves, and other "name" items were the ultimate "Fashion Victims", is maybe what they deserved to be. But, well, it's their money and if that's what they chose to spend it on...Michael just helped them in their quests for the ultimate "croc".

I enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening!, 22 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag (Paperback)
This book is incredible! It outed the company's marketing strategy so cleverly, that now the authour's name could not even be allowed to be mentioned among what he called "fashion-victim" circles! The book has uncovered an apparently unfair business tactics (in my opinion), and showed the public how companies can create artificial desirability and false rarity for a fashion item. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & fluffy, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag (Paperback)
I have this sec just finished Bringing Home the Birkin. A real page turner. Witty, warm & honest. And funny! Chick lit but chick lit written by a man, loved it!! If you love Birkins (!)& travel, then buy it. I will be passingit to a friend or 3.

Sarah, Notting Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Mar. 2012
i absolutely love the birkin. this book was very interesting and hard to put down. im glad someone feels the same way i feel and hope to get a birkin someday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews