Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scientific approach
Like most people I find the subject of near death reports fascinating.
But also being a person with doubts found this book to be balanced and well researched. Dr.J.Long's professional status is at stake here. Men of science do not lend their names to spurious claims without being certain that they have good reason to believe, and this is backed by his own research...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by Casandra

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as hoped.
This wasn't quite what I was expecting. There was alot of information about near death experiences, however there were also a lot of statistics. I can see where someone of a scientific nature would want these facts, but I was hoping for more personal testimonies/experiences. I didn't learn anything new really, and found some of it a little hard going. I would however,...
Published on 6 May 2010 by Katie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scientific approach, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Casandra (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most people I find the subject of near death reports fascinating.
But also being a person with doubts found this book to be balanced and well researched. Dr.J.Long's professional status is at stake here. Men of science do not lend their names to spurious claims without being certain that they have good reason to believe, and this is backed by his own research. If you want proof of life after death this rearch is as good as it gets. The book is excellent and well written. It contains fewer actual NDE reports than some but the research behind it makes up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Paperback)
I recommend that you get this book today if you are the slightest bit interested in Near Death Experiences. I was scared of death before reading this book, and now I'm not! It's great - I was so captivated I couldn't put it down :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as hoped., 6 May 2010
By 
This wasn't quite what I was expecting. There was alot of information about near death experiences, however there were also a lot of statistics. I can see where someone of a scientific nature would want these facts, but I was hoping for more personal testimonies/experiences. I didn't learn anything new really, and found some of it a little hard going. I would however, recommend it to someone who has not read much about this subject, as you will learn alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scientific Study of NDEs, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a scholarly work using a scientific method to cast light on the experiences of NDErs. It clearly points to the need for further extensive research in this area. I would recommend this book to anyone who has been recently bereaved or with a fear of death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Positive Review of Near-Death Experience Data, 3 April 2010
By 
Mr. Christopher J. Mccoy "Chris. McCOY" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is pleasantly written, and is easy to read. Presently, the common approach in order for a scientific book to be taken seriously is for the author/editor to find a balance between being 'positive' and affirmative with regards to their data and rationale, but also sufficiently reticent and 'holding back' and showing 'doubt' in order to appease the expectations of persons who interpret 'positivity' as not being the same as being critical or 'scientific' and, perhaps, staunch/authoritative. Jeffrey Long M.D. provides selected extracts of records/data received via his online Near Death Experience Foundation website, discusses the data that he has received via his website and lists of questions asked of persons who submit, and communicates his conclusions after having considered the data for some years. Mr. Long and/or his Editor do not quote all records received or, perhaps, full accounts of those that are quoted. Mr. Long concludes that, from his perspective in relation to the data, and to an extent personal disposition that there is strong evidence to conclude that mind/consciousness may exist separately from the body, and that there may be an afterlife or something similar. The conclusions are in part drawn from utilisation of a comparison with existing 'orthodox' 'authorised' understandings of brain and body function (i.e. 'medically explicable explanations'), especially superficial rather than deep brain structures (i.e. EEG Cortex measurements rather than Brain Stem), and so these conclusions are somewhat dependent upon whether or not future elucidation of as-yet unrecognised 'orthodox' brain/body functions that could 'explain' some or all aspects of the NDE experiences later arise. Magicians would be a recommended body of experts to call in to consider the viability of Out of Body perceptions, and to eliminate illusion, in addition to the AWARE study of the Horizon Research Foundation also looking into NDE's. A recommended read for the discerning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, 21 May 2013
By 
David N. Young (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Paperback)
This book is a life changing read! The proof given in this book will astound you as there are many things mentioned you simply don't hear about. I loved every page, though very clinical, it was very easy to read and the knowledge and understanding you gain is Life Changing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Paperback)
Finally a book that will give a clear account of what "could" be. I am not religious neither a believer. Well written pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It gave a better understand than I had, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. David Young "bracken" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Paperback)
After I heard the radio broadcast I was smitten with desire to know more.
A good read for those who have an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars evidence of the afterlife, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Paperback)
well written...just could not get excited about it. Perhaps I will read it again. The author of course had done excellent research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful book, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Paperback)
This book is well written. It makes no exaggerated or sensational claims. The evidence is thoughtfully presented and invites the reader to come to his own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews