Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `If it sounds like writing, I rewrite it.'
This was originally published in The New York Times on 16 July 2001 as `Easy on the Adverbs, Exclamation Points and Especially Hooptedoodle'. The article was part of a series in which writers explore literary themes.

So, why consider buying the book? Well, the illustrations by Joe Ciardiello weren't in the article. And if a picture is worth a thousand words,...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Jennifer Cameron-Smith

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars be very careful before you buy this book
I'd classify it as a novelty gift rather than a book. It's horribly bound and only 100 pages long, of which half are blank and about a quarter are illustrations. The pages that have text mostly have less than 30 or so words. Maybe it's supposed to be a "Ten Commandments of writing" but you couldn't spin the Ten Commandments out to a hundred pages either. Elmore...
Published on 23 Nov 2007 by fluffy little kitten


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars be very careful before you buy this book, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
I'd classify it as a novelty gift rather than a book. It's horribly bound and only 100 pages long, of which half are blank and about a quarter are illustrations. The pages that have text mostly have less than 30 or so words. Maybe it's supposed to be a "Ten Commandments of writing" but you couldn't spin the Ten Commandments out to a hundred pages either. Elmore Leonard is a great writer but if you want to learn something from him just buy the novels.

All the things that Leonard advises are expressed in the far better "On Writing" by Stephen King - both authors' rules are identical, but one author isn't trying to take seven quid off you for what could have been written on one side of A4.

So - buy it as a jokey gift for a Leonard fan or someone you know who's an aspiring novelist. Don't buy it for any other reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad, 17 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
Be warned It contains at least 46 blank pages. It would have been alright if I had ordered a notebook.

Seriously this book lacks any real substance and I believe that when shopping online there is a greater amount of trust required between the customer and the supplier because the product is less tangible. This products breaks this trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor, 21 May 2010
This review is from: 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
This book takes 10 minutes or less to read.
Very disappointed in such a great writer as the book lacks depth and substance and is of no real help to any budding writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish I'd listened to the other 1* reviews!, 16 May 2010
By 
~The Bookworm~ (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. I'm a big fan of Elmore Leonard and his writing. He does so much right. But this books is wrong on so many levels and I wish I'd taken more notice of the other reviewers before I bought it.

There's nothing really amiss with the content (except that it's way too brief). These are useful rules, although you can get them from many other better books (Stephen King's 'On Writing' and Carolyn Lewis's 'The Novel: A Perfect Recipe' are two that spring to mind). It's the presentation that's a let down. A BIG let down. As another reviewer says, this is a novelty gift book. Sadly it's a 'read once and then discard' novelty gift book with no substance. I defy anyone to need more than 20 minutes to read it from cover to cover. And yes, the content could definitely have been covered on one A4 sheet. The illustrations are okay, but they don't really add anything.

If you're a writer and you need the information contained within the pages, you can get it free from Mr Leonard himself by googling his name and '10 rules'. His rules are already out there in the public domain and you don't need to waste your hard-earned cash on this expensive little book to get them.

Unless, of course, you're looking for a novelty gift book for the writer in your life. In which case, this is a nice little stocking filler so go buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A reason for not buying this book, 17 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
Having read the previews of this book and then been advised by two different Creative Writing Tutors that this was a "must have" I duly ordered it. What an absolute "rip-off"... How any publisher can feel justified charging £7+ for one hundred pages of nothing, defies belief.
The only consolation I got out of buying this book was the knowledge that if Elmore Leonard can get into print with so little, then there's still hope for me.
If you want a good book that explains the craft of Creative Writing there are far better books out there, than this one.
However, if you're looking for a book that doubles up as a note book, the many, many blank pages within this book, are ideal for your jottings.
Mine, having taken all of five minutes to flick through (simply to find some written words) will soon be joining the many second hand books available on the Amazon web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `If it sounds like writing, I rewrite it.', 8 Jun 2010
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
This was originally published in The New York Times on 16 July 2001 as `Easy on the Adverbs, Exclamation Points and Especially Hooptedoodle'. The article was part of a series in which writers explore literary themes.

So, why consider buying the book? Well, the illustrations by Joe Ciardiello weren't in the article. And if a picture is worth a thousand words, then there are a few thousand words here in addition to the original article.

This is not a `how to write' guide, although consideration of each of these rules would certainly assist writers in their quest for effective writing. I like each of these rules - especially 5: `Keep your exclamation points under control.' The overuse of exclamation marks is one of my pet hates: if the words themselves cannot get my attention then appending an exclamation mark won't help.

I have a copy of the article, and recently borrowed a copy of the book. I'm still considering whether I need to own my own copy. Yes, it's a slender little book, but size isn't always indicative of quality.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The master speak... briefly., 3 Mar 2008
By 
B. Cooper (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
This book is a bound version of an article Mr. Leonard wrote for the New York Times some years ago detailing his rules about how to write well.

The rules, like everything Mr. Leonard writes, are brief and to the point and will not be embraced or agreed with by everyone.

That said... I love this book. As a long term fan of Leonard I crave anything he writes for his style, his sense of humour and his skill with language - all of which are in evidence here.

The illustrations are amusing and some contain images based on his previous novels which I found really interesting.

I didn't give 5 stars as it is a quick read but i cant see what the other reviewers here are moaning about. Its an art book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Virtually No Content, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why would a great writer ever agree to kindle coming up with such a pathetic publication on his behalf?
I know poor Elmore is no longer with us but this thing's been around a few years apparently.

Whole good quality novels sell for 1.99 and less on Kindle. This is just a list of ten rules in the contents page which are scarcely developed beyond that in any of the 'Chapters' (around 30 words each), for double that price. Absolute Rip Off. I sent it back.

Buy only if you like books that you can read from start to finish in 3 minutes. 45 blank pages, a few cartoons and hardly any words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For any Aspiring Writer., 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing (Hardcover)
Recommend this lovely little book to any aspiring writer. It is beautifully presented. Amusing, yet valid points to take into consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short but perfectly formed., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very short book but it says pretty much everything there is to say about writing. Not a wasted word. Exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing
Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing by Elmore Leonard (Hardcover - Nov 2007)
£9.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews