Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
The second book of the polemical Earth Chronicles begins with an examination of mans unquenchable thirst for immortality. We follow Alexander on his quest to find the spring of eternal life and his subsequent misfortune when his servant stumbles upon it. We learn in great detail of the journey taken by the Pharoah as he travels to the afterlife. And the epic story of...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by Foxylock

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another in the Series
You can probably tell by now from my reviews that I was pretty much addicted to this never-ending series. :)

Same formula as the 12th Planet with much of the material revamped. If you have read the first in the series then you are not going to be surprised with any new revelations in this one.
Published 5 months ago by Dr. Gary D. Gorton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 22 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
The second book of the polemical Earth Chronicles begins with an examination of mans unquenchable thirst for immortality. We follow Alexander on his quest to find the spring of eternal life and his subsequent misfortune when his servant stumbles upon it. We learn in great detail of the journey taken by the Pharoah as he travels to the afterlife. And the epic story of Gilgamesh the ancient king who refused to die is recounted and disected. I found the first part of this book drags it's heels a little and the detail provided is sometimes a little overpowering. However it is definitely worth persevering with, as the second part of the book is truly fascinating.

We are all familiar with the Egyptian Pyramids and most of us would have a rudimentary grasp of their history and purpose. Sitchin takes that acquired knowledge and dismantles it piece by piece in a surprisingly cogent manner, His theories although esoteric are by no means incredible as he backs all claims up with masses of technical and highly researched evidence. I will admit an open mind is required in the reading of these books, but why should our minds be closed in the first place ? If there is even just a grain of truth in any of these claims the known history of the planet will have to be rewritten. If Sitchin is a fraud or deluded, then he has written a compelling if not epic tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man's search for the immortality of the gods, 29 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In this second entry in the Earth Chronicles series, Sitchin focuses on man's eternal and perpetual search for immortality and ties his findings in with his theories of ancient Sumer and the Annunaki who originally colonized earth. In particular, he discusses Alexander the Great's desperate search for a way to escape an early death as well as Gilgamesh's epic search for everlasting life; more importantly, he provides a map of their quests, identifying their most important destinations with the ancient Sumerian sites he wrote about in The 12th Planet. Basically, the ultimate destinations of the men of legend corresponded to the areas from which the Annunaki journeyed back and forth between earth, their orbiting spacecraft, and their home planet. Having described an intricate grid system accounting for the specific locations of the ancient cities both before and after the Deluge, he makes some fascinating arguments. I was most struck by his conclusion that the new, post-Deluge space port was actually Jerusalem. As always, Sitchin incorporates Biblical texts into his story, revealing compelling connections between the books of the Bible and the ancient records of the earliest Middle Eastern cultures.
I found myself plodding to some degree through the first half of the book, even laying the book aside for a few days, but the latter sections here are quite interesting because they focus on ancient Egypt. Sitchin's discussions of the ancient Egyptian monuments, particularly the Great Pyramids at Giza are enlightening and fascinating. He forcibly argues that the pyramids were never meant to serve as burial places of ancient Egyptians and that the Great Pyramids and the majestic Sphinx were built long before Khufu, Chefren, and other pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty came to power. Egyptologists dispute this conclusion, of course, but the evidence as presented by Sitchin and other scholars is quite strong on this point. Sitchin lays waste to the only real evidence we have that Khufu built the Great Pyramid. The masons' markings found in the chambers above the King's Chamber in the Great Pyramid purportedly show that Khufu was the builder, but Sitchin puts forth a very convincing argument that those marks were forged (and rather unconvincingly in fact) by an unscrupulous pseudo-archaeologist.
I try to read these books with an open mind. I can't say if Sitchin is correct or not in his theories, but I can say that he breathes life into an ancient world I would otherwise know very little about, and he tells a fascinating story in a very engaging manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge For Orthodox Science, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
In this book Sitchin continues on the theme set in his first book, and poses many interesting questions that orthodox science cannot explain and so glosses over or ignores. The central theme in this book is Man's search for 'The Fountain of Eternal Youth'. This crops up time and time again in mythology, yet where did Man get the idea that he could cheat death? Sitchin offers theories that really try to explain this. As for the lack of proof, as he makes clear in all his books, it IS there to be seen, but only if you are prepared to look - people trust too much in orthodox science to always be 100 percent right in archaeology. For those with an open mind Sitchin wil show you that they are just as human and as fallible as those who believed that the Earth was flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ FOR OPEN MINDS, 12 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Like ALL of his books, this one too is amazing, compelling, persuasive, enlightening, builds rationally and logically to each of its points BUT (there's alway a "but")is a bit difficult to read. Also, as with ALL his books, Zecharia draws his concise conclusions by bringing the knowledge of many sciences together. It is a must read for anyone with an open mind and thirst for knowledge.
As the chronicles tend to build on each other, the reader will find it more comfortable to read them in sequence: 12th Planet, Stairway to Heaven, Wars of Gods & Men, Lost Realms,When Time Began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genre is Born, 25 Aug 1999
By A Customer
I have read the whole series of "The Earth Chronicles", which I think is marvelously written. It is neither fictional nor scientific, however, I would classify it as pseudo-scientific non-fiction. It is not really important whether Sitchin's writings are scientificly true, but it makes marvelous reading, nothing like I have ever read before. He masterfully creates an illusion of a scientific research, and in it he creates a new genre -- the Disneyland for science-oriented minds. For all that, even if one reads it with a sceptical smirk on one's face, there is always a thought frollicking somewhere in the backyard swimming pool of your mind, "What if some of this stuff is in fact true?" And that makes the whole series very attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of Sitchin's books are a must read!, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
The perfect sequel to the 12th Planet by Zecharia Sitchin. Number 2 book of the Earth chronicles. Sitchin is a genius in my book, however, a lot of people dismiss his books as pseudoscience and mythology. Scientist and scholars have all said his translations were correct, however, they classify the cuneiform Sumerian texts as mythology. It reminds me of Frank Calvert, an archaeologist who took Homer's Odyssey as truth and not mythology and the end result was finding the the fabled city of Troy. So time will tell if Sitchin's translations become a reality just like the city of Troy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small print, Big ideas, 1 July 1998
By A Customer
Sitchin's second effort is mainly an expansion on one of the central themes addressed in his first book, "The Twelfth Planet". A number of related subjects are discussed, the unifying theme being man's preoccupation with the concept of (and search for!) immortality. If you think about it, you have to wonder... where on EARTH could man have gotten the idea that such a thing as eternal youth could exist? Certainly there are no examples of immortality native to this planet. If you like Sitchin this book must not be missed...it is a prerequisite to thorough understanding of later volumes in the series. The print is rather small though, making the book a little more difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another in the Series, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Dr. Gary D. Gorton (Timbuktu) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can probably tell by now from my reviews that I was pretty much addicted to this never-ending series. :)

Same formula as the 12th Planet with much of the material revamped. If you have read the first in the series then you are not going to be surprised with any new revelations in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Going, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. John R. Ireland "jri2272" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read but very heavy in places which rather lets this down but for those who are in to the subject matter, a book not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
When you read this book you start thinking about the possibilities of an ancient alien civilisation. Great book and great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles)
The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles) by Zecharia Sitchin (Mass Market Paperback - 1 April 2007)
£4.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews