Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 February 2013
I read this book very quickly and loved it, even though I knew how it ended :) The perspective from which this is written, from that of the police and press who were involved over the thirty-plus year BTK case, works really well. Like any serial killer, Rader is just a man, not a slimey hunchback, and the detectives were quite annoyed when they found out he was actually a bit of a "dork", and "stupid". Rader fancied himself as a bit of a genius, but the reality is that if you kill all witnesses and don`t leave fingerprints the chances are you would be hard to find in the 1970s. Especially if you have no criminal record, hold down a decent job, have a family. Rader didn`t fit the stereotype of a killer, but then even the concept of serial killers and signature killers (the binding, torturing and killing part) was not a widely recognised one. The banality of evil idea shines through...nothing was exceptional about Rader. Which is what makes the police work involved very interesting to follow. The writers did a fine job or replicating the drama and terror of the case, largely because they were involved. An excellent read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
This is an excellent read. It tells the frustrating story of trying to find a quite terrifying killer.

Although the story covers several decades it moves along at quite a pace and is very engaging.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
A REALLY INTERESTING READ,COUDN`T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN AS IT EXPLAINS IN FINE DETAIL THE EFFORTS MADE TO BRING BTK TO JUSTICE, FROM A POLICE POINT OF VIEW, WHILST RUNNING ALONG SIDE THE LIFE OF BTK HIMSELF AT THE SAME TIME .FOUND MYSELF GALLOPING THROUGH THE PAGES IN EAGER EXCITED ANTICIPATION TO FIND OUT HOW HE WAS APPREHENDED.ALTHOUGH ITS TRUE LIFE MISFORTUNE OF OTHERS LOSING THERE LIFE,AT THE HANDS OF THIS SERIAL KILLER I TRUELY ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This was a brilliant read from start to finish. Easy to read and well written. I urge anyone considering to read this book to buy you will enjoy it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
A must read. I could not put this book down. Very insightful from the police and the local reporter's point of view. How painstaking the detective work was and also how the dedicated detectives never gave up till this man was caught and behind bars. A truly amazing real life crime story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I liked this book a lot. There's no sensationalism in it so if you're hoping for gory details of the victims then you're better off elsewhere. What this book does do is give a very good account of the chase for BTK and the frustration of the police trying to capture him. The victims and their families are treated with the respect they deserve and their stories are interlinked with the pressures the police put on their families as they worked what must have been a very fraught and stressful investigation. The writing is clear and concise and doesn't get bogged down with too many superfluous discriptions a which many crime authors fall victim off. Instead it reads like an elongated magazine article, told in a crisp and articulate manner. I certainly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Haven't read true crime since my teen years, but this is up there with the best. Lean writing, yet covering all the facts. A fast well constructed narrative, read with the lights on!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
First off, it's the story of the hunt for BTK, so at worst you know it is going to be an interesting read.

There are quite a few times that information and stories are regurgitated which can be annoying. Also, I can not decide whether the writing is brilliant or awful, it is very matter of fact, "this happened, then this happened, then X said.." It is very much a work of nonfiction that doesn't attempt to stray into the realm of fiction as so many others do. Overall I really enjoyed it and would suggest it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
I bought this as a Christmas present for my sister, who, like myself, is very into true crime. She finds Dennis Rader rather scary though, so she avoids purchasing books that tell his story. Despite that, I'm very glad I made the decision to buy it because she's told me that despite her intense dislike for the killer, the book is rather interesting, so I think it was a gift well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
How can somebody kill a family of 4 then go home and act normal then go on and kill 6 more people surely there must have been something his ex wife saw maybe she was afraid, it would be interesting to get the families perspective as well.
Other than that it was a very good book that made you want to carry on reading to the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)