Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally written and quite captivating
I read this book very quickly and loved it, even though I knew how it ended :) The perspective from which this is written, from that of the police and press who were involved over the thirty-plus year BTK case, works really well. Like any serial killer, Rader is just a man, not a slimey hunchback, and the detectives were quite annoyed when they found out he was actually...
Published on 17 Feb. 2013 by Slurms McKenzie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read
Good read, although is based heavily on the perspective of the cops and media. I would have preferred more of a background on BTK.
Published on 29 Jun. 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally written and quite captivating, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Slurms McKenzie (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bind, Torture, Kill: The Inside Story of BTK, the Serial Killer Next Door (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book very quickly and loved it, even though I knew how it ended :) The perspective from which this is written, from that of the police and press who were involved over the thirty-plus year BTK case, works really well. Like any serial killer, Rader is just a man, not a slimey hunchback, and the detectives were quite annoyed when they found out he was actually a bit of a "dork", and "stupid". Rader fancied himself as a bit of a genius, but the reality is that if you kill all witnesses and don`t leave fingerprints the chances are you would be hard to find in the 1970s. Especially if you have no criminal record, hold down a decent job, have a family. Rader didn`t fit the stereotype of a killer, but then even the concept of serial killers and signature killers (the binding, torturing and killing part) was not a widely recognised one. The banality of evil idea shines through...nothing was exceptional about Rader. Which is what makes the police work involved very interesting to follow. The writers did a fine job or replicating the drama and terror of the case, largely because they were involved. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 29 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Bind, Torture, Kill: The Inside Story of BTK, the Serial Killer Next Door (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an excellent read. It tells the frustrating story of trying to find a quite terrifying killer.

Although the story covers several decades it moves along at quite a pace and is very engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT READING, 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Mr May "reader" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A REALLY INTERESTING READ,COUDN`T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN AS IT EXPLAINS IN FINE DETAIL THE EFFORTS MADE TO BRING BTK TO JUSTICE, FROM A POLICE POINT OF VIEW, WHILST RUNNING ALONG SIDE THE LIFE OF BTK HIMSELF AT THE SAME TIME .FOUND MYSELF GALLOPING THROUGH THE PAGES IN EAGER EXCITED ANTICIPATION TO FIND OUT HOW HE WAS APPREHENDED.ALTHOUGH ITS TRUE LIFE MISFORTUNE OF OTHERS LOSING THERE LIFE,AT THE HANDS OF THIS SERIAL KILLER I TRUELY ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jan. 2013
This was a brilliant read from start to finish. Easy to read and well written. I urge anyone considering to read this book to buy you will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read. I could not put this book down. Very insightful from the police and the local reporter's point of view. How painstaking the detective work was and also how the dedicated detectives never gave up till this man was caught and behind bars. A truly amazing real life crime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, if horrifying., 5 May 2014
By 
J. D. Chyle "Zubrowka" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read true crime since my teen years, but this is up there with the best. Lean writing, yet covering all the facts. A fast well constructed narrative, read with the lights on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evil personified, 21 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How can somebody kill a family of 4 then go home and act normal then go on and kill 6 more people surely there must have been something his ex wife saw maybe she was afraid, it would be interesting to get the families perspective as well.
Other than that it was a very good book that made you want to carry on reading to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling read, 3 Feb. 2013
This book reminds me of the Zodiac book by Robert Graysmith, except with some very obvious differences towards the end. Has view points from a variety of aspects. I found myself excitedly rushing over the last few chapter as I found the story coming to a conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read, although is based heavily on the perspective of the cops and media. I would have preferred more of a background on BTK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scary warped mind, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good account of the cat and mouse game between BTK and the police. Literally the guy next door, quiet kept to himself etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bind, Torture, Kill: The Inside Story of BTK, the Serial Killer Next Door
Bind, Torture, Kill: The Inside Story of BTK, the Serial Killer Next Door by L. Kelly (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Jun. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews