Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2009
The problem with 'Devil of the Highlands' as a book was that the characters didn't come alive. A mixture of Scottish historical romance with a murder investigation plot thrown in, the book wandered around through various events without any of the characters ever feeling truly real.

Our heroine, Evelinde, finds herself escaping a wicked Stepmother when she is married to the man known as the 'Devil of the Highlands'. But Callum Duncan isn't as devilish as people think... or is he? His Uncle, father and first wife all died and there are suspicions that Callum might be to blame.

Evelinde decides to get to the bottom of the murders but soon discovers that her life appears to be also at risk. As she tries to settle in to living as Callum's life whilst delving into his history and trying to get to know him, she finds herself the recipient of several nasty accidents. Who is trying to kill her?

Callum was a strange hero - largely absent from the book; if not in person then in engagement. He's there but he doesn't do a lot, says even less, and felt very nebulous. There were other male characters who seemed more real than the hero. Evelinde, too, doesn't really change throughout the book, she just bumbles on doing her own thing. I found her fairly boring and many of the other characters were interchangeable.

The murder plot aspect worked a little better and I didn't guess the murderer until they were revealed - but this was perhaps because we didn't know enough about any of the characters to really get a handle on what they were like.

Lynsay Sands' writing isn't too bad and the story moved along, it's just that I found this story lacking any real fire or passion. It was an easy read but an unsatsifying one.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2009
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
This is a fantastic novel for anyone who enjoys a little humour and a lot of romance. The characters are well written and the plot sweeps you along with enough pace to prevent the story dragging.

My only criticism, if you can really call it a criticism, is that the language Lynsay uses is fine for something set in the modern day but for a story set several hundred years ago it is a little less believable - having said this, it does not detract from the book being one that I just could not put down.

I will definitely be reading others, like this, by Lynsay.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
This is a great book, job well done Me Sands.

Riveting storyline, lots of twists to the plot which holds your attention to the end.
Strong, well developed characters, a perceptive heroine and a misunderstood hero who deserves to win his lady love.
A sad family history underpins the story with an evil undercurrent which drives the tale along.
Loved the humour, the heroine and her foibles,her beleaguered husband, just loved, loved loved it.

You will really enjoy this book, as usual the author has magic in her, you'll be spellbound!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
What a refresfing change .This book had humour romsnce snd sexy bits. I found myself laughing out loud. The story was an excellent mystery and had me guessing to the end plus the main characters had depth. A really wonderful read with a grippibg story line plus proper sexy bits not wishy washy like some writers with boring sex scenes or too much like porn the author has it spot on Truly Excellent A+ Highly Recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I though I was going to read another one of Lynsey Sands great Vampire books only to find there were no vampires in this one at all. However it is a really excellent book and it now gives me an interest in some of the other Lynsey Sands books that I can read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Well written, a good plot and well defined characters. Even though most if the book was written in her point of view I still fell in love with Cullen from the start. The ending was perfect and leaves you with a warm feeling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
i loved the book
it was funny, made me laugth and cry.
will get my mother to read it and try get my friends to read it
one of the books was by one of my favorite authers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
True to Lynsay this is another great read. I have read quite a few of her books and this is up with the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2009
Lynsay Sands has outdone herself again. This book is a really good read, lots of humor which I enjoy in her books. She always has me laughing; I have read all her books and can't wait for another one. If you love books with a good sense of humor you will definitely love this one.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
I have read all of Lynsay's books and found that her historical novels are some the best in this genre. Devil of the Highlands is no exception, I managed to read of this book in a couple of sittings. As always, it was a light, enjoyable relaxing read. It is a book to be savoured.

I recommend this book for romantic escapism and a Sunday rainy afternoon read. If you have read Julie Garwood or very early Amanda Quick books, Lynsay's historical books have a similar light amusing quality about them.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.