Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A highly enjoyable read, 20 Aug. 2003
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This was the first of Megin Cabot's books that I have read and I found that I really enjoyed it and can't wait to read more from her.
The story centres around Lou and Jack, who have both just been dumped and now find themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness after a fateful helicopter ride.
Lou is a self-sufficient girl who you can't help but like and relate to and Jack is the gorgeous actor you can't help but want for yourself. The chemistry between the 2 characters was evident throughout and their interactions at times poignant, sexy, funny but always enjoyable.
The way the pair are forced together and have to survive together in the wilderness makes this more than your usual romantic story. There's a nice mix of adventure and mystery on top of the romance to make this a really fantastic book and one which I found that I couldn't put down.
I would recommend this book to all those who enjoy a fun, romantic read but with a little added extra - I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it, 8 Aug. 2006
this is one of the best books i have read in a while!

i wasnt too sure about it when i was reading the first chapter, but it turned out to be absolutely brilliant, its definitley the best book by meg cabot.

you definitly shouldnt judge this book by its cover, the plot was really unexpected. basically the two main characters(a script writer and an actor) get stranded in alaska and need to find a way to survive, with lots of twists and turns and a bit of romance, and lots of laughs.

i really recommend that you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LAUGHED OUT LOUD...., 3 Mar. 2006
Lou Calabrese is a succesful screenwriter whose boyfriend eloped with his bimbo co-star after she penned the hit movie that made him famous. Visiting the set of her latest action blockbuster, she is disgusted to meet the bimbo's ex; her co-dumpee, Jack Townsend, serial love-rat who once broke her best friend's heart, and star of Copkiller IV, the action blockbuster series she wrote. Jack is not too enthusiastic to see her, either- they clashed when they first met and Jack is convinced that in revenge for changing her first script, Lou makes him bare his ass in every movie she writes, exposes him to hazardous or just plain unpleasant stunts, sets the films in extreme enviroments, or insists on close contact with dangerous animals. Hence ending up taking a helicopter ride together in a blizzard in Alaska delights neither of them . They are even less delighted when the pilot suddenly announces his plan to kill Jack, and dispose of Lou as the only witness. Narrowly avoiding grim death, they find themselves stranded in the icy Alaskan wilderness, persued by unkown persons with lethal intentions, in a fight for survival that pushes them to the limits. They eventually discover who wants them dead, of course, but along the way they make some other, pretty startling discoveries; they like each other,they have a lot in common, they are wildly attracted to each other, and now they have another problem- what do they do about it?
What makes this book special is not the plot, which is competently drawn though not exactly earth-shattering. It's the writing style-here is the kind of snappy ,witty dialogue that you see in Nora Roberts or Jennifer Crusie at their best,that had me snorting with laughter at 1am because I couldn't put it down. There are also some very down to earth observations about what it's like to date a man prettier and more famous than you are. I liked the down to earth realism of Lou, and was suprised at how much I ended up liking Jack, who definitely does some growing as the book develops.
I note that Meggin has only written one other book, The Boy Next Door. I plan to read it immediately, and shall keep an eye out for her next- this is definitely a writer to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!!, 14 Sept. 2004
This has gotta be one of my all time favorite books! You instantly fall in love with the characters and you never want the book to end. It's brilliantly written, gripping and insighting, leaving you with a smile on your face and with hope in your heart that maybe life aint so bad! Read this book or you're missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Cabot does it again!, 13 Nov. 2008
I am a huge Meg Cabot fan! And this book just make me a bigger one. Before I bought this book, I had read reviews saying how it was Cabot's first action story and was not good as her other books.

Well, let me tell you - I found her first hand at action, brilliant! The book was fast paced like an action plot should be. The characters are loveable and it's great working out who the bad guy is.

The female protaganist, Lou Calabrese, is a very liekable character and her relationship with Jack, the hero, is funny, cute and intense. They have such chemistry and the witty comebacks by both are to read for.

So, I say, buy this book and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish i could give it more stars!!!, 12 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, to start with this book is a true beacon for everything the hopeless romantic needs for a sad and lonely valentines day alone. The two main characters are two you instantly fall in love with, (especially the guy!) and the way Meg cabot writes the story you get wrapped up in it. The beginning is slightly tedious but when it gets into the action it is so gripping and intense but so cleverly written that it takes hold of your heart. The course the story takes is also interestin and lovely and as i said a real present for the romantics for the world. And i mean proper romantics like ones who get slight hope from watchin the romance films and readin these kind of books. So,so,so good i only wish i hadnt read it so i could read it again!!! By the end you will be sighin and cryin trust me! Get ready, Get steady and go with this fabulous romantic romp by Meg Cabot, probably one of the best books ever. or at least the ones i have read, lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Meg Cabot, 24 Nov. 2008
This review is from: She Went All the Way (Paperback)
I have read a lot of Meg Cabot's books, and I have to say for this book I love it and hate it. It is unmistakeably Meg's book; it has the same writing style and story plot one would usually find in her books. I was anticipating for something more different from the 'usual', so it came as a small disappointment. Nevertheless it's still a pretty nice, feel good romantic book to enjoy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, a bit too graphic, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Meg Cabot's humor but this was a bit too graphic for me. Some scenes were much too on the edge of soft pornography for me. I had tomskipmthru them. I know that this is an adult fiction book, not her middle grade/young adult fare, but I just wasn't expecting it from Meg Cabot. Still a great story - just wish it hadn't been so graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lighthearted fun, 18 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
I enjoyed The Boy Next Door so I ordered this book as well, and I wasn't disappointed. The hero is gorgeous, of course, and the heroine is talented but modest and likeable and in need of being appreciated by the man in her life. The mystery element to the plot adds a lot of fun, and a reason for the pair to be stranded in Alaska together. This book made me laugh and I loved the romance too, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying, 4 Feb. 2013
This review is from: She Went All the Way (Paperback)
Just like any Meg Cabot book, "She went all the way" is a satisfying book. It's the perfect thing to read if all you want is a light chick lit, so even though the plot is not all that detailed, the characters are amazing throughout. You wouldnt want to put it down before it's finished... (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Went All the Way
She Went All the Way by Meg Cabot (Paperback - 30 May 2008)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews