Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is a God, but which God
There has been much said about the authorship of this book. Some have attempted to undermine the book by claiming that it was all or mostly written by Varghese, with Flew in a confused state of mind. Flew himself denied this. It also becomes clear in the style of writing as an essay from Varghese is included in the Appendix. It is the inclusion of this poorly thought out...
Published on 28 May 2010 by S. Meadows

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Flew over to the other side... almost.
While the designation of Flew as `the world's most notorious atheist' might be talking him up somewhat, the book charts the eminent philosopher's journey from arguing for atheism to a deistic position. It discusses his previous arguments for atheism and the rebuttals his oponents made, and moves on to the contemporary arguments that persuaded him to change his mind, and...
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by A Borrowed Flame


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Won't change anyone else's mind, 19 Aug 2010
Antony Flew may have been one of the 20th century's leading philosophers, but this account of his journey from atheism to deism is distinctly underwhelming. His case is basically argument from design, but he doesn't have any new perspective on this hoary old argument, nor does he address the equally hoary old objections to it. So just why *did* a distinguished philosopher who was the "world's most notorious athiest" argument-from-design compelling in 2004, when he had found it unconvincing for a big portion of the 20th century? On this, Flew's account is disappointingly silent.

The last part of the book is supposedly a discussion of whether "God" has communicated anything to humankind. Co-author Roy Varghese penned "Appendix A", but like his Introduction, it's just a series of pot-and-kettle attacks on Richard Dawkins and the vigourous evisceration of some rather obvious straw men.

"Appendix B" is billed as a "dialogue" between Flew and biblical scholar (and Anglican bishop) NT Wright on the historicity of the Resurrection. But Flew's side of this "dialogue" consists of exactly three one-line questions which absolutely anyone could have asked, while Wright's side covers 20 pages of text. Engagingly written though it is, Appendix B doesn't really have anything to do with the subject of this book, particularly as Flew himself seems ambiguous on whether or not it presents a compelling case for the Resurrection.

Flew also gives a last-minute, out-of-the-blue endorsement of Christianity. Where this comes from is anyone's guess, since it certainly doesn't follow logically from anything Flew discussed up to that point, and it's supported only by some handwaving that Christianity is the sort of religion an omnipotent being would come up with. I'll leave others to try make sense of that, because I certainly can't.

I don't doubt Flew sincerely came to believe in a distant, deistic kind of "God", but if you don't already find argument-from-design compelling, there's nothing new here which will incline you to share that belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on Kindle. Unfortunately Amazon do not tell you that you will not get the appendices which are referred to throughout the text and which are over 30% of the text. . This is the second time that Amazon have caught me in this way. Rather shabby treatment from an organisation that pretends to be better. Buyer beware. Donal Mangan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of varying quality, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind (Paperback)
In a spirit of generosity, I am giving this book 4 stars - somewhere around 3.5 stars seems more apt. The reason why its not an excellent book is that its of varying quality. The first third of the book which is a kind of memoir is not likely to be of great interest to those who have not followed Flew's career. However, I suppose it was necessary to some degree to explain why he changed his mind. There again, his change of mind seems to be down to one factor, the increasingly expanding science of cosmology.

For Flew, Cosmology radiates Mind, the very laws of nature woven into the fabric of the Universe shout aloud: "I have been created by a rational Supernatural Mind". The book is particularly good at answering the New Atheists, who, according to Flew, simply are not good at doing philosophy (well, thats cutting to the thrust of his argument): he sees them as impoverished positivists.

I particularly liked the point made about monkeys and typewriters - the idea that Monkeys if given enough time could by chance produce a sonnet of Shakespeare of indeed the complete works of Shakespeare. In term of chance, there is a 1 in 10 to the power of 80 chance of this happening i.e. which is more than the numbers of protons, electrons and neutrons in the whole world.

Anyway, so what are his basic arguments?

I) Nature obeys laws: why is this so, why is the whole Universe law abiding - is not law a manifestation of ratio - can ratio come from inanimate matter?

II) Life itself: why is it intelligently organised and goal driven - and how did life arise from matter. The very gentic code of human being speaks of MIND. Why did sexual reproduction arise - survival of the fitness is not an answer - it merely demands that we ask the question: why is nature purpose driven - why does it "care" where say Human Nature or Elephant Nature survives.

III) The very existence of the Universe and of nature - why does it exist at all? He notes the minute likelihood of us existing at all and further notes that to say that there may be many universes, does not answer the question at all - why are there multiuniverse and why would they obey rational laws

IV) Consciousness which is itself not explicable in terms of matter only i.e. Brain does not equal Mind.

The above reminds me of a comment Christopher Dawkins made in one of his books, namely that it was precisely because it is in Christianity that the world is seen as rational - Christ is the Logos - i.e. reason or mind, that it was in the context of the Western World that science itself burgeoned. There is no point doing scientific experiments at all if there is not an intrinsic logic to the world. Otherwise experiments would tell us nothing - it would all just be chaos.
The appendices are good - I thought NT Wright's arguments for Christianity were particularly rational!

Now, I don't believe for one minute that any of the above will convince Dawkins and Co or his many disciples because it seems to me that there is a strong volitional element to this. For me, the evidence of Mind is extremely strong to suggest a Creator but others will prefer to believe in utter blind chance - we appeared out of some cosmic soup, which itself spontaneously emerged out of nothing. Note here that with the Big Bang theory, Plato's theory of the Universe being eternal no longer seems valid on cosmological grounds. We are not pre-determined - we do have choices and I respect the choice of those who listen to the same evidence and say: "there is no God". I simply ask that they respect my choice and belief that the Universe proclaims the glory of God!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most convincing riposte to Dawkins I have read., 6 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. I. N. Stannard (Horsham, Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a philosopher and teacher, I have read Flew for 20 years. This book is a measured and readable account that successfully presents a coherent reason why it is possible to embrace cosmology and belief in a 'God'. I use the term deliberately as Flew is not a Christian - he is a Deist. Some atheists who feel betrayed have portrayed this change of heart as the jibberings of an old man. Not only is this attack on his integrity a pathetic slur, it is also far from the man who I have had the pleasure of meeting fairly recently. He was far from senile. The trouble with fundmentalists - and Dawkins is a fundamentalist - is that they cannot embrace anything that contradicts their worldview. This exposes the weakness of their argument. As any philosopher will tell you, Dawkins is an able Biologist but no philosopher. This is said by many agnostic, theist and atheist philosophers. In fact, a former tutor of mine (Phd in Physics and MA in Theology and retired Professor at Oxford) will no longer share a platform with the man and many of his fundamentalist followers- so arrogant and offensive he is to anyone who dares to question his omniscience!

I recommend it to anyone who wants to read an intelligent, thoughtful and moderate response to the question "why is there anything, rather than nothing at all'. The appendix written by the Bishop of Durham is an excellent and compelling defence of Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A valuable contribution, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind (Paperback)
I am really only reviewing to counter the other disgraceful accusations on these pages that Flew was not the author of this book. As Flew, shortly after publishing this book, appeared on platform defending these views and wrote articles and conducted interviews explaining them, there can be no doubt that Flew moved to a deist view before he died.

This book is thoughtful and takes the reader through Flew's intellectual journey. Particularly interesting is his reassessment of some of his old arguments for atheism in the light of his new belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Subject, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind (Paperback)
This book sparks much debate in whether there is a god or not. Strange read from a man who was adamant that god did not exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Being honest about intelligent design possibilities, 2 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind (Paperback)
At least there is integrity in his approach, as opposed say to Prof Dawkins. Real scientists are prepared to admit when they could be wrong - I once heard Steve Jones say that, and I though I saw a large lump in his cheek - well, I think this is as near as it gets for Anthony Flew. Refreshing to see a measure of honesty towards agreeing that the observable world can allow for intelligent design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Get Into, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Dave Kinsella "Jesus First" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind (Paperback)
I found the book hard to get into. Not that the reading is necessarily hard going, but I found he rambles on and on about this and that. I simply could not get into the story. Maybe it's because he is old, I don't know. I listened to a debate he was in with William Lane Craig (who is a fantastic debater with a very sharp mind) from 1997. He rambled there too. Granted he was old even then but I am not impressed by this guy.

I'm sure the book has been disected in many reviews here, so I won't go into detail again.

That said, this book is a good conversation starter and is of obvious apologetic value to the Christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socrates would be proud of him, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind (Paperback)
Straightforward thinking from a man who has followed the Socratic principle that you should follow the evidence, wherever it leads. For Antony Flew, this has meant going against the popularisers of scientific athiesm, but with clear thinking and logic.
I valued the quotes he had found on the subject from great scientists like Heisenberg, Einstein, Schrodinger, Dirac, Planck & even Charles Darwin.
I enjoyed reading this book.
C. Stickland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science has not disproved God...!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent alternative understanding to the prevailing view(s) that the Universe came out of nothing, or that billions of Multiverses are an adequate explanation for why just the one we are in got it right. Also, while evolution may explain the variety we see, there still is no clue as to how life itself originated or that the complexity of living things (DNA for example) arrived by chance mutation/selection. An infinite mind was involved.
God is alive and well , thank you - why are folks so determined to be on their own?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind
There Is a God: How the World's Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind by Roy Abraham Varghese (Paperback - 15 Nov 2008)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews