Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The secret of Chanel No5
A fascinating insight into the life and times of Coco Chanel and the humble beginning of the worlds most famous perfume!
Published 4 months ago by Book feedback

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite poor
Although the topic is interesting and the book gives some sort of superficial insight into a world which is fascinating, the writing style almost killed it for me. Rarely have I read a book where the author (although it'd be probably more accurate to call him a 'gatherer of facts and anecdotes') repeated the same facts over and over and over and over - it was truly...
Published 18 months ago by The Grenouille


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite poor, 9 Oct 2012
Although the topic is interesting and the book gives some sort of superficial insight into a world which is fascinating, the writing style almost killed it for me. Rarely have I read a book where the author (although it'd be probably more accurate to call him a 'gatherer of facts and anecdotes') repeated the same facts over and over and over and over - it was truly maddening at times. This book is in dire need of a good edit, but I bet that if all the repeatitions were removed, the book would be hardly half the size, so probably too short to justify the price.
Other flaws included the sloppy research (No! 'Bonheur' does NOT mean 'Good luck' in French! Surely that would have been easy enough to check!), the far-fetched extrapolations and over-interpretations and the annoying and pointless hindsights. I wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The secret of Chanel No5, 24 Nov 2013
A fascinating insight into the life and times of Coco Chanel and the humble beginning of the worlds most famous perfume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab loads of information you would not normally know about even working for the company does not tell you all this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 15 Sep 2011
This book is fascinating. Fascinating is the right word. It not only tells us more about Coco Chanel herself which from a social history perspective is interesting, it also tells us a lot about marketing - or the lack of marketing. It is also a history of perfume, how perfumes are formulated and how a slight adjustment creates a new smell. Fascinating on so many levels this book is on my Christmas gift list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading!, 14 Mar 2011
This book gave me a complete and fresh idea of Chanel No. 5 history, from the time of its creation until it became a huge success.

Mazzeo's writing is simple so one can understand some things like the production of a fragrance since its creation until it is out in the market for sales.

The reports of Coco Chanel's life and the detailed description of the facts that occurred at that time (since the 1920's) gives us a full picture of what that fragrance went through to become a legendary scent.

If you are a fanatic perfume lover such as I, then you owe to yourself to read and finally learn of how some perfumes where created. The writer has transferred to me her passion of an understandable and incredible reading, meaning to me a worth-reading book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vineyards, 6 Jan 2010
By 
jacqueline s. (London, England) - See all my reviews
Absolutely loved this book - Champagne is the subject and is certainly my taste! You learn a lot from this as well as a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it., 4 July 2013
A bit rambling in places but an interesting read. Lots of interesting information about the historical and modern methods if Champagne production. There are obviously only sketchy details about certain aspects of the Widow Clicquots` life, but I was a bit disappointed that her death was described rather vaguely as her having "breathed her last". Written with empathy by someone who truly loves her subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting read. Have bought it at as a present for a friend who is a wine buff. I certainly learnt a lot about champagne and it's origins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The amazing world of perfumers, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a book! The amazing background to Chanel No 5 with sex, politics, mysticism and intrigue. But also a deep commitment to the perfume that she, Gabrielle Chanel had created in her name - by Ernest Beaux. But the perfume had an even older history which is just as fascinating as its history once it had been named as Chanel No 5. Coco Chanel's amazing lifestory is intertwined with the perfume's story of course and what a pair they made - couldn't live with each other and couldn't live apart. Read the story and see for yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Years of Fragrance, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. S. Millman "Busbybabe" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I had of course seen Chanel no. 5, I have never bought it and had not really connected with the fact that there was a person called 'Coco' Chanel, with a background and life about as interesting as that of the product that gives the book its title. Well, the book makes a pretty good fist of combining the two in an interesting and well-written read. I have heard it said that the best known brand names are at least 50 years old - often nearer 100: Ford, Coca Cola, Kit Kat, IBM, Hoover, Marks & Spencer, John Lewis etc. - though maybe the march of technology has added Apple more recently. Similarly, when I peer into marketing text-books they seem more focussed on presentation, advertising, pricing etc., than good old product research and design: I always think that the term "marketing" encompasses more than packaging, selling and advertising - just as Tony Blair should have remembered than foreign policy involves more than the arts of spin (though the best thought out policy requires spin too: cf. Winston Churchill). Maybe this is rather a long preamble on a book about a perfume and its creator, but when my last Sunday papers arrived before Christmas 2011, they came wrapped in a whole-sheet advertising flier for ---- yes you've guessed it, Chanel Number 5. The book brings together the marketing history with that of an unusual and driven person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

The Widow Clicquot: The Story of a Champagne Empire and the Woman Who Ruled It (P.S.)
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews