Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillian Brief Bio of Wm Wilberforce, 22 Jun. 2008
This is the remarkable story of Wm Wilberforce and his supporters who were determined to see an end to the slave trade (and eventually slavery) in Britain and its possessions. The writing is excellent and not pedantic. It is not a comprehensive bio, but for a broad overview, it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 April 2009
By 
Simon A. Wright "simonandsuewright" (manchester;england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't often give 5 stars but this book deserves them.I defy anyone to read this book and not see the connection with the problems of our times and possibly a way of addressing them.The people mentioned in this book were moral giants and Wilberforce was only one of them.Inspirational and frightening at the same time-would but our leaders would but I had 1/10th of their vision,courage and integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read!, 5 July 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Metaxas has a great writing style and researches his works well. This volume gives real insight into the great British hero of the long game and is easily digestible even though it adds seriously to the amount of biography out there.
In light of the excellent moving 'Amazing Grace' this book will give you a background and answer any questions that remained in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 28 Sept. 2007
A BOOK THAT IS EASY TO READ, BRILLIANTLY WRITTEN. THE LOOKS STUNNING SHOWING STILLS FROM THE FILM. A GREAT BOOK ON A FASCINATING SUBJECT. HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History that reads like a novel!, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
D. Hagar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful glimpse of a history and how God used one man dedicated to Him to change the world! Engaging writing style by Eric Metaxas, could not put the book down and reading history is usually hard for me. Found details about others Wilberforce met in youth or in old age - from Queen Victoria to George Wesley or John Newton fascinating. If you are interested in history - read it. If you are interested in Church History - read it. If you just want a well written book about a true story - that reads like a great fiction - read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
F. J. Davy (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was bought as a present. It came quickly and was in virtually new condition. If it hadn't had a label stuck on the back it could have been taken for new. The recipient was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Grace, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery (Paperback)
This covers the whole story of William Wilberforce fleshing out his life and the times in which he lived. I would recommend this as a good read and insightful for our history, very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery (Paperback)
This is the best book I read in 2012.
The story is enthralling and well told by Metaxas.
I would highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery
Used & New from: £24.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews