Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the underbelly of America.
An excellent, albeit short, novel as Mike McGill is tasked by the White House to find a secret constitution whiste supernatural powers.
Genuinely funny, it reads much like a Graphic Novel without p[ictures. It reminds me very much of Preacher by Garth Ennis. Journeying from city to city and state to state, McGill encounters depraved elements wherever he goes...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, dark, but a little limited
Warren Ellis is known for his graphic novels, which whilst still literature are a completely different animal, so it was with some interest that I read Crooked Little Vein. And found it to be unfortunately a limited success.

It is without doubt very funny. Very funny and very grim. This is the darkest of dark humour. Any book that starts with 'I opened my eyes...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Mingo Bingo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warren Ellis excels himself, 29 Sep 2010
By 
Cronan (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again. foul, hilarious and evil, I laughed so hard I gave myself a prolapse. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let your wife or servants read this book., 2 Sep 2008
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crooked Little Vein: A Novel (P.S.) (Paperback)
This is appalling meretricious trash and Mr Ellis should be thoroughly ashamed of himself. By pretending his protagonist has an elevated moral sense, he uses this as an excuse for a book which is little more than a trawl through the most disgusting behaviour imaginable. This book is totally unsuitable for anyone. Don't read it. Don't buy it, it will only encourage him.

I believe Mr Ellis has a day job of writing comics. Well, he should stick to the entertaining of innocent children which, I have been given to understand, he does quite well, and refrain from sullying the world with his disgusting novelistic fantasies.

I say: Stick to the day job, Mr Ellis!

(Please disregard the rating, my keyboard is stuck.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm...., 21 Dec 2013
By 
M. R. Brudenell "reverse midas" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crooked Little Vein: A Novel (P.S.) (Paperback)
I have read this chaps graphic novels... and had a look at the guys first attempt at a book. Interesting, unique....

If you have read the graphs read the book if not stay well away, it is most certainly a niche amusement something of which i found utterly entertaining from start to finish a genuine page turner, great read. He writes in such away that you do picture everything as you read which normally would be great thing but when read some of Ellis's graphics that may not be a great thing!!

Great read, easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Warren Ellis, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crooked Little Vein: A Novel (P.S.) (Paperback)
please have my mutated internet babies. I love your bearded face - I'm sure you have a mouth filled with fangs.

The bit about the godzilla fans groping at their crotches with oversized green paws while watching their hero rampage downtown Tokyo did it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue, Subterfuge, Society Today?, 10 Jan 2008
I had great expectations of this novel - maybe they were too high? Because the reading didn't last long enough, being quite a short book it was over in almost an instant. With a few chapters having only a handful of words, this isn't a hard feat. I would suggest anyone reading this to take their time and savour this story. A real page turner, it is excellent, and I would recommend reading it to any fan (or otherwise) of Ellis.

It starts off fast paced, and never really loses it's grip. Unfortunately I felt the ending lacked something - it kind of just dumps you from the euphoria of reading it, leaving you a little numb. But with a warm glow.

It is very amusing, even laugh out loud at points. Based on modern society can be a bit shocking and disturbing even. Sadly, it is also probably so very, very true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 14 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Crooked Little Vein: A Novel (P.S.) (Paperback)
very much in the vein of the transmetropolitan graphic novels.warren digs into the underbelly of american culture.
i felt the ending was a little rushed but a gr8 journey getting there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crooked Little Vein: A Novel (P.S.)
Crooked Little Vein: A Novel (P.S.) by Warren Ellis (Paperback - 1 Aug 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews