Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars308
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2014
I know this is a bit of a reference book that a lot of people point to as being influential but it really does bring the subject matter to life. It is punchy and fascinating. Well worth a read if you're at all interested in how people tick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
I bought and read this book simply to improve my skill of influence. Unfortunately, most of the book is about controlled psychology experiments about persuasion; Robert himself is a psychology professor. Rather then a personal improvement book, this book is aimed to explain the tactics used by companies and foundations to influence people. It is nice to get this knowledge and simply understanding human psychology behind persuasion does not make one better at influencing other people. It will result in understanding marketing tactics of giant corporates and in appreaciating sales tactics too. If you want to improve your skill in convincing, I would suggest Art of Woo: Using Persuasion to Sell Your Ideas by Richard Shell without a hesitation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2011
I found the book very enlightening and it opened my eyes to posibilities of use in my business. It's very well written with a lot of real life good examples and case studies. The writer sure knows his stuff well done!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I found this book interesting but slightly dated. I think a lot of this information is already common knowledge (perhaps partly because of this book) and it won't have the same impact as when it was first published.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
I enjoyed this book very much. I was quite bored of the personal development books that says (usually american way of presenting it) do these million things to .....
This book is prepared by a academician which you can clearly notice from the beginning , he divided persuation factors into chapters, and in each chapter he supported his observations with physcological experiments. If you expect this book to tell you "do that, do that" then don't buy it. Because there is no any advice in it, But If you are looking for a book that gives you values and outputs, so you can evaulate them for your own status, then it is a pretty nice book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Basically a review of some of the clever but easy ways salesmen work, so that one can be alert to their methods. But he labours every point and the whole thing could have been condensed to a tenth of the legnth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Pretty good research content and well written. Helpful for anyone in Marketing and sales, as well as individuals, just don't expect to find tips for influencing the opposite sex, it's very much for business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Brilliant book, some great insight into buying behaviours and how to sell without actually selling. A brilliant resource for Marketers, copywriters or anyone looking to understand more about salesmanship
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Really good - quite in depth, a lot of information and interesting anecdotes. Well written and you genuinely feel the author's interest and desire for people to understand these concepts coming through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
I would recommend this book to anyone. It contains powerful tools for persuasion and getting better relationships in general. It is quite an easy read and contains advice that would help anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)