Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless
I have been entertaining my friends at dinner parties with this book. Cialdini, who admits to being a bit of a sucker himself, shows all the ways we've been manipulated over the years by small gestures and situations contrived by salesmen.

There are so many good stories. The one about Joe Girard, a car salesman who sends out each month 13,000 cards every month...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by William Cohen

versus
119 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not totally convincing or that useful
I bought this book for two reasons - one to make myself more alert to sales techniques, and two to see if there are any useful insights to glean that could be applied to other areas of life.

On both counts the book delivers. Having recently been pitched to at work by a media tracking agency and nearly taken the bait (didn't in the end) I immediately recognised...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by tomsk77


‹ Previous | 113 14 1518 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Insights, Well Evidenced, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion, Robert B. Cialdini - Intended to be of use to anybody working in marketing, this book takes a considered look at the various means by which people are influenced either to favour you and offer you something, or actually change their minds. It's rooted in several excellent studies, and is among the standard starting points if you're interested in influence and how it works, for good reason. The book is easy to read, and the research behind each point makes for interesting storytelling. Never mind your career, this is an insightful look at how people work, and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ways of the world, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
Most of this book is common sense, but its worth reading, especially as it breaks down the points into various categories which then makes it easier to know what to do and how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, 19 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone. It contains powerful tools for persuasion and getting better relationships in general. It is quite an easy read and contains advice that would help anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read regardless of your Discipline, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
How does changing your last name to Brown win you an election? Why do crowds of bystanders struggle to help a clear victim? Robert Cialdini's "Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion" answers these questions and a range of others. It's a fascinating and engaging introduction of psychological factors impacting on individual and group decision-making. Students undertaking a degree in Business, Economics, Marketing or Politics would benefit immensely from reading this book. However, the book does suffer from a lack of clear structure and the potential modern-day irrelevance of certain topics.

The book is divided into five main chapters: "Reciprocation", "Commitment and Consistency", "Social Proof", "Liking", "Authority" and "Scarcity". Together they compose Cialdini's "weapon of influence." Each chapter is filed with a plethora of examples illustrating the breadth of these "weapons" in society. For example, in the chapter on scarcity, the reader will be given examples ranging from collectible dollar bills, misbehaving toddlers, personal firearms, rebellious juries, the Soviet Union, a $3.3 million dollar TV showing of the Poseidon's Adventure and more. At the end of each chapter, Cialdini teaches the reader to identify when each "weapon of influence" may be influencing our decision and how to react accordingly.

The book has an incredible breadth of examples spanning 50 years of psychological research and a tone which keeps the reader engaged and well informed, but the structure does break down at times. Chapter subsections are a little unclear and often times examples seem to overlap certain categories. Moreover, it's difficult to tell whether certain examples are still relevant today given that the research may have been conducted decades ago(It's disappointing to see no examples relating to the impact of the internet or social media.) However, for the most part, the reader will quickly recall personal experiences with certain "weapons" and even potentially even have used some unsuspectingly.

For the student of Economics, Cialdini's examples vividly demonstrate the immense impact factors can have on actors (which are presumed to behave rationally) and touches on topics currently being researched in both the field of collective choice and behavioral economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Influence, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
This book certainly does what it says it will do. I was very influenced in buying it just by the detail provided on the Amazon webpage. The book definitely has great content and some great psychological aspects to influencing. Unfortunately the book is a little heavy going to read, but if you can keep awake it is a very worthwhile investment. More bullets points in the style of a "Dummies guide to..." would make this book an easier read. Perhaps a re-edit modernising it would be worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars influence: the psychology of persuasion, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
I found the book very enlightening and it opened my eyes to posibilities of use in my business. It's very well written with a lot of real life good examples and case studies. The writer sure knows his stuff well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book.
It was well structured and gave examples of situations that everyone can relate to, and perhaps recognise from their own experiences.
It has opened my eyes to many of the tricks employed by sales personnel, and I am enjoying looking out for them now and making sure that I make buying decisions for the right reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How can I persuade you to buy this book?, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
This book was mentioned in one of the fundraising online discussion boards I take part in. While it didn't give me any specific tips or tricks for my type of fundraising, it was a fascinating read. Professor Cialdini successfully combines his analysis of academic studies of social psychology with his personal experience and the reflections of previous readers of the book. This provides for an entertaining and insightful perspective that makes one realise that we may all be patsies and the reasons we fall for the ploys of sales people is because of innate human characteristics common to us all. Very helpfully he explains how we can guard against buying things we don't need because we are told they are "scarce" or how to overcome the apparent reluctance of bystanders to help in an emergency when they think someone else will. All in all an enjoyable read, a source of fascinating conversation topics and a helpful guide to daily life, in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Influential and somewhat inspirational..., 16 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
A real education can be found here, in Cialdini's absorbing writing on the power of influence and, crucially, how we can develop our ability to sway other people's thought patterns. Cialdini doesn't resort to confidence-trickster type mild hypnosis, but rather speaks of the right approach, the right manner for discussion and the correct way to carry ourselves when trying to reason with someone who is in disagreement or opposed to our way of thinking. I don't work in sales, but if I did I would probably consider this essential reading.

I actually work in the field of psychology - Get Real! Relationship Success is an Inside Job - and can see how useful this kind of approach might be within a relationship. When people are in unhappy partnerships, they are often easily swayed by the force of a dominant partner's argument. This might teach the passive partner to look closely at the manipulative behaviour and take a stand against it... and that can only be a good thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still good, 1 July 2009
By 
Mr. B. Moyo "golema" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
Very engaging book, rich in anecdotes and very well structured. Each section builds up and then ends on that note you get, you know - when someone tells you a fascinating story and you think, "hey! I know exactly what you mean..."
Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1518 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion by Robert B., PhD Cialdini (Paperback - 1 Feb 2007)
6.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews