Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless
I have been entertaining my friends at dinner parties with this book. Cialdini, who admits to being a bit of a sucker himself, shows all the ways we've been manipulated over the years by small gestures and situations contrived by salesmen.

There are so many good stories. The one about Joe Girard, a car salesman who sends out each month 13,000 cards every month...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by William Cohen

versus
117 of 127 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not totally convincing or that useful
I bought this book for two reasons - one to make myself more alert to sales techniques, and two to see if there are any useful insights to glean that could be applied to other areas of life.

On both counts the book delivers. Having recently been pitched to at work by a media tracking agency and nearly taken the bait (didn't in the end) I immediately recognised...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by tomsk77


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
I don't have a lot to say about this great book but you just have to read it! I guess the book is especially designed for marketers and businessmens, however, it also explains a lot of psychological mechanisms and social actions that take place in everyday's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars we're all too busy, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book full of examples and interesting persuasion techniques that are employed on us everyday. It argues that most are automatic responses or "short-cuts" that we use to save time or energy in a world that has too much information and too many demands on our time. Although the author goes beyond the limits of deductive logic in a lot of his reasoning, his points stand and are useful markers. A thoroughly interesting set of principles are uncovered - and lead to a thirst to understand each in more detail...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
It is a great read if you are going to buy anything from a house to a rug in a Moroccan stall. Ditto if you are planning on selling something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable for consumers... valuable for marketers and entrepreneurs, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating read.

I come from a background as a professional musician, a yoga teacher and now a marketer. I'm also a consumer. Like everyone else - I've both influenced and been influenced.

This book makes it easy to understand how and why.

Reading Influence - the Psychology of Persuasion has made me have a much better understanding of social influence - a science based on emotion that can be used for both good and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
Love this book, wish it gave more details about it, because it was exactly the book i was looking for, but it is a good book especially for someone into sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
Very interesting read for anyone starting out in a sales environment or to anyone interested in how we behave in a sales situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to defend yourself against being influenced or manipulated, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
It is a book on defence. Now when I listen to a sales talk I recognise what they are designed to do. But the book has not made me more influential though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but summaries would help, 1 Jan 2013
By 
J. B. Bridge (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an important book and I learned a great deal from it. I would strongly recommend it, but I have to say that remembering all the points he makes is quite difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good book but poor edition, 28 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Paperback)
I read that book few years ago for the first time and found it amazing! Unfortunately, this edition is very poor. Print is very small and therefore it's hard to read with a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Insights, Well Evidenced, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion, Robert B. Cialdini - Intended to be of use to anybody working in marketing, this book takes a considered look at the various means by which people are influenced either to favour you and offer you something, or actually change their minds. It's rooted in several excellent studies, and is among the standard starting points if you're interested in influence and how it works, for good reason. The book is easy to read, and the research behind each point makes for interesting storytelling. Never mind your career, this is an insightful look at how people work, and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion by Robert B., PhD Cialdini (Paperback - 1 Feb 2007)
6.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews