Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2010
Bought this for my 7yr old son for bed times. He loves the books but decided on some new ones to play at bed time. Listening to Roald Dahl himself telling the stories was great and he absolutely loved them and has played them over and over. Something about the way Roald Dahl tells them that you never tire of. I looked long and hard to buy individual cd's for him and the prices were quite pricey so this was a brilliant buy as a collection set. Worth every penny. Expected to be ripped off in some way with a shorter version or something because the price was so good for so many stories but not dissappointed at all. BRILLIANT BUY !
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Bought this for my son aged nearly 5, along with other versions (by accident!). Of course the stories themselves are brilliant and Dahl is a legend, but having listened to the excellent versions read by Martin Jarvis and Stephen Fry of Fantastic Mr Fox, and The Enormous Crocodile,Fantastic Mr Fox and Other Animal Stories I can't help but feel that Dahl was not the best person to read his own stories. Perhaps when he's a bit older, my son may enjoy the authentic Dahl voice a little more, but he wasn't great at providing character and voices, resulting in a rather flat listening experience for younger listeners. Granted, at 4/5 my son is possibly a little young to appreciate some of the language and detail of his books, but he has been thoroughly engaged by Martin Jarvis reading Fantastic Mr Fox, over and over, even his little sister aged 2.5 loves it, whereas this version has only been played twice. I will probably hang on to this CD for posterity, just having the great man's voice preserved now that he is gone will be something to treasure, but sadly, not a big hit yet.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
The kids love listening to the stories again and again and again! so it's good there's more than one story to choose from!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
My daughter loves this author. She was having trouble sleeping his voice is very soothing my daughter listens to it every night & goes to sleep!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
A great selection at a very reasonable price and read perfectly by the man himself. It is a voice that you couldn't tire of and his gentle, rather dead-pan delivery suits the stories exactly. All these stories have elements which are dark or scary ( that's part of their appeal) so it is important that the reader handles this in a way that is not shocking for a child listening. These have been a great success with my 5 year old son.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
As a massive fan of roald dahl I always wanted to hear him read his own books.
This compilation does just that. Roald reads his own stories and even though I'm a bit disappointed about the lack of song in his voice when the oumpa loumpas sing I do find it amusing to hear the stories from him.

Only bad thing is that a few of the stories here are abridged. They've been abridged skilfully but still it is not the full story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
My grandchildren aged between 7 and 10 years liked to go to bed listening to music so I thought it would be a good time for them to listen to nice calming stories and guess what granny was correct they can't wait to go to bed to listen to the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
Excellent Audio book: 4 CD's but 5 stories. Kept the children occuppied whilst on a long journey. I think a great way to let the children gain knowledge of the classic books, that we all forget about!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
The sound is a little quieter than other audio cd's I've bought, but still this is a very minor issue. The stories a re great, as you'd expect from Mr Dahl, delivery was fast and quality good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
ideal car listening for youngsters, is read by the author which is good although he can be a little gruff in his delivery! still, this is how he imgained it being heard i suppose!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse