Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


158 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An agnostic's agenda?
I recall a reviewer of one of Ehrman's books observing the author as merely pushing his agnostic agenda. Fair comment, but for tackling a profound subject such as this what are the alternatives?

Well, and to make a few generalisations, erudite atheists such as Dawkins seemingly want the believer to see sense and start living a secularly productive life away...
Published on 20 Sep 2009 by T. Scott

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as new as it seems
Ehrman has written a series of books, bringing to light the apocryphal works, the history of the formation of the New Testament, and now the contradictions in the biblical texts. For most readers this will be material that is new to them, and it is to some extent it is the Churches' fault that it is little known. (To some extent it is resistance from the "people in the...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by A. McGuire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A necessary reading for the devout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Interesting, discussion provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Turkey, 29 April 2010
By 
J. S. Burnett (UK Oakley,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a chatty and thoughtful review of the discrepancies in the Bible for those agnostics who would like to clarify their position
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Great - thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is truth ?, 11 Sep 2011
By 
C. J. Green (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very interesting read for those who do not know the history of how the 27 books of the New testerment came to be chosen, written and compiled over many years, we see how the historical Jesus evolves perhaps into something he never claimed to be.

Paul as the first Christian writer, writing only around 35 years after the death of Jesus only seems interested in the divine Christ and says very little indeed about the historical Jesus, why ? Did he know next to nothing of the historical Jesus or did this just not interest him and why so little if anything from Paul on the 'virgin birth' ? We learn here that only Luke and Matthew construct a birth narrative, maybe this was unknown to Paul after all a divine exit should also shorely require a divine entrance ? As Ehrman says Mark was the first gospel to be written circa 70 AD 15 or so years after Pauls letters, but I would have liked to see a little more of what came before this first Gospel - collections of other writings must have existed, a passion gospel, a sayings gospel, a parable collection ?

The 1st century was hardly a media intensive age, perhaps once the author of Mark had gavered together all his material, finished his gospel he threw everything else away - in exactly the same way we would today, gather our material choose what we do and don't want to suit our purpose and there's our finished product ! Unfortunetely if there was a loose collection of material before Marks gospel ( the lost Q gospel for example ) everything has been lost, yes some or it is contained is Marks gospel but what else was available, when did it date from and who wrote it ? Could some of Jesus followers have dictated material which was passed down ? We will never know which makes the wider debate and detective work in this book so interesting - perhaps this will provided the subject for a forthcoming Ehrman book as I have to deduct 1 star as he does tend to revisit the same or very similar material over several different books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and to the point, 10 Nov 2013
This is an excellent book and provides a very academic deconstruction of the bible. Unlike some other books where authors get carried away listing endless examples of inaccuracies, contradictions, malevolence and lies, Bart limits himself to no more than 5 examples on each topic, making it much more readable.
The awful paradox is that despite the bible being the most researched and studied book in history, it still remains the book that most people own yet have never read properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Reading, 31 Oct 2010
By 
John Q. Goldingham (Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellant book to put the bible into its correct light.
All Christians should read this so that they gain a better understanding of the origins of Christianity.
It will enable them to relook at their faith and may strengthen their belief in life after death as it has with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does not however go into much detail of anything in particular, the author makes reference to his other books occasionally and skims over other things by claiming there's not enough room to go into full detail. I'm glad I read it but want more information on the matters at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jesus interupted, 11 May 2012
By 
Bizniz D. Smith (Folkestone UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you buy this book with the intention of supporting your belief that the Bible is a man made attempt to hoodwink people into some kind of religious cult then this book will confirm that idea. If you believe that God, a god, if one should exist would only write a book that made perfect logical sense by the perceptions and within the reference frames available to human kind then you won't be disillusioned by this book. If you kind off believe that the Bible is the inerrant word of God but your not convicted then this book may change your mind.
For me I read through this book and found a man torn apart and crying out for help but trusting in logic and unconvincingly arguing that contradiction = untruth. For me the apparent and blatant contradictions just say, why? Why would any rational man or group of men sit down to write a compilation that was intended to convince people about the reality of God and Jesus and yet just leave gaping holes in that argument that would make it easy to ridicule, were these people idiots, if they were how did this book get such a strong hold of billions of people? For me this book revealed the hidden intricacies of the word of God and I felt more encouraged and stronger in faith after reading it. It's a must read and I recommend it to anyone on their journey of faith in God< Jesus and Christainity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the real Jesus, 12 Sep 2011
By 
Dr. Peter J. Hickman "Peter" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Novices to the historical-critical method might wonder if Ehrman, a comtemporary skeptic, has gone too far. Well, he has. Undoubtedly there are many questions to answer about the historicity of the story of Jesus and Ehrman sets about dealing with them in a scholarly fashion. Inevitably, however, the effects of his loss of faith pervade his writing and he overstates his case.
I would recommend it to the cautious reader.
After reading this, it was refreshing and helpful to read a more balanced analysis - Komoszewski's Reinventing Jesus. Whilst dealing with difficult textual issues head on, Komoszewski shows that the life, death and resurrection of Jesus are powerfully and reliably attested to in the historical record. There is no need or excuse for the Christian anarchy espoused by Ehrman. The real Jesus is the living Son of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews