Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic moments and creative dreams, 17 May 2007
By 
Ms. C. J. Mcelwee "Caroline McElwee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
As someone who has followed Rutger Hauer's career for almost 30 years I was delighted to find he has made the time to write an autobiography (with the assistance of a co-writer). Written in a very conversational way, and not having his quirky use of language totally expunged, this is a lovely book for getting to know a little about a creative soul. I did feel that much was left out that might interest, and that he may have been encouraged to focus less on his Dutch and European work because it may be of less interest to the American market, however on the whole, it was an entertaining introduction to a man who's cinematic characters have run the gamut of genres and emotions. A book about someone with a lot of talent and a big heart - there is something here also about his STARFISH FOUNDATION which provides some grass-roots help for children and women with AIDS/HIV especially in developing countries.

He's not done yet, there are many creative challenges ahead, and hopefully this book may encourage budding new directors to invite him to participate in projects new, but directing is very much on his horizon.

Rutger's website is also very well worth a visit [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 9 Jun. 2007
By 
M. R. Baxendale "rbaxi" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
As a fan of Rutger, I was somewhat nervous about reading this - what if there was something that spoiled my image of him? Well, his image remains secure. The book is easy to read and entertaining, with no unpleasant surprises. Rutger has lived an eventful life, and his story comes across as genuine. It does leave some questions unanswered, and there is no filmography, however, there are several photos, including a couple from his childhood.

Also: for more info on Rutger, the website Caroline lists is an excellent source with a complete filmography, lots of pictures, and a guestbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Those Moments Will Not Be Lost, 10 Aug. 2007
By 
J. Price "kreisleriana" (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful and surprising book. I am in awe of the movie Blade Runner. I grew up with the L.A. skyline at my doorstep and I feel a dark connection to the film, which I saw in a huge, pre-multiplex theater with my father all those years ago. I was delighted to read about Mr. Hauer's experiences, and to learn that his contribution to Blade Runner is huge. In fact, this inside look at the actor's work and career left me feeling quite grounded. Rutger Hauer's passion and intelligence resonates clearly and I thank him for sharing his life. Please do note that he also writes at length of his involvement with the AIDS/HIV crisis in the world and the Starfish Association that he founded to try to make a difference. I recommend this to all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated actor, underrated biography; "All Those Moments" is a good read!, 6 April 2009
By 
Per Lundberg "Perperov" (TYRESÖ, Sthlm Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
I've appreciated Rutger Hauer ever since I saw him in "BladeRunner", back in 1982/83 (yes, I caught it only on it's VHS release), and was thrilled as I heard of this release, his autobiography "All Those Moments".

The book is a very nice starting point, if you want to learn more about the man behind those eyes. We learn of his childhood years and his family, about the years when he was doing theatre acting, and about the breakthrough in the Dutch TV-series "Floris" - and of other Dutch productions that followed, often with Paul Verhoeven behind the lens.

And, of course, the 'Roy Batty' part in "BladeRunner" is obviously still very close to his heart. The rest is past history, as they say? Not really, as Mr. Hauer also discusses his current charity project to battle AIDS/HIV, "The Rutger Hauer Starfish Foundation", and his newer movies as well. What also strikes me, after having read the book, is that Mr. Hauer seems to have a very big heart, an ever burning passion for his craft, and a whole lot of integrity!

So, do buy the book - especially as all the money the book sales generate, goes directly to "The RH Starfish Foundation"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rutger hauer all those moments, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
C. L. Anthoney "bladerunner" (mansfield, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
absolutely brilliant read. couldn't put it down until i finished. love rutger to bits and watch everything he does. to read the stories behind some of his work and life was both funny and emotional at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "'...aren't you meant to be a good man...", 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
Have always respected Rutger Hauer as an actor and primarily bought this after his epic performance in Blade Runner.

There is an honesty and ethic in his personality that shines through the book, a gentle-man full of power and energy.

Thoroughly enjoyable read from a great actor who knows who he is and what is important in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rutger, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
Great book though a bit hard to follow sometimes as its really Rutger's thoughts. Wonderful that he has set up a charity for AIDS sufferers. He is a great guy and an underrated actor. Really sexy voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rutger Hauer biography, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant book from which i learned a few very interesting things i did not know about this great Dutch actor such as his Starfish Foundation that he set up to support sufferers of aids/hiv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, but knew it would be, it's Rutger!, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read, but knew it would be, it's Rutger! Follows his amazing life, only third way through, can't wait to continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Those Moments (Hardcover)
not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Those Moments
All Those Moments by Patrick Quinlan (Hardcover - 1 April 2007)
Used & New from: £1.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews