Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2011
First of all, I have a soft spot for John Daly. I met him the year he played the Irish Open, and he turned out to be a complete gentleman
(you get the impression, throughout the book, that he holds his fans in high esteem.) Like a great number of our heroes, Daly's flaws are blatantly obvious to see,
and he wears them on his sleeve. He knows he has a drink problem - this is described as a 'whiskey problem' in the book, as he can drink a few beers without
going crazy (I'm sure people anyone in A.A. would say he's in denial.) He smokes a gazillion cigarettes a day, falls in love (or at least, marries) extremely easily,
and seems to only eat either food that has been alive previously (preferably the ribs) or McDonalds. What is most endearing is his honesty. The conversational
tone of the book, and the informal style of writing are not to everyone's tastes...what starts out like going for a beer listening to an old pal rant, becomes
somewhat tiresome toward the end. As a previous reviewer mentioned, some of the important issues from John's childhood and past (which have clearly affected
him a great deal, eg. the Dad/loaded gun incident) are well and truly skimmed over, as though he'd rather talk about how much fun his camper van is than the
issues which have contributed to his flaws. Despite this, he comes across as extremely likeable, and the book is entertaining. For anyone looking for an in-depth
account of the trials and tribulations of a professional golfer, or life on tour, then look elsewhere ('A Good Walk Spoiled' by Josh Feinstein is a great, albeit dated,
place to start)...however if you want a glimpse into the unorthodox but entertaining life of one of golf's originals then this is for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2007
I'm a fan of JD & read this book with great interest. JD shares some very funny stories along the way & is very honest. I really enjoyed this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2007
At first when you watch Daly play golf you begin to believe he is just a fat american who can hit a ball far...well you'd be wrong...very wrong. John daly seems to talk about his career highlights and lowest points without relative abandon about who cares. This is truly remarkable when you consider the trauma he has been through. From his marriages, alcohol problems and so on. His opinion comes across in a strange way, on one hand thought provoking and from the heart and on the other hand laughable. I've never read a book with so much charisma and variety in the story. The book is slighly thin, it's only a couple of centimetres wide and thats because it's a hardback. And when you look inside!!! I've seen smaller writing on billboards, but i didn't care, and neither should you. There is know-one quite like JD when it comes to saying things the way they are. I was captivated reading this book and as the title suggests it really is a case of one mans success and torture. And he's still going strong. Quality.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
JD has a deeply troubled but fascinating story to tell but this book is just so poorly written.Like the other reviewers I really do like Daly as he is so far removed from most of the sterile identikit personalities that populate pro golf. Being an official (ghostwritten) autobiography there isn't any critical or objective commentary. 3/4 of the way through after numerous references to stomach pumps after binge drinking & stating that he drank a fifth JD every day for years (it wasn't until I finished the book & looked it up & realised this = 3/4 of a litre!!)he then bizarrley claims he doesn't think he is or ever was an alcoholic.
His father was clearly an alcohlic there are some veiled references to the father being generally abusive to the family even before we get to the really shocking moment where his father threatens him with a loaded gun but it all gets glossed over so quickly & there isn't any insight into how this may have had any effcet on his life. Dalys life reads as one long car crash in slow motion which in a way is so refreshing given the number of identical bland hagiographys that usually pass for golfers Biogs. You're left wondering how much more he could have achieved if his career had taken a slighly more measured path.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
As a book of prose and literature, not really, but for entertainment value, I liked it. JD does show the dark side of fame and fortune for a person who has no brakes and only knows full throttle. What does come through is his love of life and people. Like all his fans and supporters I wish him luck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
I'm a huge fan of JD and this is exactly what you'd expect from him. A fascinating and at times brutally honest account of his life both in and out of golf.

Golf is full of some incredibly sterile characters and despite his flaws JD is a wonderful antidote to this.

Hugely entertaining.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
A very easy read, he is very honest, written from the heart, leaves nothing out every stone uncovered. Hopefully there is more to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Brilliant read about one of golf's colourful characters, would recommend it especially for holiday reading as I couldn't put it down!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
a charachter nt enough of them,with fantastic talent a super read well worth the investment go on daly win again !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Great book just hope there is another one around the corner at some stage. He is a really interesting guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)