Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!
Having never been a fan of Motley Crue (or Heavy Metal in general) I bought this book purely on the advice of the reviews, and I' so glad I did...........it really is a fantastic read (from hysterically funny to heartbreakingly sad and everything in-between) and almost impossible to put down. I'm still not a Motley Crue fan, but I am a fan of books about bands and music...
Published on 17 Jun 2005

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but annoying people!
I'm not a Motley Crue fan but I was intrigued by their reputation. This book is full of honest, shocking stories and really doesn't disappoint in that respect. Unfortunately though, I just found the band to be very unlikeable and Mick comes across as the only genuine member. The others seem so self centred and reminded me of the cocky idiot kids at school! I read Ozzy...
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Mr. Mj Bickle


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy ever!!!!!!!!!!!, 31 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
Owing to the previous reviews I won't waste your time. Buy and read the book instead, you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing-could not put it down, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
I had never heard a motley crue song in my life, but loved the marilyn manson book "long hard road out of hell" which was also by Neil Straus. i read it time and time again and finally picked up this book over the weekend, and simply couldnt put it down. Despite not being a fan, and actually having a concentrated disdain for 80s glamrock and hair-metal, i was enraptured from the first page. What kept me so interested is how unbelievably different each of the four personalities are, yet at heart, they'r almost the same person. Apart from guitarist Mick Mars of course, who remains somewhat of an enigma throughout the book, yet whose accounts of the events seem the most honest.

Tommy lee in particular, is incredibly entertaining and retains a child-like quality the whole way through the book which, instead of growing tiresome, becomes more endearing as his life becomes less decadent and pressures begin to mount on him from all sides, resulting in a jail sentence.

The only thing i felt missing from this book was an in-depth look at their actual songs. Not being a fan, this did not bother me, but die-hard fans may find it annoying. Perhaps Straus is trying to stress the point that ultimately, the songs didnt matter. It was the care-free(and careless) attitude and decadent mentality of the band that made them what they became.

Ultimately, this is a classic look at one of rock and rolls most excessive and truly wild bands. An immensely enjoyable read, and not for the faint-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock N Roll Excess, 25 July 2014
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book for voyeurs because it describes in great detail the decadence & excess' of the sex & drugs that go with the rock n roll lifestyle. What also comes across is the excessive ego's of these characters, they have fully lived life in the fast lane with all the highs and lows that go along with this lifestyle. It was told clearly without ambiguity but once you have read about the drugs & sex, it all becomes much the same. Only Mick comes across as a warm human being the rest just children let loose using the excuse of being rock stars to become a-holes? in my opinion. Ok but dont expct to warm to some of these guys or their antics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
Un-put-down-able
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Oct 2006
By 
Napolean (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic. I have no doubt a little 'Hollywood glamour' was added to it, but it is still a rollercoaster of a ride. You really do get caught up in the characters lives and even feel sympathy for these womanising, alcoholic losers. It is a magnificent insight into the rock 'n' roll lifestyle, one that only a select group of people will ever get to see. To be honest, it fulfilled every fantasy I ever had of the lifestyle and made me want it more than ever.

It is a dirty, provocative, humorous story which goes into great detail of the bands rise and fall. We get to read about all of their conquests, drinking, drug taking and even their recording career! I really struggled to put it down once I started...this should deffinately be made into a film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vital reading, 22 Feb 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
motley crue are a band im a fan off,well up to a certain point anyway,i stopped listening to them after dr.feelgood as i just thought they were covering old tracks,with this book they relive their old tracks and the old days and it makes for a read that will never fail to shock and amaze in equal meaures,for if you think you have led a life of madness chances are it pales into comparison with these four madmen,the life of a rockstar may sound great year but each member has paid a price for the things that they have done,not that there are any regrets which is madness in itself,regardless this is an addictive book,it is capable of shocking so maybe not for all but at the same time you dont have to be a rock fan to appreciate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW TO LIVE LIFE TO THE MAX-AND BEYOND!!, 25 Dec 2012
By 
R. ADAMSON "IMAGES & WORDS" (ABERDEEN,SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
I AM A HUGE FAN OF THIS BAND-I GREW UP WITH THEM THROUGH THE EIGHTIES AND CAN ACTUALLY REMEMBER QUITE A LOT OF THE STORIES ABOUT THEIR EXPLOITS BEING REPORTED IN THE ROCK PRESS AT THE TIME.I COULD NOT WAIT TO GET THIS BOOK AND START READING IT.WELL,WHAT CAN I SAY?IT IS SIMPLY ONE OF THE FUNNIEST,SICKEST-AND-IN SOME PLACES-SADDEST BOOKS THAT I HAVE EVER READ BECAUSE THIS IS A BAND WHO WERE DETERMINED TO ENJOY ALL THE TRAPPINGS OF THE ROCK STAR LIFESTYLE-REGARDLESS OF WHO THEY TRAMPLED ON ALONG THE WAY-AND THEY DON'T EVEN DENY THAT FACT!!SOME OF THE STUFF THAT THEY AND THEIR CREW DID WITH GROUPIES IS JUST MIND BLOWING-IT KIND OF MAKES YOU WONDER IF THERE ARE A LOT OF 40-50 YEAR OLD WOMEN IN AMERICA READING THE BOOK WITH EXTREMLEY RED FACES AS THEY REALISE THAT THEY'RE READING ABOUT THEMSELVES!!THE BOOK CONTAINS EVERYTHING YOU NEED-AND MORE-FOR A GOOD STORY OF ROCK'N'ROLL DEBAUCHERY AT IT'S VERY BEST-OVERDOSES,CAR CRASHES,PRISON SENTENCES,BROKEN MARRIAGES,AFFAIRS,GROUPIES,FIGHTS WITH-THE OTHER BAND MEMBERS/THEIR OWN BAND MANAGERS/OTHER BANDS AND JAPANESE GANGSTERS TO NAME BUT A FEW,SNORTING ANTS WITH OZZY,HIRING AN EX VIETNAM VET WITH ABSOLUTELY NO EXPERIENCE IN THE MUSIC BUSINESS AT ALL AS THEIR FIRST MANAGER AND-MOST HEARTBREAKING OF ALL-THE LEAD SINGER HAVING TO COPE WITH THE LOSS OF HIS DAUGHTER-I DEFY ANYONE NOT TO SHED AT LEAST ONE TEAR WHEN THEY READ THAT CHAPTER.THE WAY THAT THE BOOK IS SET OUT IS FANTASTIC TOO-BECAUSE EACH MEMBER GETS TO WRITE THEIR OWN CHAPTERS SO YOU GET FOUR-VERY DIFFERENT-VIEWS ON THE VARIOUS EVENTS THROUGH THE YEARS.IT'S ALL THERE-NIKKIS OVERDOSE & DEATH,MICKS CRIPPLING ILLNESS,TOMMYS INCARCERATION AND VINCE KILLING A MAN IN A CAR CRASH-YOU REALLY DO BEGIN TO WONDER JUST HOW THEY FOUND THE TIME FOR THE MUSIC BUT THEY DID AND THEY DID MAKE SOME PRETTY DAMNED GOOD ALBUMS THROUGHOUT IT ALL-GIRLS,GIRLS,GIRLS & DR.FEELGOOD TO NAME BUT TWO.IT HAS TO BE SAID THAT-EXCEPT FOR MICK-THE OTHER BAND MEMBERS DO NOT COME ACROSS AS PARTICULARLY NICE PEOPLE-BUT AT THE SAME TIME NOT ONE OF THEM ACTUALLY DENYS IT OR APOLOGISES FOR IT-IN FACT,IN VINCE NEILS CASE HE ACTUALLY GOES ONE STEP FURTHER IN HIS OWN BOOK AND STATES THAT HE DOESN'T LIKE ANY OF THE OTHER THREE GUYS IN THE BAND!!I'M NOT GOING TO GET ALL JUDGEMENTAL ABOUT THEIR BEHAVIOUR BECAUSE-AS ONE OF THE BANDS OWN MANAGERS SAYS IN THE BOOK-PUT YOURSELF IN TOMMY LEES SHOES-A MULTI-MILLIONARE BEFORE HE WAS TWENTY WITH GIRLS LITERALLY THROWING THEMSELVES AT HIM EVERYWHERE HE WENT AND A CIRCLE OF PEOPLE ROUND ABOUT HIM THAT DIDN'T KNOW THE MEANING OF THE WORD NO-COULD ANYBODY SERIOUSLY SAY THAT THEY WOULD ACT ANY DIFFERENTLEY-I DOUBT IT!!TO SUM UP THE BOOK THEN,IF-LIKE ME-YOU'RE A FAN OF THE BAND AND YOU HAVEN'T READ IT-WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR-BUY IT RIGHT NOW!!HOWEVER,EVEN IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE BAND OR THEIR MUSIC YOU SHOULD STILL READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT WILL-QUITE LITERALLY-BLOW YOUR MIND!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overated, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Neil Carter "Dogyorky" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
Not bad - just not great. One or two interesting/amusing anecdotes. Not a patch on 'I am Ozzy'. Ironically, the funniest part in this book features Ozzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best rock biography ever!!!, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
they did every thing that a band with too much money, drugs, women and success would have done...only they did it better and how they survived i'll never know!!even i u hate the crue this book is an amazing read and i highly recomend it to anyone interested in learning how to live the rock'n'roll life style to the full!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews