Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!
Having never been a fan of Motley Crue (or Heavy Metal in general) I bought this book purely on the advice of the reviews, and I' so glad I did...........it really is a fantastic read (from hysterically funny to heartbreakingly sad and everything in-between) and almost impossible to put down. I'm still not a Motley Crue fan, but I am a fan of books about bands and music...
Published on 17 Jun. 2005

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but annoying people!
I'm not a Motley Crue fan but I was intrigued by their reputation. This book is full of honest, shocking stories and really doesn't disappoint in that respect. Unfortunately though, I just found the band to be very unlikeable and Mick comes across as the only genuine member. The others seem so self centred and reminded me of the cocky idiot kids at school! I read Ozzy...
Published on 6 Feb. 2011 by Mr. Mj Bickle


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Good, 8 May 2008
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
I was never a fan of the 'Crue' but bought this book out of curiosty having heard of there antics. WOW! It was fantastic a really good read and very sad in places. I would recommend this book to all music lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant insight......, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Utterly compelling, enough said!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dirt...it 'aint pretty., 12 Sept. 2006
By 
Tosh (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
What a fantastic ,funny, heartbreaking and thoughtfull look at the glamorous and sometimes seedy world of rock 'n roll. Having grown up listening to and reading about all the rock bands of this era the story of Motley Crue was one story that had to be told. O.K you don't have to appreciate the music to get drawn into the world of these rockers ,who, are still very much alive and kicking today. This book documents in their own words the way they struggled their way to the top and the constant fight to stay there with all their personal and narcotic distractions. Having read 'Tommy World' first I must highly recomend them both . A must read...... Can't wait for the film as the book has now been translated to a screen play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
one of the best books i have read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
Fast delivery, quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy ever!!!!!!!!!!!, 31 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
Owing to the previous reviews I won't waste your time. Buy and read the book instead, you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing-could not put it down, 15 Aug. 2006
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
I had never heard a motley crue song in my life, but loved the marilyn manson book "long hard road out of hell" which was also by Neil Straus. i read it time and time again and finally picked up this book over the weekend, and simply couldnt put it down. Despite not being a fan, and actually having a concentrated disdain for 80s glamrock and hair-metal, i was enraptured from the first page. What kept me so interested is how unbelievably different each of the four personalities are, yet at heart, they'r almost the same person. Apart from guitarist Mick Mars of course, who remains somewhat of an enigma throughout the book, yet whose accounts of the events seem the most honest.

Tommy lee in particular, is incredibly entertaining and retains a child-like quality the whole way through the book which, instead of growing tiresome, becomes more endearing as his life becomes less decadent and pressures begin to mount on him from all sides, resulting in a jail sentence.

The only thing i felt missing from this book was an in-depth look at their actual songs. Not being a fan, this did not bother me, but die-hard fans may find it annoying. Perhaps Straus is trying to stress the point that ultimately, the songs didnt matter. It was the care-free(and careless) attitude and decadent mentality of the band that made them what they became.

Ultimately, this is a classic look at one of rock and rolls most excessive and truly wild bands. An immensely enjoyable read, and not for the faint-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock N Roll Excess, 25 July 2014
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book for voyeurs because it describes in great detail the decadence & excess' of the sex & drugs that go with the rock n roll lifestyle. What also comes across is the excessive ego's of these characters, they have fully lived life in the fast lane with all the highs and lows that go along with this lifestyle. It was told clearly without ambiguity but once you have read about the drugs & sex, it all becomes much the same. Only Mick comes across as a warm human being the rest just children let loose using the excuse of being rock stars to become a-holes? in my opinion. Ok but dont expct to warm to some of these guys or their antics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
Un-put-down-able
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Oct. 2006
By 
Napolean (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic. I have no doubt a little 'Hollywood glamour' was added to it, but it is still a rollercoaster of a ride. You really do get caught up in the characters lives and even feel sympathy for these womanising, alcoholic losers. It is a magnificent insight into the rock 'n' roll lifestyle, one that only a select group of people will ever get to see. To be honest, it fulfilled every fantasy I ever had of the lifestyle and made me want it more than ever.

It is a dirty, provocative, humorous story which goes into great detail of the bands rise and fall. We get to read about all of their conquests, drinking, drug taking and even their recording career! I really struggled to put it down once I started...this should deffinately be made into a film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews