Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comics shed a light on shoe-string animation, 10 July 2002
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
This books on undestanding comics is a must read for anyone involved with visual and textual communications of any sort.
History, constructs, and the means of communicating beyond the constraints of a medium, such as two-dimensional paper, in this case, provides ample ammunition for lateral thought.
Personally I found this book not only informative and inspiring, but also thought provoking. The impact has been such, that the ideas will be adapted to a shoe-string animation project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best in class, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Meriem Bertouche "Karamel" (Lincoln - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
I was very excited and looking forward to reading this book, and I have not been disapointed. It is one of the best books I have ever read. The comics world is revealed in a funny and cleaver way. Mc Cloud himself is the main character and he goes through all the different aspects of the comics history, meaning, styles and evolution through time. This is a must read for anyone who likes comics, or should I say sequential art. I also got the second book, Making comics which I look forward to reading.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books in existence, 29 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
Others have commented that this is the best books about comics. Frankly, in terms of engaging with its audience and leading them through a complex subject, it is one of the best-written books I have read on any subject. Broad sweep through history, discussion of the nature of art, study of human nature -- this book is all of these and much more. Everyone should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COMIC BOOK ABOUT ART, 9 Oct. 2012
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
This is a fantastic comic book about comics and art in general. It discusses the history and prehistory of comics; their origins, how this particular art form evolved and established itself in popular culture. Also, the book explores different kinds of comics and the work of specific American, European and Japanese artists and various techniques. However, this is not a book only about comics. It is an insightful study of art; how art is perceived by people throughout the centuries, and how different trends influenced the art of comics in particular.

I was never very interested in comics and I was reluctant to get this book, but the person who recommended it, insisted that it is a fascinating book about art and it is not necessary to be a comics reader, in order to appreciate this book. Indeed, this is a fascinating book about art, and although it did help me to understand and appreciate comics, it also made me think of art in a whole new way. As a theatre practitioner, I always experiment with form and ways to 'manipulate' the audience's perception and imagination, and apparently that is also part of creating comics, so looking at issues I face in my work, in a different context, was very interesting and enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Wonderful, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
N. Dimou (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
I begun reading it at night and couldn't stop before I was done.
If you love comics you'll love this book
If you are a writer or have anything to do with education you _must_ read this book. It's one of those books that radically changes the way you look at some things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
Good good book!

Extremely interesting and easy to read and at particular points, enlightening.
It is a really good read and covers many topics of comic books.

What I value most is that is a theory book about comics that demonstrates itself perfectly in the medium it studies, which makes it evolve from the theoretical field to actually a practical and fun learning experience.

a must read for comic book fans & creators alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Draw for comics? Well, start here......, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
If anyone is serious about wanting to learn about drawing for comics, then this is one of the best books on the market. There are few to better this book, but this one is clear to understand and follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, enjoyable and enlightening, 14 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
Explaining the art and science behind comics by the means of a comic is genius. Think of it, can you imagine learning about drama by watching a Shakespeare play or understanding poetry by reading a poem?

No, of course not, but this book is not only easy, enjoyable and enlightening it is also envigorating. Iothers add me even keener to encourage others to "get the point" that comics are not merely an art form they should respect, they are possibly the greatest expressive art form because we, the reader, have such a big part to play in the process.

It matters not if you come to this a fan of Spiderman, Rupert, Watchmen or just the daily Garfield strip in the newspaper, this book will give you a better understanding of the techniques but also the potential of comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything went better than expected!, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
I have been a fan of comics for a long while and have always come across people who laugh about it and think comics are the lowest of the low. I may have bought this book in part to find an answer to these people so I can say "No way man, because a. b. c.!"

Not in this book.

Unless your laughing friend is an artist and media studies student, in which case they probably don't need much convincing, this book isn't getting those people off your back. But what it WILL do is prove to you that their opinion is as good as worthless.

Throughout the course of this book, McCloud defines comics as an artistic medium and explains why it is important and undervalued. The book is very well written and the comic-strip style used to present all the information goes a long way to proving the points he makes.

In an unexpected twist, while explaining abstraction and the various forms of expression in media, McCloud increased my understanding of the more recognized forms of art to a point where I now understand what the point of it is.

If you interested in comics and want to understand them better or learn to appreciate the as more than 'pictures and words', buy this book.

P.S: There is no CD:ROM in this, I don't care what amazon says...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Paperback)
Thought provoking exploration of comics as a genre including their origins and forms, told in the medium it describes.

Would highly recommend to anyone interested in art and design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art
Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art by Scott McCloud (Paperback - 10 May 2001)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews