Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cactus
Robert Johnson writes simply and elegantly about the human condition. This book is a must for men and women to help understand our wounds and how these are windows or experinces that can lead us to a richer life. Partcularly useful are the 6 feminine elements in a man (and indeed women too). He gives practical examples of how we live out the cross contaminated aspects...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Hardev Kaur

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit old fashioned
I read this book many years ago and I thought it would be fun for a male friend to read. But It seemed old fashioned and not fun to read.
Published 20 months ago by Sara Webster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cactus, 19 May 2009
By 
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
Robert Johnson writes simply and elegantly about the human condition. This book is a must for men and women to help understand our wounds and how these are windows or experinces that can lead us to a richer life. Partcularly useful are the 6 feminine elements in a man (and indeed women too). He gives practical examples of how we live out the cross contaminated aspects of the inner feminine. The Grail story is a supportive and cathartic story for anyone who has embarked upon a journey and is looking for means to map the landscape they find themselves in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Initiatory Journey, 11 April 2009
By 
P. F. Dorling (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
An account of Masculine Psychology that addresses its potential richness and connexion to suffering, as well as the spiritual dimension, in ways that strongly enrich the imagination. Its contemporary relevance, moreover, is elicited through an interpretation of the story of Parsifal's lifelong quest for the Grail that discloses the narrative's full potency; and this is contrasted with the nave - and ultimately self-defeating - modern proposition: the belief in the 'quick fix' ideology. Essential reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HE Understanding Men, 1 April 2003
By 
J. A. Evans "Snaede" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
A very interesting journey through male psychology using the story of Parsifal and the Grail (inlcuding Arthur) as a springboard. Very interesting, some excellent perspectives on the journey of the male. Good reading whether you are a "He" or a "She."
Thoughts about the inner femininity of men and their search to understand and encompass meaning in their lives. If you have an adolescent son, very much worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally I got it, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
I fought with this book but was so thrilled to get to the end - it was an eye opener - Thank you for the translation and story and fear and anger that all fell into place at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for starters, 2 Jun 2012
By 
M. Lawton (TWells, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
The title of this book is a bit of a cheek really and promises more than it fulfills. It's actually a very brief summary of certain aspects of male psychology and although it's very interesting, it's hardly comprehensive. Johnson has a habit of making sweeping statements which he rarely fleshes out and you'll need to look elsewhere for any detailed analysis of the subject.

None of his books are any longer than a decent sized pamphlet and I can't entirely understand why someone who evidently has a need to communicate his ideas can't be bothered to deliver something that will do them justice. In Jungian terms I'd say that writing constellates his guru complex and he contents himself with gnomic statements and a general attitude of 'Go figure it yourself'.

He's a perceptive writer though and one who it's easy to warm to. This book is an ideal jargon free starting point that presents a complex subject in a very informative way. As other reviewers have pointed out, the book deconstructs Parsifal and the Grail Legend. After I read it I had a lot of fun doing the same with Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade. Malory - Tennyson - Jung - Johnson - George Lucas. Ain't evolution amazin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to understand men, read this!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
My fiance and I have both read this book and have found it incredibly helpful in understanding some of the dynamics going on in our relationship. It explains about the inner masculine in women as we as the masculine in men and how these two aspects can be in conflict. It gives idaes about what can be done to create a more harmonious relationship between men and women - uplifting, positive and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 16 July 2014
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
This is one of the those books that every man should read. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit old fashioned, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Sara Webster (KENSINGTON, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
I read this book many years ago and I thought it would be fun for a male friend to read. But It seemed old fashioned and not fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A terrible book, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) (Paperback)
I put the book down after reading two chapters and skimming the rest to see what it was like.

I'm easy to please, but I didn't find anything I liked about this book. It tells a strange mythological story on which it bases its points and is really lacking in anything real life. It also has a very poor writing style which makes it hard to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library)
He: Understanding Masculine Psychology (Perennial Library) by Robert A. Johnson (Paperback - 1 Feb 1991)
6.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews