Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful explanation of meditative View
This is a superb book for those into meditation, stripping away all unecessary extras and bringing one directly into the heart of the matter. Not only does it correct ones view and method but it also inspires one to continue with such a beneficial and pure aspect of Liberation. highly highly recommended!
Published on 12 Sept. 2008 by D. Meyer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same
If you've read Zen Mind... this is more of the same level-headed, down to earth Zen talk. Not bad at all, just not mind-blowing eigther. I used this volume to keep me in the proper mindset - as a supplement to my meditation.
Published on 17 Feb. 2010 by sanyata


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful explanation of meditative View, 12 Sept. 2008
By 
D. Meyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
This is a superb book for those into meditation, stripping away all unecessary extras and bringing one directly into the heart of the matter. Not only does it correct ones view and method but it also inspires one to continue with such a beneficial and pure aspect of Liberation. highly highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, 17 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
If you've read Zen Mind... this is more of the same level-headed, down to earth Zen talk. Not bad at all, just not mind-blowing eigther. I used this volume to keep me in the proper mindset - as a supplement to my meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deep understanding into Zen Buddhism, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
Tzukisan (Madrid, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite books in Zen Buddhism. A book to read slowly and many times along a life-time.
Master Suzuki is wise man and his books are always a source for reflexion and inspiration. Highly recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just glorious, 14 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
If you've read Zen mind, beginners mind and liked it, please read this book as well. Its every bit as much of a pleasure to read and just as insightful. I've found this book a good reminder of how not to get bogged down with 'stuff' in spiritual practice. Roshi's words couldn't be more grounded in simplicity. You really get a sense of what a lovely man he was and why he was adored by his students so much. Suzuki reminds us that we basically need to keep doing what we're doing, just do it wholeheartedly and honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 April 2010
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
This is a must for all who got involved in Zen practice and others who want to understand point of it. Although there is nothing to understand in the first place;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wise guy, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
thomas coffey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
This is full of concrete advice for meditation practice. He was a very gentle and clear-minded soul. It can be read over and over again if one is serious about their practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woow, 18 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
gets to the point of practice, does not idealize; directs with honesty and so forth...i really like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 30 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
I've really enjoyed reading this book, it is easy for beginners interested in Zen and says a lot, probably more than I have been able to grasp so far. I believe I am going to re-read it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A series of essays that were origially talks/lectures., 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
A superb companion to -Zen mind, beginners mind. Streightforward and focused chapters that deal with aspects of Zen practice. Entirely without the flannel of the usual 'How to do Zen' stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear instructions beautifully expressed, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen (Paperback)
This is a great help for people who want to understand more about and improve their Buddhist meditation.
I would definitely recommend this book to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen
Not Always So: Practicing the True Spirit of Zen by Shunryu Suzuki (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2003)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews