Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read
What a wonderful book this is. It is difficult to imagine that this is a work of translation because it reads so fluidly. I have found this to be a captivating story, linking the worlds of North and South America during the 1800's. Not only am I reading about the convoluted relationships of this extended family, I am also learning about the history of South America in...
Published on 10 Aug. 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
I agree with a previous review which describes the book as being more like a plot outline than a completed work. The characters, while having an interesting story, don't engage the reader, seeming to slip in and out of the narrative like minor actors in a play. This is partly due to the style of the book, which is written as a breathless monologue. The author seems to...
Published 5 months ago by Pablo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 10 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
What a wonderful book this is. It is difficult to imagine that this is a work of translation because it reads so fluidly. I have found this to be a captivating story, linking the worlds of North and South America during the 1800's. Not only am I reading about the convoluted relationships of this extended family, I am also learning about the history of South America in a completely unexpected way.
I would highly recommend this book as a genteel and beautifully written work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful, 16 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Hardcover)
On the same line of the other books written by Isabel Allende, in this book she takes you through the lives of fascinating characters, seamless going from one storyline to another and intertwining them to create a central plot with her wonderful and unmistakable style. This book is a true pleasure to the senses. One of the best books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An irresistible epic, 17 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
Having waited in anticipation for the publication of this book in paperback, it lived up to all expectations - a wonderful read.
I was overwhelmed by House of Spirits when it was first published and since then have eagerly read everything from this author ( high point - Eva Luna, low point - the Infinite Plan).
This book, incorporating characters from both House of Spirits and Daughter of Fortune, was irresistible. One of the greatest pleasures was casting new light on figures already familiar. Amusing,heartfelt,thoughtful, with insights into life in 19th century Chile and San Francisco's Chinatown, wonderful characterisation, an intriguing heroine in Aurora and an engrossing plot,this is another compelling masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exotic, 13 July 2008
By 
DubaiReader "MaryAnne" (Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
It took me a while to get into this book; there is a mass of family history to wade through at the beginning. After that things improved though I don't paticularly enjoy her style - long wordy sentances can become a bit tiresome after a while.

This is the story of Aurora (Lai Ming) de Valle, narrated initially by her "uncle" Severo del Valle and subsequently by herself. Her exotic ancestry includes Chinese, Chilean, and English and she starts her life in ChinaTown, Sanfransisco.
Her privileged life is haunted by memories from her childhood and she searches for the roots of these memories for many years. One event in particular causes her to have terrible nightmares but she has no idea what the cause of these is.
The book is full of colourful characters, especially her maternal grandfather Tao Chi'en and paternal grandmother Paulline del Valle (for whom I kept reading de Ville!)

This is my 4th Isabel Allende book and my favourite is still Paula, an autobiographcal account told to her dying daughter. It was so sad. Having read Paula though, House of Spirits made so much more sense, likewise Portrait in Sepia, both of which seemed rather far fetched until I knew a little about her background. Her real life has been full of such exotic, wacky characters.

An interesting, slightly slow read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous tale, 27 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
A fabulous tale in its own right, following Aurora's life journey from North to South America and elsewhere, but also a very satisfying sequel to Daughter of Fortune - completing the saga of Eliza and Tao Chi'en. Compelling story-telling of the highest order, illuminating the human condition with all its strengths, frailties and emotional turbulence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 5 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
I agree with a previous review which describes the book as being more like a plot outline than a completed work. The characters, while having an interesting story, don't engage the reader, seeming to slip in and out of the narrative like minor actors in a play. This is partly due to the style of the book, which is written as a breathless monologue. The author seems to dislike the use of chapters, narrative breaks and even paragraphs. One paragraph runs (needlessly) for almost six pages. There is also scarce use of dialogue, which makes the characters seem two dimensional. I found the style tiresome and irritating. At times I felt I was trapped in a corner with the party bore, as she monotonously recited her life story from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swathes of S American geography history and culture, English education was so preoccupied with empire! How ignorant we are., 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a wonderful story, blending a rollercoaster ride through south American geography, culture and history, lightweight enough to romp through, yet will always be remembered, with great warmth. Some great insights, splendid home spun, yet digestible wisdom...and fine romantic touches.....A lightweight readable and memorable tale....a touch of Herman Hess, Marquez and Borges....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All talk and no black pyjama trousers, 11 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
This was my first Isabelle Allende and I probably chose the wrong one. The only McGuffin driving the plot is Aurora's nightmare and frankly by the end I didn't care what the resolution was. The main character just does not give you enough to make you care about her and the other characters are two-dimensional stereotypes. By the end, it felt like I was reading a book outline which needed to have the characters fleshed out and a plot backbone inserted.
I can only assume that readers who enjoyed this are feeling an after-glow from previous (and I assume much better) Allende works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
Unbelievably well written, imaginative and informative. Spellbound by the characters and the events that unfold. .greedy for more food for the soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait in Sepia (Paperback)
Amazing book! Read it after you read the "daughter of fate" (no idea if that is the correct english title!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portrait in Sepia
Portrait in Sepia by Isabelle Allende (Paperback - Nov. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews