Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Brilliant book.
Published 3 months ago by Templeton Peck

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tragic little tale
Having read both Marquez's classics, One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, this came as something of an anticlimax. It's more of a short story, almost Kafkaesque, about an aging Colonel waiting to receive the pension he'd earned years before as a revolutionary. Each week he hopes for news, but no one writes to him, as the title tells us. Meanwhile...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Archy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tragic little tale, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Archy (ALTRINCHAM, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Having read both Marquez's classics, One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, this came as something of an anticlimax. It's more of a short story, almost Kafkaesque, about an aging Colonel waiting to receive the pension he'd earned years before as a revolutionary. Each week he hopes for news, but no one writes to him, as the title tells us. Meanwhile he and his wife starve, wondering whether to hold onto a rooster they have, to win some money in a fight, or to sell it and get what they can.

It's quite an enjoyable read, though despite its brevity I found it confusing in places, and it nowhere near matched the excellence of the aforementioned classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars does the post man come, 21 Mar 2014
By 
S. K. Cooke "cookie" (wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
interest ing little book. you keep hoping what he wants happens. very good for the price.from s k c ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Really?? A classic??, 11 Jan 2013
By 
J. R. Skelton (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sorry but it's really not. The translation allows some of the language to become even more stale than Marquez has intended. I'm not sure if in Marquez's minds eye it was planned as a novella, or if he just became as bored with writing it as I was reading it. Chronicle of a death foretold is amazing, One hundred years of solitude a triumph and Death in the time of cholera a master class in written picture building but this is just dross which has been published because of who the author is. I don't feel the ending is shocking, I think it's lazy.
Perhaps it's just me, maybe it is the amazing piece of work other reviewers think but maybe it's not and I'm right - and there's more than a whiff of the Emperor's new clothes about it??? I'd stick with the real greats of his writing and give this short read a long wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow pace story, of injustice and violence, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Ines Vasconcelos (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No one writes to the Colonel was written by Gabriel Garcia Marquez in Paris, when the newspaper where he worked closed and he resumed to poverty. It is the story of a Colombian Revolution Colonel who has been waiting for his veteran-pension for 15 years. He lives with his sick wife a monotonous but strenuous life, where everyday is a miracle to be able to survive. It is a slow pace story, to match the slow and sad life of the characters, to transmit the resignation and hope of this man. It is a story about politics and dictatorship. It doesn't make you feel sorry for the couple, but rather fell angry about that country, it's fake revolution and it's politicians. It is a story on injustice and violence, a man that after serving for his country is condemned to survive without money, trying to keep his son's dream and death alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The waiting game in Marquez's No One Writes to the Colonel, 17 Feb 2012
just finished reading Marquez's novella bearing the above title. It is a story about a retired colonel. The colonel, as we are made to know, fought relentlessly in Macondo ( the fictional setting of Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude ). Unfortunately, the colonel has not received his pension for over fifteen years. He continues to wait for the mail or pension cheque but it never arrives.

Many things add up to his sad life: his extreme state of squalor, his wife's bad health, the death of his son and the gory pictures he sees in his dreams.

The colonel's son, Agustan, left a rooster which becomes a treasure in the colonel's house. Accurate attention is given to the rooster. A symbol of hanging onto the son's memory can be seen from the way the colonel treats the rooster.

However, the end is rather shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice novella, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fine but short story full of vivid descriptions of unnamed South American country and engaging & colourful characters. Is that enough?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

" No One Writes to the Colonel" and Other Stories
" No One Writes to the Colonel" and Other Stories by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Paperback - July 1979)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews