Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Story Ever Told?
How do you simplify such a great book in such a short space? I am not a great reader, something has to grab me and say read me and keep reading me. I am about 60 pages from finishing this and its an amazing tale. It's not just history but pure story telling. An amazing account. It tells the the story from the other side of town. The effect decisions made by richer more...
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Mr. Christopher Limb

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative not gripping
Not an easy read as some reiews suggest, however it is a refreshing and informative antidote to the sickening americanism regularly pushed and preached in the media over the last 100 years. You're not the world's greatest democracy, you're a very naughty country...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by horsewasblack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Must Read book., 14 Dec 2013
By 
Terence Wallis (Dorset, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
He starts with Columbus who was an A1 killer & a Real Nasty which makes Columbus Day look a sick joke. The rest is in like vein so readers will get an unpolished view of the making of the US. I found it to be a Gripping Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to be read in all schools, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The book was recommended. I did not really want to read it, thought it was one of those boring books tha talk of ''great nations and heroic deeds, etc'' but OI was wrong. The book is a gem. Recommended to readers who are interested in finding out ehat our (Sic!) was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A must have book for every thinking individual who wishes to expand views and knowledge on American and International History
A rare value for money regarding its quality and extensive analysis of facts and opinion
Zinn fans, do not hesitate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class book, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent account of the history of the U.S. The author has put laid bare many of the myths expoused by previous historians regarding the U.S as the so-called model of democracy in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever written., 11 Feb 2013
By 
Henry C. Archibald (Elgin, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
So dense, and yet so readable. A view of history from the side of the oppressed. Well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
great for uni work - used to get primary sources, and very interesting and easy to read. would recommend to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good survey of US history, 7 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
...and a salutary reminder of how consistently the US has been on the wrong side of arguments and wars. I especially enjoyed the parts about the pre-WW1 period; I wasn't really aware of how popular the left had been in the West - the very parts of the US where it is now more or less invisible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History as I have never read it before, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Tammam Aloudat "Bookworm" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Unlike most history books I have read, this one I wanted to come back to. It felt like a naughty story, a gossip maybe, but certainly not like a dry history book.

The other side is interesting, and as a non American, I haven't been stuffed with the 'official' history of the USA. I know it from my own readings. This is different. Howard Zinn says in the first chapter, just after he talks about the first abusers of the Native Americans, that he is writing the history of the USA from the side of its citizens not politicians, and that is what comes back one chapter after the other.

I enjoyed reading it like no history book before. I know much more now why the USA is what it is now, and some of what affects the psyche of Americans.

A great read, I think if one will read one book on the history of the USA, this is very likely to be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been searching for this particular book in hardback for a number of years. I was delighted to have finally
made the purchase from the seller through Amazon and to add the book to my home collection of American
history editions.

Excellent service and backup from the seller in the U.S.A. and will look out in future for editions and publications that may
become available through Amazon and the seller there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent paradigm shifting, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The best historical book I ever read. Overall one of the best books I ever read. Lots of background information. Even for someone with very moderate expectations of honesty and good morale in higher places, this is rather shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics)
12.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews